We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 2 stars are for the location and view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“The 2 stars are for the location and view”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were extremely disappointed by our visit to this hotel. Although the staff were friendly and nice, they were totally inept and poorly trained. The whole hotel is in URGENT need of a refit. It's such a shame as the setting is gorgeous. A very expensive and disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BettyLinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirBFormentor, Director General at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
As General Manager in Barceló Formentor I apologize for not having reached your expectations. Your opinion is very important for us, for that reason I would appreciate if you give us the opportunity to analyze more in depth your experience in our hotel in order to understand why you describe our staff the way you do, as our team is usually very highly valued by our guests.
I am personally at your disposal under following e-mail address: formentor.dir@barcelo.com.
I can assure you that we will work on the improvement of our services and the training of our staff focusing on your comments and hope to be capable of recovering your confidence in our Barceló Formentor Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Salvador Aparisi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    157
    72
    43
    22
See reviews for
198
361
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

There are few hotels in Europe, probably the world, as the Hotel Formentor. It's history and class oozes with style from every corner of the estate, and the staff provides service to match.

The growds are huge, flowing under the mediterrainean pine trees. The best beach on the balearic islands is at the foot of the Hotel, and the seclusion and tranquility is simply delicious.

The hotel has been investing significantly in updating all of its rooms, and this will bring another level of perfection to this estate. It is not without reason that The world's leaders and stars chose to stay here with privacy, elegance, and peace.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A wonderful hotel with charm and character. I've been fortunate enough to stay in some world famous hotels in Europe, America and Asia including the Dorchester Hotel in London and I feel that this hotel can hold it's head high amongst the best despite the criticisms other reviews have made about it. The staff were charming and helpful, food superb, beds of breathtaking quality and setting idyllic. Highly recommend and looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 931Adman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

From the moment we began the journey along the promontory of Formentor we knew it was going to be special. Away from the maddening crowds, on this secluded part of the island, the rugged scenery on the trip there is marvellously complimented by the stunning view from the hotel. The views from our room & those from the breakfast terrace across the bay make this hotel the exceptional place it is, those, coupled with the extensive & well manicured gardens, and the most amazing wisteria terraces I have ever seen, made this a paradise for us. Lovely swimming pools in the grounds and the delightful bay a mere stroll away give a fantastic choice of where to spend your day relaxing in the sun. This is the place for those who enjoy peace & quiet, in beautiful surroundings, not for those who want noisy night life & rowdy crowds (please stay away & don’t spoil this haven for the rest of us!!). We ate & thoroughly enjoyed the food in the Terrace restaurant for both breakfast & evening meals, with a good choice & variety, as well as civilised opening times, (very important when on holiday). Then sit in the sun (or shade if you so choose) & enjoy a drink on wisteria terrace whilst listening to the live pianist in the evenings, a delightful way to unwind & pass away the hours. Thank you to the staff & the gardeners for keeping this hotel so well maintained, clean & tidy, a thoroughly enjoyable visit which will definitely be repeated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The location is fantastic, but the hotel seems much industrial and the people here aren't concerned by the clients. They feel like badly treated(?) and don't care much of what they are doing. No harmony, no luxury, beach and restaurant really poor (not prices!). The shame is that in June, all team seems very disorganized and stressed at the beginning of the high season! Too bad, we will change adress a next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simone038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Let´s put it first: if you are spoilt by five star room standards in Asia or Middle East, there is no doubt that a a standard room like we had is substandard, eventhough it was quit and we all slept well. All in all you swap the malus of room quality with a hotel having one of Majorcas finest beaches, great gardens, a heart warming dinner atmosphere on a terrace with view and live piano music and without boisterous upstart guests with polo shirts with these strange huge numbers on it. Intriguingly many guests and staff seem to know each other for years. As a bonus you get a little historic feel: Churchill was here and you sense it why he or many other great individuals followed. Word of mouth tells that a refurb will be taking place soon. That might be a good idea on the rooms, but please just let the rest as it is. Only the beach bar could have a little more varieties for lunch. Guest mix: All ages from young families, couples and golden agers from all sorts of countries, so you are not engrossed by any peers. A must have is a 60 EUR a day Dedon style daybed on the beach. As spanish beaches are always public this is a smart way to claim your stake on of Majorcas finest beaches. Book half-board, as this place is quite remote. Eventhough this hotel has it´s own class it does not want to educate you in any way and it´s a great place to have summer fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I just love this place. It does have a feel of days gone by.. it's very calm, beautifully landscaped and very peaceful. I don't think there's a better place to sit in the world than on their garden terrace, drink in hand, overlooking the sea.

The food here is wonderful. If you like good food, the breakfast buffet it second to none.

From the hotel you can walk to secluded little beaches in the Cap or use the famously beautiful formentor beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jotommo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
2.9 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,100 reviews
39.4 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
947 reviews
25.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
586 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,170 reviews
35.4 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Playa de Formentor, 3, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Formentor Royal Hideaway is a luxurious establishment located in the Formentor Cape, North from the Mallorca island, at the foot of the famous Formentor beach and surrounded by 1,200 hectares of Mediterranean forest. Throughout its history, the hotel has been the place of choice for numerous renowned characters as a place to repose and relax. This famous hotel is surrounded by crystal clear waters and spectacular views over the Formentor Cape bay. The Barcelo Formentor Hotel has a romantic and peaceful appeal. A special hotel due to its magnificent rooms, the soothing sound of the waves and the sea breeze that drift round in the hotel, and the peace inspired by its Mediterranean gardens and memorable views. Connect with the tranquillity and equilibrium of the pure air of the Mediterranean while you enjoy a delicious dinner. Befitting a hotel of this class, we offer you a remarkable dining experience in our 5 restaurants, each one characterised by their excellent service and high standard cuisine. The hotel also offers 5 function rooms, ensuring that each and every event held here may be unique and successful. Taking advantage of the outstanding location, the hotel organises horse-back riding and sailing, amongst many other activities – all planned for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Port De Pollenca
Port De Pollenca Barcelo
Hotel Formentor
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing