We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Aparthotel Duva & Spa(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aparthotel Galeon Suites(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Capri(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hoposa Daina Hotel(Port de Pollenca)
US$128
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hoposa Uyal Hotel(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romantic Hotel(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Sis Pins(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Hotel Miramar(Port de Pollenca)
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Apartments Habitat(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (791)
Filter reviews
791 results
Traveller rating
464
177
80
46
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
177
80
46
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspi restaurantextensive gardensstunning hotelbeach barpine treesprivate beachbreakfast buffet isamazing locationrelaxing staymain restaurantsea viewhire carhotel gueststennis courtsyear after yearhalf boardbarcelo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 791 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stopped in for lunch. Nice enough food, but for the price they ask, some service would be nice. It took a long time to get served and we waited ages for the food to turn up, too. Not the staff's fault, there just aren't enough of them.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank vitaled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we did use its access to the beach at Formentor. €10 for parking seemed OK but €20 for use of each sun-lounger seemed a little excessive, especially when the attendant tried to sting us for €25!

Lunch at the beach bar was mixed. The kids were happy with their children's menu and my calamari was OK, but my wife's hamburger was tired and my son-in-law's salad was tiny. With one drink apiece the bill was over €150, which we felt was excessive for just one course at the quality provided. And our waitress was clearly unhappy with "just" a 10% tip.

The situation of course is excellent but this is really just a glorified cafe selling fast food and salads, at least for lunch. We went back to Pollensa for ice cream and cappuccinos.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dik_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is situated in a enourmous green area, on the north shore of the Island. The buffet breakfast is very complete, but what really makes the difference are the fruits offer. All of them are very fresh and flavoured. The hotel staff is always super friendly. The beach is beautiful, on calm water and with 3 different restaurant options. I recommend this hotel for anyone after a few days of relax.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Fabio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is situated in beautiful and immaculately maintained grounds on the water's edge. Service and cleanliness are what one would expect of a 5-star hotel. Our room, although not huge, was a reasonable size, comfortable and well-appointed. A good range of food with mains changed daily, we used the buffet options for dinner every night of our stay as the choice and variety were so good that the a la carte menu was not needed. Wines were interesting and good value - I have paid similar prices (and more!) for mediocre house wines in London restaurants. Bar drinks and hotel extras (e.g. spa treatments, beach loungers etc) not cheap but if this is a problem don't choose a 5-star luxury hotel - you get what you pay for, and quality service, environment, produce and surroundings are what you get here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just back from three nights here. Stunning grounds, beautiful beach (though not particularly big and, like all Spanish beaches, shared with everyone). A surprise room upgrade made our already discounted B&B deal (booked direct through the Barcelo site) feel like phenomenal value against ratecard. Not cheap to eat dinner here, but it is a classy joint and the buffet breakfasts and dinners are good quality, varied and fun. The restaurant tables on a covered balcony have possibly the greatest views of any restaurant I've ever eaten in! The staff are excellent throughout - discreetly efficient and friendly.

Guests were a mix of European nationalities; some family groups - there's no shortage of things for kids to do - but the overall age profile when we were there was a little biased towards the older end of the scale. It sets itself up as a genteel establishment and hits the spot in most ways. Certain aspects, like a boring old rectangular pool (which has a scary 12ft deep end!), may feel rather dated to some, though were fine with us. If you're enjoy nightlife, this place probably isn't the best option. The nearest town (Port de Pollenca) is 8km away over a switchback corkscrew road so you'll need a taxi.

On the downside I would only say that the wine list prices changed while we were there - a bottle that we had on the first night was €10 more expensive the second time we visited and there were other changes too. That was a bit disappointing.

Despite the prices, we would go again simply because of the amazing location, lovely staff and peaceful nature of the place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews