We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for family holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location for family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

If you enjoy the company of Sirrs Winston Churchill or Peter Ustinov - you should come to Formidor. Very nice and quite place, right for the family retreat. Well-maintained park and the bay nearly perfect for swimming. Very friendly personnel and buffet dinner with lobsters.
Think twice before paying extra for the sea view - from my room on the second floor I could hardly see any water. The humidity in our second room on the third floor was extremely high.
As elsewhere in Spain the disadvantage is no private beach and the public one is relatively narrow and always crowded- everybody wants to enjoy the beauties of Formidor. But you can easily solve the problem, installing at the hotel pool and walking to the sea thru' the part.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    142
    70
    42
    21
See reviews for
179
319
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The best thing about the hotel is the beautiful location and the well kept grounds. The pool area is stunning and in the Spring when the flowers are in bloom the place looks fantastic. The bedroom was decorated nicely and the bed was comfortable, but there was no balcony which - given the views from the room - was disappointing.
The nearby beach is amazing and the water is crystal clear. Take a wet suit in the winter or early spring though as the water can look tempting but gets quite cold.
Service was very good. The reception staff and bar staff were exceptionally friendly.
A great place for couples or families looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amybizzy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

No doubt this hotels situation is one of the best on the island, but be aware very few rooms have a balcony. Having already paid over £4,500 for a 5 night stay we were pretty upset that there wasn't one, so we upgraded ...for another £1,000!. This hotel is extremely expensive and does not match the prices.
For example a buffet breakfast and supper, who wants to queue like a student in a canteen at this kind of price, but you up grade and move to A la carte but thats obviously more money. Setting for both restaurants is beautiful over the sea but the menu was not changed for the time we were there.
The bathroom were tired and showers often went cold then hot.
Staff, especially the ladies at front of house should take a lesson In charm school.
No pool service ie no offer of drinks, cold towels. Pool was given a token clean once a day.
All in all it is a beautiful hotel and the setting is stunning. We had a wonderful holiday but the hotel needs a present manager to see clearly that it needs some serious attention to areas mentioned above and staff training, particularly front of house.
If you are paying this prices and want another similarly priced hotel which is far better managed, attentive staff, wonderful food without doubt go to Marbella Club Hotel... Perhaps management at Hotel Formentor should try this and see for themselves the comparison!
This hotel is using the prestige of guests who visited from a bygone era and has not kept up with the times, either drop the prices or raise the game...

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank amybizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were extremely disappointed by our visit to this hotel. Although the staff were friendly and nice, they were totally inept and poorly trained. The whole hotel is in URGENT need of a refit. It's such a shame as the setting is gorgeous. A very expensive and disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BettyLinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirBFormentor, Director General at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
As General Manager in Barceló Formentor I apologize for not having reached your expectations. Your opinion is very important for us, for that reason I would appreciate if you give us the opportunity to analyze more in depth your experience in our hotel in order to understand why you describe our staff the way you do, as our team is usually very highly valued by our guests.
I am personally at your disposal under following e-mail address: formentor.dir@barcelo.com.
I can assure you that we will work on the improvement of our services and the training of our staff focusing on your comments and hope to be capable of recovering your confidence in our Barceló Formentor Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Salvador Aparisi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

There are few hotels in Europe, probably the world, as the Hotel Formentor. It's history and class oozes with style from every corner of the estate, and the staff provides service to match.

The growds are huge, flowing under the mediterrainean pine trees. The best beach on the balearic islands is at the foot of the Hotel, and the seclusion and tranquility is simply delicious.

The hotel has been investing significantly in updating all of its rooms, and this will bring another level of perfection to this estate. It is not without reason that The world's leaders and stars chose to stay here with privacy, elegance, and peace.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

A wonderful hotel with charm and character. I've been fortunate enough to stay in some world famous hotels in Europe, America and Asia including the Dorchester Hotel in London and I feel that this hotel can hold it's head high amongst the best despite the criticisms other reviews have made about it. The staff were charming and helpful, food superb, beds of breathtaking quality and setting idyllic. Highly recommend and looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 931Adman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

From the moment we began the journey along the promontory of Formentor we knew it was going to be special. Away from the maddening crowds, on this secluded part of the island, the rugged scenery on the trip there is marvellously complimented by the stunning view from the hotel. The views from our room & those from the breakfast terrace across the bay make this hotel the exceptional place it is, those, coupled with the extensive & well manicured gardens, and the most amazing wisteria terraces I have ever seen, made this a paradise for us. Lovely swimming pools in the grounds and the delightful bay a mere stroll away give a fantastic choice of where to spend your day relaxing in the sun. This is the place for those who enjoy peace & quiet, in beautiful surroundings, not for those who want noisy night life & rowdy crowds (please stay away & don’t spoil this haven for the rest of us!!). We ate & thoroughly enjoyed the food in the Terrace restaurant for both breakfast & evening meals, with a good choice & variety, as well as civilised opening times, (very important when on holiday). Then sit in the sun (or shade if you so choose) & enjoy a drink on wisteria terrace whilst listening to the live pianist in the evenings, a delightful way to unwind & pass away the hours. Thank you to the staff & the gardeners for keeping this hotel so well maintained, clean & tidy, a thoroughly enjoyable visit which will definitely be repeated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkIngmanthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#6 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.4 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Playa de Formentor, 3, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barcelo Formentor***** is a luxurious establishment located in the Formentor Cape, North from the Mallorca island, at the foot of the famous Formentor beach and surrounded by 1,200 hectares of Mediterranean forest. Throughout its history, the hotel has been the place of choice for numerous renowned characters as a place to repose and relax. This famous hotel is surrounded by crystal clear waters and spectacular views over the Formentor Cape bay. The Barcelo Formentor Hotel has a romantic and peaceful appeal. A special hotel due to its magnificent rooms, the soothing sound of the waves and the sea breeze that drift round in the hotel, and the peace inspired by its Mediterranean gardens and memorable views. Connect with the tranquillity and equilibrium of the pure air of the Mediterranean while you enjoy a delicious dinner. Befitting a hotel of this class, we offer you a remarkable dining experience in our 5 restaurants, each one characterised by their excellent service and high standard cuisine. The hotel also offers 5 function rooms, ensuring that each and every event held here may be unique and successful. Taking advantage of the outstanding location, the hotel organises horse-back riding and sailing, amongst many other activities – all planned for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Port De Pollenca
Port De Pollenca Barcelo
Hotel Formentor
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing