We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a secluded setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This is an expensive, luxury hotel in a secluded and wonderful setting. Reached by a challenging hilly drive from Puerto Pollensa, the hotel has magnificent gardens which lead to a sandy bay. The beach is not private but only hotel guests are likely to rent the overpriced sunloungers. Our room was great and had a perfect view of the bay. Breakfast was exceptional and served outdoors, close to the gardens with great views. The dinner menu was less inspiring, although the piano entertainment was a great attraction. The staff were great. Prices are high, for rooms and meals. Book early and you may get a 40% discount. There are some pretty walks nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Northern_fellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

This is one of the most beautiful settings one could imagine. It's the perfect lagoon, crystal clear water, beautiful trees and hills. If this property was managed by Four Seasons, it would really be special. Being charged to use a lounge chair? No bar or food service at the pool? 30 minutes to get a towel? Just not up to international service standards for a luxury property. Still, overall, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are quite nice. But, with some attentive service, this place could really shine.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MarinTravelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This hotel has an exquisite location and we spent 5 wonderful nights here. The grounds and adjacent beach are gorgeous, particularly in early morning and evening. The breakfast buffet is excellent but all other food and drink is ludicrously expensive for not very high quality (46 Euro for paella - 12 Euro in Pollensa for similar quality). Many guests were removing food items from breakfast to keep for a picnic lunch!
The staff are very variable. Some are very rude - especially the guy who manages the beach bar. He was not very nice about us sitting on the sun loungers for a few minutes at just before 6pm. They charge hotel guests for these but surely a couple of minutes just before closing on a quiet October day......
Would stay here again using only room and location. If you have a hire car the evening trip to Pollensa (not Porto Pollensa) for dinner is lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CorkHibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel on half board for the second week of September.

The hotel is in a superb setting: on a small sandy bay surrounded by mountains in large immaculately lanscaped gardens in the Tramontana nature reserve. It is a vision of Majorca before its present general over-development. We loved the location and its seclusion.

We had a double sea facing room with a large balcony - 2 loungers, umbrella, table & chairs. The room was fine, bed large and comfortable; surprisingly the bathroom had no bidet.

There was a good choice for buffet breakfast. We were happy with the buffet dinners - adequate cold choices for starters and desserts but sometimes the mains could be a bit tired from resting cooked in hot cabinets. Perhaps the mains could be cooked to order to improve their freshness and quality?

We found the staff to be at all times courteous and helpful.

Beach charges were not cheap at 40 euros for 2 loungers + umbrella; however the more basic municipal ones were still 20+ euros.

We understand that the hotel is due to be demolished and replaced with a more modern and luxurious structure. Even though the current building is looking a bit tired at the edges we would be more than happy to return to our balconied room with a view!

Room Tip: go for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ianreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My first thought was wow people can afford to bring their children here!!!

It was beautiful and the service we received was great especially in the restaurant (amazing food too) continental breakfast was huuugggeee, lots to choose from, all fresh and tasty.

Id never been to a five star hotel before so loved the treatment of fresh towels and bathrobes and slippers. The room was clean, the grounds were gorgeous and after dinner we sat at the top of the steps looking down towards the sea and up at the stars. It really is a beautiful location and the best fruit salad! the only thing is its so expensive unless you're horribly rich you couldnt go there too often!!!

Room Tip: Not many rooms have a balcony, so if thats important to you make sure you state that when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristiebang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

After many years of frequenting 5* Hotels we never thought a place like this existed, The only 5* about this Hotel is prpbebly location. When we arrived at the hotel and checked in we then started to realise that the hotel has only 12 rooms with balcony out of 112 rooms. The reception staff were polite and explained that the rooms with balcony were of a different level and were all booked and the hotel was full. The lady then showed us to our room on the ground floor with a garden view., As we decended the steps and approched the long corridor this smell of Damp/foisty hit our noses and then our nightmare began, on entering this dark damp room that smelled like it had not been open for months.. I quickly asked if we could change the room to a room higher up in the building but this wasnt possible as she told us it was full. The room was dated the safe didnt work the bathroom was tiny old and dull with a shower curtain that you would not even find in a 2* Bathroom.. The air con unit had mould around it and later reailised that when we turned off the unit it began to leak water on to the bedside cabinet and my side of the bed was damp.. I Honestly have been in better 3* accomodation in spain than these rooms had to offer.. THE HOTEL - Pool area clean an quiet with pool attendant. BAR nice setting but 6* prices BREAKFAST was ok. We were on B+B terms so on the firt night we booked into the a la carte as it was bookings only and were lead to belive it busy but were only two tables dining at the time we arrived so asked the waiter if we can have a choise of table and pointed at one and he replied sorry but this is booked. So we sat at a table he said and ordered ate and no one else came!!!! So why not let us sit were we wonted to???? POOR Again.. And to top it off the food was of poor standard and the bill was a joke. We had a car so we decided to go out every day away from this smelly room and make our own holiday We didi plan a relaxing break but Barcelo was not the place for us and was our fault for picking this hotel. Taxi in the evening to puerto Polensa was 16 euro each way and the beautiful town of Polensa was 24 Euro each way. Well worth this extra cost to eat and drink out. My Last comment about BARCELO FORMENTOR they advertise a beach bar in the evening with chill out music well this was never open and if its not open in August im sure it never is.....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank 686ange65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A famous for its historic visitors this hotel offers a magnificent garden, pool and splendid view. There is nothing around, only great landscape, mountains and see, and a little beach with some local people, but if you do not want to be bothered by someone you can stay on the territory of the hotel. Good service.

As for the rooms, a little bit old design and small, and you have to pay 40 € for the deckchair on the beach! A bit exaggerated..

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank svetla203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
2.9 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,175 reviews
39.4 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#7 of 180 in Calvia
1,010 reviews
3.4 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
757 reviews
25.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
889 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Address: Playa de Formentor, 3, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £184 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Formentor Royal Hideaway is a luxurious establishment located in the Formentor Cape, North from the Mallorca island, at the foot of the famous Formentor beach and surrounded by 1,200 hectares of Mediterranean forest. Throughout its history, the hotel has been the place of choice for numerous renowned characters as a place to repose and relax. This famous hotel is surrounded by crystal clear waters and spectacular views over the Formentor Cape bay. The Barcelo Formentor Hotel has a romantic and peaceful appeal. A special hotel due to its magnificent rooms, the soothing sound of the waves and the sea breeze that drift round in the hotel, and the peace inspired by its Mediterranean gardens and memorable views. Connect with the tranquillity and equilibrium of the pure air of the Mediterranean while you enjoy a delicious dinner. Befitting a hotel of this class, we offer you a remarkable dining experience in our 5 restaurants, each one characterised by their excellent service and high standard cuisine. The hotel also offers 5 function rooms, ensuring that each and every event held here may be unique and successful. Taking advantage of the outstanding location, the hotel organises horse-back riding and sailing, amongst many other activities – all planned for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Port De Pollenca
Port De Pollenca Barcelo
Hotel Formentor
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing