We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it said on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What it said on the tin”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely hotel with wonderful grounds which were very well maintained, the staff could not do enough but did not feel overbearing at any time, the pools were spotless with the service of the hotel continued around the pool and beach area.
The restaurant was set on the terrace overlook the gardens and out to sea, the views only matched by the food and impeccable service.
Our room was a standard garden view but was spotless and well appointed.
We would return and stay longer next time.
So good to find a hotel that lives up to the blurb and the staff go the extra mile.

Room Tip: Only a few sea view room have a balcony, No garden rooms do
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    143
    70
    42
    21
See reviews for
181
319
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pollensa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just stayed for 4 nights at Barcelo Formentor, wished we had stayed longer, excellent staff, wonderful room.
Buffet was exceptional quality.
Location was perfect lovely gardens leading to the sea.
Sad to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful grounds, stunning views, gorgeous beach and great staff.

However, the hotel has obviously seen better days and would enjoy a sensitive refurbishment.
The bathroom in my room (whilst clean) was a hotchpotch of different tiles - with only one of the original marble tiles remaining , highlighting its former glory, whilst the newer bright white ceramics created a less than luxurious feeling. This was continued with the use of bright lighting and an old bathtub and taps, that looked like they'd seen better days. The frosted glass door into bathroom also looked like it had seen better times, it also sounded that way too, as it aggressively creaked open.
The room itself was adequately furnished, but the laminate flooring provided a cheap feeling, that let the rest of the decor down.
Additionally, whilst I welcomed the tea and coffee facilities, the only place to plug the kettle in was the bedside tables and I wasn't overly comfortable doing that - but it's doable. The free wifi though was a big plus - and it worked around the whole grounds.
I booked a half board package and I'd highly recommend doing so.
The buffet breakfast was good and the buffet dinner the same. However, whilst the starter sections of the buffet were superb, I was disappointed each evening by the main courses, as they were predictably cool - and I was the first person into the restaurant every evening (but they were well presented).
I was also disappointed by the hotels gym facility, four cardio machines and a weight contraption - all of which were pretty old.
Moreover, I found there was an awful lot of unused space, that could have been utilised to provide additional services - larger more up-to-date gym facility perhaps?

If the hotel was refurbished up to a true five star standard - marble bathrooms, large soak tub, separate showers, real hardwood flooring, greater use of public areas - like the above mentioned gym, this hotel would be incredible.

I'd also like to make a point of saying the prices charged in the hotel are reasonable for this standard accommodation - in fact, it's far cheaper than many hotels. That said, I would have appreciated complimentary water around the pool and the offer of tap water at dinner.

In all this hotel is good - but, with some refurbishment and a few added extra luxuries this hotel has the potential to be a 6 star resort. I only wish Barcelo would plan on selling this place to the four seasons/ritz carlton etc...but then again, it would cost a fortune to stay here - but I'd certainly return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is no doubt a lovely hotel. Ideal for someone who just wants to relax. We had the Grace Kelly Suite which has a fantastic view, is spacious and well decorated, only tiny downside is the noise in the evening from the terras if you have the windows open, but only if there is a large group out there till very late. The gardens are beautiful, full of colour and very relaxing as is the pool and terras area. There are beach beds for the hotel on the public beach at 40 euros a day. As we stay in the beginning of May, the only restaurant open in the evening was the buffet, which was extremely disappointing. We arrive to find nearly all the hot food gone, as they had just had 2 large parties and had to wait a very long time for things to be refill. The actual evening food was disappointing, but the breakfast buffet was okay. There is not much to do except relax and chill, the gym is tiny with just a couple of machines, the bar is boring, the terras area is lovely. I had a massage booked which was in a wooden hut on the way to the beach and outside the actual hotel grounds. It was not really a very relaxing setting having a massage behind a screen, but the masseur was excellent. All in all lovely, if not a bit remote hotel with a beautiful garden, so if that is what you are looking for and have the money to do so, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill07193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great place! Staff is very very friendly and helpful!

Be a bit aware of what this place is - the hotel has a very nice pool, and a great garden with a ton of flowers. It is right next to the sea, but it is fenced off the sea. There is one door that goes through the fence though. This door leads straight to the beach, which is said to be private. To be honest, I did not see any security people guarding the entry - the beach is open to visitors, and it even has a visitors parking spot, there is also a bus stop right nearby. So you might expect the beach to be a bit crowded. The beach itself is though fantastic - it is quite long, and has trees hanging over the sand. There is a shadowed path leading right along the coast line.

Big minus - hotel guest have to pay a hefty fee to use sun beds on the beach, just like any visitor. It ranges from 7 to 20 euro pp per day, as far as I could tell.

About restaurants - the restaurant in the hotel, that is open for breakfast and dinner, is just fabulous. Great food, excellent service. A lot of very fresh fruits. Great view over the bay. Wonderful experience. For lunch - options are not that good. Restaurants on the beach cater towards visitors of the beach, not hotel guest. That is, they are rather inexpensive, and simple. You get a good selection of cold sandwiches, a simple salad bar or a burger. Period.

The location of the hotel is worth to mention. It is quite isolated, right in the nature. It is a good starting point for a hike towards mountains with a costal view - just ask a guest service representative, they know about good trails (that was not on any map i could find). You have the chance to make this hike as challenging or as simple as you want, and still get fantastic views.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for someone who wants to be close to nature, appreciates good food and does not mind lying on the sand directly;)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afina110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirBFormentor, Director General at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
I thank you very much for your positive and constructive comments. I will try to clarify a couple of points which I think are important to understand completely what you have experienced in our hotel regarding the beach.
First of all you have to know that all beaches in Spain are public. It is illegal to avoid visitors to enter the beach. We are even forced to keep the path at the beach open for visitors, that’s why we need the fence, but not to avoid visitors entering the beach but the hotel gardens and pools. In our website it is clearly specified that we charge an extra fee for sunbeds and sunshades at the beach, but if you read in any website that the beach is a private one you can be sure it has been published without our permission, as there are no private beaches in Spain by law.
The only possibility to keep the beach with an -as private as possible-atmosphere is asking for high prices at the to the hotel nearest part of the beach and offering lower prices at the to the hotel farthest parts of the Formentor beach. Our guests have to pay a special price of 16 euro for a sunbed, 40 euro for 2 sunbeds and a sunshade, and 60 to a double Balinese-bed with a sunshade, always including towels, but people not staying in the hotel have to pay higher prices. This allows us to concentrate visitors and hikers on the widest part of the beach, keeping the part of the beach close to the hotel with the atmosphere we want to offer to our guests.
Regarding our restaurants on the beach, we do offer several different options, the first one on the widest part of the beach “El Espigó” is in fact oriented to the visitors which concentrate on this area. The second restaurant at the beach is an Italian one, “La Veranda” offering mainly salads, pasta and pizza. But in the nearest to the hotel, Playa-Mar, you can not only eat snacks, salads and sandwiches, but also fresh fish and meat and various “paellas” and Mediterranean specialties. When the high season begins we open also a 4th venue in the first floor over “Playa Mar”. It is a great Show-cooking buffet restaurant with a stunning view over the Formentor beach. I hope to welcome you in future in Formentor, and thank you again for your comments.
Best regards. Salvador Aparisi. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Again this is not about the hotel but the restaurant on the beach, platje mar. I have lived in Mallorca for over twenty years. This beach restaurant linked to the Formentor hotel is a disgrace and an absolute rip off living in the bygone years still thinking that people are dumb enough to think it is worth getting ripped off just to eat at a place with some history...I would be embarrassed charging the prices they charge. €4,30 for a cafe cortado (espresso) for example!!!! Then expect to drink your wine out of plastic cups at a table set with zero care or thought. Come on rip off people; seriously.... are you trying to attract custom or turn it away? With so much competition in Mallorca surely a little more of an effort has to be made to set an example. After all, most people have driven some distance to get to the hotel. This place for it's average food and poor attitude can not be recommended. Oh and by the way to avoid paying the ridiculous charge to park in the car park next to the restaurant just tell the "guard" that you
are meeting guests of the hotel at the hotel to be let through and park for free in the hotel car park. You then have a five minute walk back down the road to the restaurant saving you a few euros in parking............which you are certainly going to need after you get the food bill!!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Not cheap, but we felt the money was well worth it. Superb location - excellent facilities and food. Great service. A beautiful package if you want a bit of peace & tranquility and a special self indulgent treat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
2.9 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
1,040 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
537 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#6 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
172 reviews
25.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
726 reviews
3.4 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#7 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Playa de Formentor, 3, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Formentor Royal Hideaway is a luxurious establishment located in the Formentor Cape, North from the Mallorca island, at the foot of the famous Formentor beach and surrounded by 1,200 hectares of Mediterranean forest. Throughout its history, the hotel has been the place of choice for numerous renowned characters as a place to repose and relax. This famous hotel is surrounded by crystal clear waters and spectacular views over the Formentor Cape bay. The Barcelo Formentor Hotel has a romantic and peaceful appeal. A special hotel due to its magnificent rooms, the soothing sound of the waves and the sea breeze that drift round in the hotel, and the peace inspired by its Mediterranean gardens and memorable views. Connect with the tranquillity and equilibrium of the pure air of the Mediterranean while you enjoy a delicious dinner. Befitting a hotel of this class, we offer you a remarkable dining experience in our 5 restaurants, each one characterised by their excellent service and high standard cuisine. The hotel also offers 5 function rooms, ensuring that each and every event held here may be unique and successful. Taking advantage of the outstanding location, the hotel organises horse-back riding and sailing, amongst many other activities – all planned for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Barcelo, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Port De Pollenca
Port De Pollenca Barcelo
Hotel Formentor
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing