We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing long weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great relaxing long weekend”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Barcelo Formentor was a great long weekend away. Admittedly it helped that they upgraded us to one of the suites, which clearly wouldn't happen every time, but nevertheless the staff were all very friendly and accommodating, and the position really is fantastic; away from the madding crowds on a beach front location in Formentor national park. But still not that far away from Port de Pollenca for a little more liveliness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank AndyJCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    161
    76
    43
    23
See reviews for
206
368
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We are a couple who wanted a short break for my 40th without the children and totally chilled. This was achieved. The staff are excellent and couldn't do enough for us especially Tomeu and Nick.
Our room was fabulous and the view was amazing room 219. The food is expensive but worth every penny. My only gripe is the soft drinks were very overpriced. Thank you all for the lovely break....

Jayne Smith

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudgerscheekymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The location is amazing
They have a putting arena (for golf)
They have a tennis court
They have scuba diving
You can rent a canoue
They show the World Cup (I came here when it was happening)
It was a great holiday with plenty of stuff to do

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ahu237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel, but had some drinks here and then used their private beach. Might have been a little illegal, but hey... We did pay a lot for a few lousy drinks! The service was pretty slow. We waited both times for 20 minutes for our drinks. Then we also asked for straws. My, my, we did made it complicated. But my gosh; that post card view was absolutely gorgeous!! The garden is so pretty. Lilly's, Bougainville, roses, palm trees, it has a majestic glory to it.

If you have some money left over; come here. Have some drinks, spent the night and just look at that view. Wow

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MeloDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on-sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

An excellent hotel and great staff where nothing is too much trouble. You would not be sorry that you booked this hotel. If you are spending a lot of time in the south of the Island then it is a bit of a drive at the end of the day but well worth it if you are traveling to different places a lot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days to celebrate our wedding anniversary and absolutely loved the hotel. The view from our room was amazing. The drive up there was quite interesting, I am glad we rented a small call. However there was plenty of parking. As for the food the breakfast was very good and included in our room prices. The lunch and dinner prices were expensive but I think the view and location makes up for that : ) we had a car so we drove to pollensa for dinner every night. The beach was narrow but gorgeous and the water was crystal clear. We did have to pat to rent beach chairs and umbrella. It was 40 euros 2 chairs for the day. The staff of the hotel is very friendly, the front desk person heard it was our anniversary and the next day the manager sent a bottle of champagne for us which was very nice!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shossain6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch. Nice enough food, but for the price they ask, some service would be nice. It took a long time to get served and we waited ages for the food to turn up, too. Not the staff's fault, there just aren't enough of them.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank vitaled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
2.9 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,130 reviews
39.4 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
967 reviews
25.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,195 reviews
45.6 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
35.4 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Playa de Formentor, 3, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Formentor Royal Hideaway is a luxurious establishment located in the Formentor Cape, North from the Mallorca island, at the foot of the famous Formentor beach and surrounded by 1,200 hectares of Mediterranean forest. Throughout its history, the hotel has been the place of choice for numerous renowned characters as a place to repose and relax. This famous hotel is surrounded by crystal clear waters and spectacular views over the Formentor Cape bay. The Barcelo Formentor Hotel has a romantic and peaceful appeal. A special hotel due to its magnificent rooms, the soothing sound of the waves and the sea breeze that drift round in the hotel, and the peace inspired by its Mediterranean gardens and memorable views. Connect with the tranquillity and equilibrium of the pure air of the Mediterranean while you enjoy a delicious dinner. Befitting a hotel of this class, we offer you a remarkable dining experience in our 5 restaurants, each one characterised by their excellent service and high standard cuisine. The hotel also offers 5 function rooms, ensuring that each and every event held here may be unique and successful. Taking advantage of the outstanding location, the hotel organises horse-back riding and sailing, amongst many other activities – all planned for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Port De Pollenca
Port De Pollenca Barcelo
Hotel Formentor
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing