We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday for the money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel Duva & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aparthotel Duva & Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday for the money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

We booked to stay here 2 weeks before going with Thomas Cook - all 4 of us (family with 3 & 1 year old) went for October half term for £750 Half Board! We weren't expecting much for the money but all had a great holiday - the food at the hotel was good with plenty of choice and variety (at least 2 different fish and meat choices daily), the weather was on our side (warm and sunny enough to go to the beach) and the staff were friendly. Being the last week of the season the hotel was quiet but this suited us just fine, no queues for the buffett and the indoor pool almost to ourselves (apart from on Hallowen)

Our apartment was a good size and well equipped although it could do with a bit of a update. It was cleaned daily (well beds made, clean towels and floor brushed).

We had a taste of what the hotel is like at full capacity on Hallowen (they held a party which filled the hotel with the locals) - we decided we wouldn't like it during peak season. The effort made for Hallowen however was fantastic - reception and the restaurant decorated to a very high standard and all the staff dressed up - But the disco (which started at 9pm) was very loud and went on into the early hours, we could hear the songs clearly in our apartment with all windows and doors closed! (our apartment was in the block next to where the disco was). I guess this is what it's like in peak season when there is entertainment on.

I suppose it isn't really a 4* Hotel in terms of decor-it could do with updating but facility wise it had all you could want.

We didn't find the walk into town to bad, pleasant 20 mins walk along the bike track which runs along side the main road. We found plenty to fill our week even though many of the bars and shops had closed for the season.
We would certainly go back again out of season.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatTimesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    274
    94
    31
    12
See reviews for
362
183
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

I understand that this hotel and its location might not be desirable for everyone but we had a great time there!! The hotel to begin with was very clean, we had no problems at all with this, in our rooms, by the pool or just walking around the complex. The staff were really helpfull and very friendly. I went with three friends all aged 21 so i didnt expect the staff to be as welcomming as they were. We felt we could ask them anything, we often left our phones or cameras in the reception with them to charge as they didnt seem to like our wall sockets. We went at the end of september so it was really quiet, we pretty much had all the facilities to ourselves, they still put on entertainment everynight and stuff in the day if it rained as well! It is about a 20 minute walk to the town, its easy enough, just a follow the pavment down the main road. This might not be great though if you have children, but a taxi only cost us 5euros and came straight away after recpetion called it. we even got a taxi to Alicante which is about a half hour drive away and that only came to about 6euros each. the town has loads different places to eat, all in different price ranges. This place really does suit everyone! we had a great time, there was nothing that ruined it for us, didnt experience any mosquitos just a bit of noise from the sheep's bells in the next field.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

I’ve got quite a bit to say about the Duva aparthotel in Puerto Pollensa. I went there with my wife in early October 2009. In my opinion it is not a 4 star place and after you have read this you may wonder if it is even a 3 star. When we arrived, we weren’t treated particularly well. We had requested a higher floor. The receptionist said that they had received no such request from Thomsons the travel agents. Something is obviously wrong with their communications. The person who grudgingly showed us to our first floor apartment gave the impression that we were more of an annoyance than welcome guests (this does happen sometimes as you come to the end of the season and people are being laid off. It shouldn’t, but it does). A bad start didn’t improve that much. On the first two days (we were there for11), we were without water in the middle of the morning. There did appear to be problems with the recent bad weather, and the water problems may have been island wide. However, it didn’t help. Generally speaking the staff were polite without being friendly. This apart hotel is rather isolated, but ideal for those who want to be alone. Thomsons brochure is totally wrong about distances to the town and to the beach, so you can probably double their figures, (that would be if they had their figures the correct way round). The small television was a waste of time because reception was so bad as to be unwatchable. We had an ant infestation around the kichenette area which wasn’t picked up by the cleaning staff. Strangely enough the tiny ants appeared to be coming from the sink plug hole, which suggests that either the water trap was faulty or the overflow pipe was damaged. One day we enquired about the lack of the advertised entertainment. We were told by a young English girl, who seemed to be standing in at reception, she might have been a Rep. “Last night we had Elvis on but nobody turned up, so we cancelled the entertainment till Saturday, (this was Tuesday) when we’ve got Elvis on”. It didn’t seem to matter much that they were using entertainment as an attraction at their aparthotel. Instead of cancelling the entertainment, they should have been wondering why nobody turned up, and doing something about it. The air con didn’t work in the living room, but now we come to the biggest problem at Duva. As I mentioned earlier there appears to be a water shortage in this part of Majorca. Outside our apartment and about twenty metres away there is a man made stream which runs the whole length of the complex. It is quite pretty, with fish and water plants. When it was originally landscaped, it must have been quite a nice feature. Unfortunately any feature like this must have a steady supply of fresh, running water. I googled the life cycle of the mosquito when we got back home, and it appears that mosquitoes will breed on stagnant or fresh water, providing the water is not moving fast enough to wash the eggs away. Incidentally, mozzies don’t usually travel more than a mile or so from the area where they were hatched, and it’s only the Females who feed on blood (the Males feed on nectar). You can guess what is coming. The stream was a breeding area for mosquitoes because the water supply wasn’t adequate. We just couldn’t use our veranda without fear of being bitten. All in all, a rather sorry report on the Duva Aparthotel. Puerto Pollensa is an attractive resort but far more expensive than expected. The UK at present has a bad exchange rate with the Euro, but that is only a small part of the problem. Prices are simply a lot higher than they should have been. I’m afraid I found that the bar and restaurant owners (including one or two Brits), were too greedy. Sad, but in my opinion, very true.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realist69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

we stayed at the duva for a 5 day break in october and was very impressedwith the hotel, it was very clean, the staff were very accomadating.we very much enjoyed the indoor facilities, swimming pool sauna juccuzzi.we used to walk into pollensa which is beautiful(but expensive) and it took us about 20 mins to the port but we like the walk maybe not so good if you have children.all in all a very enjoyable break and would definately have no hesitation in going again lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellers482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

We spent the last week of September at the Duva Aparthotel, travelling with Thompsons, on a late deal, from East Midlands.
We were very well received at the hotel reception. They were patient and friendly when we tried our Spanish and were escorted to our apartment.
Our apartment was on the top floor (as requested) and looked out on to the swimming pool. As it faced south we had the sun for the whole day and could have spent the whole day on the balcony. The air conditioning worked well as long as you kept the windows closed. In fact this is the only time we have left the AC on as we usually find it noisy and too fierce. The apartment was well furnished and had toaster and cooking facilities all though we didn’t use them as we ate out each night just making breakfast each morning. We didn’t use the spa, gym, restaurant or view the entertainment. Although we could hear the entertainment it wasn’t intrusive and seemed to stop before 11.00pm. We did loose the water one morning we assumed because of the storms but was back on when we returned later in the day.
The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard and towels (including tea towel) replaced if left on the floor.
The gardens and grounds around the hotel are attractive and well kept.
The Duva Aparthotel is a way out of town but we knew this when we booked and actually liked the walk to the beach, town or shops. There is what looks like a new path that runs along side the main road that leads into town, which makes the walk a little more pleasant and safe.
A much nicer route to the front is to cross the island out side the hotel and walk down the tree lined residential road, Calle Cadernera sign posted Gotmar. Then cross over the large island on the new road to Alcudia (so new it was not shown on any map we were given) and carry on down and round either way of a one way system (for cars) until you see the monstrous eight story Pollenca Park Hotel. From there you can see the beach as you pass a few shops and a couple of snack bars.
We used the Spar opposite for morning newspaper and fresh bread (at about 8.45am) and the Eroski for a big shop.
One advantage of the wet weather on one day was that we saw a beautiful snake by one of the ponds just across the bridge from B block in the hotel grounds. My wife nearly stood on it but it was more alert than she was and got out of the way. It was about two foot long, thin and black or dark green in colour with a faint pattern and a lighter coloured head. Not being very good at distinguishing my venomous snakes from non venomous snakes I gave up trying to follow it. If any one can identify it from my poor description I would be interested.
A very good experience as long as you accept its attractive location.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicesterGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

We booked a week at the Duva Hotel and on arrival couldn't have wished for better. Warm courteous and friendly welcome. The to put the icing on the cake we were offered a free upgrade to the premium apartments across the road. These were well equipped, full fridge freezer, halogen hob, oven, dishwasher, microwave, and enough cutlery and dishes to host a small dinner party. Just one small negative point - the dishes had to be washed before we could use them - not a real problem, but something that I think was over-looked.

The gym and spa are very well equipped, and the tennis courts play host to a few coaches so it was nice to watch some good tennis going on late into the afternoon.

Bicycle hire is available from the hotel, but as their range was limited they gave us a couple of places to use in the town - all the same price but just a better range - again nothing was too much trouble.

We couldn't fault our stay. Even the storms during the week didn't put a damper on things, we just sat out on the huge balcony and watched the heavens open along with the thunder and lightning!!!

We were without water for a couple of mornings - I think this was weather related but again they had people there working on the problem and this was sorted quickly and efficiently.

The location suited us perfectly, a brisk 10 minutes to the port along a new footpath, well lit and safe to use. Only 5 minutes to the well stocked Eroski Supermarket, and if that is too far there is a Spar Supermarket across the road - lovely fresh baked baguettes and croissants!

The bus to Pollensa stops outside the hotel and for 1 Euro 10 you are there is 15 minutes, great public transport.

Puerto Pollensa is a lovely location, there is still a Mallorcan feel to the place and not too many "British" themed pubs just yet. It was extremely easy to get a Mallorcan meal, and none of the restaurants had a hard sell, you could quite easily review a menu without being harassed every 5 minutes asking if you want to eat here!!

Thanks Duva for a lovely week. Mallorca is a lovely island, we'll be back soon....

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsann_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

The good thing about this hotel is that there are no unpleasant surprises it does exactly what its description tells you it does. The staff are excellent. I had heard about the disco at night so we splashed out and had a premium apartment. The apartment was spacious and very clean but if you have a room near the pool I think the noise might be a bit much. We only ate in once and have to say the buffet was very good for about £3 you get as much sangria and beer as you want ( the sangria was very sweet and we could only manage two glasses of it.
The only major gripe we had is not the hotel`s fault. It is one of economics. Because we were charged under-occupancy by Thomas Cook, I think, taking all things into consideration, that we would have probably been better off going to an hotel for bed and breakfast. I think it is only worth the cost if there are at least four of you and you spend much time eating at the hotel or in the apartment.
It was our first time self-catering and so if it is your`s, you need to know that the hotel does not provide anything that is consumable. No washing-up liquid...not even salt so you have to buy everything in. The water is undrinkable because of of a high chlorine content so you have to buy that too. I read on here about the cost of stuff in the Spar shop just outside the hotel as compared to the Eroski supermarket but was surprised that the prices in the shop were almost 40% higher! It will be much more expensive to buy stuff here compared to the supermarket if you are a family staying.
The restaurants on the seafront are very variable. There are a whole section of them on the outside of the square. The cost of a meal is extortionate for what can be only described as mediocre food. It i much better to look around. If you go doen to the front the `nice way` ( go across the roundabout and down a very nice residential area) you will find the Sparrow cafe and Bar. The fgood in here is superb and the cost reasonble.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kemyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#14 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.7 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#15 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bahia de Pollensa Aparthotel
Bahia de Pollensa Aparthotel
#20 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Duva & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Duva & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Duva & Spa
Address: Carretera Palma a Pto. Pollenca Km. 58, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#14 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#19 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Duva & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aparthotel Duva Convention & Spa Center is located in the town of Puerto Pollensa in Majorca. The sandy beach with shallow waters and clean sands is under a mile away from the Duva Pollensa Aparthotel. Puerto Pollensa, which has plenty of shops, boutiques, cafes, bars, restaurants and places for a great nightlife is only 850 metres from the complex. The Duva Aparthotel offers a chilled out atmosphere, which is ideal for those looking for a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of home life. Cyclist 4 Star complex with security, repair, storage and bike cleaning facilities, washing machine & drier. Professional bike hiring. Cycling & routing backup services & Cycle excursions. Training camps 7 & 14 days. As a complement of our facilities services, we offer you the opportunity succeed in the organization of your own important events. 3 Multifunctional rooms endowed with the most advanced technology and in one of the best evironment of the north side of Majorca. Open from February till November, Come and Enjoy!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Aparthotel Duva & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Duva And Spa
Aparthotel Duva Hotel Port De Pollenca
Hotel Aparthotel Duva
Aparthotel Duva & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing