We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, not for kids.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, not for kids.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hotel is second to none! Great beachfront location and spectacular views.
Rooms adequate, cannot fault staff and general service.
Just feel its not a great choice for families, more suited to couples or singles.
If you stay here feed the fish by the beach bar, they love wotsits or similar ;)
WONDERFUL place just not for kids!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    232
    71
    34
    11
See reviews for
181
671
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We returned to Pollenca after 23 years to stay for our first time at this truly delightful hotel. The Illa d'or has a wow factor missing from almost everywhere we have been before. From the moment we arrived until our reluctant leaving 10 days later we were treated to superb surroundings, excellent food, friendly, efficient staff, wonderful views - in fact, everything you could wish for.Our room on the second floor 230 was spacious if a little dark and we would have liked a sea view, but that aside, we were very contented. I was taken ill during my stay with a violent virus and the staff demonstrated real concern and did everything possible to help me recover more quickly.We had a really memorable stay and we certainly intend to return hopefully next year to sample more delights. Next time a sea view please.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

You might think that we lack adventure as this is the fourth or fifth time we have stayed at the Illa d'Or, but when you have found a little piece of heaven that gets better every visit, why change? The hotel is perfectly located in one of the most beautiful parts of the island, with great food and helpful staff, many of whom have worked at the hotel for many years and are proud of the customer service they offer guests.
Privately owned, the hotel management team is always looking at ways to make the guest experience better, and the latest development is a refurbishment programme for the rooms. We stayed in room 305 which has been given a luxury makeover, including a gold ceiling! It's actually very tastefully done. The room has a sea view but no balcony. However, there is plenty of outside space around the hotel where you can relax.
The majority of guests tend to be older, so perhaps not the ideal hotel for families with teenage children who want something more lively. But younger children will love it because of the shallow sea and sandy beaches.
The hotel is about 10 minutes stroll along the Pine Walk from the main centre of Puerto Pollenca, so that you have the benefit of a quiet and relaxed location close to other amenities including the port, quite a few shops and public transport services.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view; the outlook could be a film set. Rooms on the lower floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This was our 5th trip to Pollenca but our first staying at the Illa d'or. It is a wonderful part of the island and the hotel lived up to our expectations. Friendly, professional staff, good food, and a wonderful view from our room. It would have been nice to have a balcony and for us the bed was a little hard but neither of these things detracted from a lovely week and I'm sure we will be making a return visit before too long.

Room Tip: From conversations at reception desk it seems to be difficult to choose a particular room due to con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have recently had a weeks holiday at this wonderfully situated hotel. The food was excellent, the room we had was on the second floor at the front with a balcony. Although the room was on the small side, the view more than made up for this. All the staff, without exception, were friendly, kind and very attentive. A special mention must go to the staff at the reception, they were very professional, knew the answer to all questions and were very helpful.
We would certainly recommend this hotel, for its position, for its food and for its service.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I have been going to Port de Pollenca for many years, always ending up walking to Illa d'Or to sit on the drinks terrace at night and soak up the views or to eat on the Terrace Restaurant but we decided to treat ourselves last August and booked to stay in the hotel for the first time, returning this May for our second visit.

In August we booked through a travel agent, this being the only way we could actually get a room and so were obliged to take the half board option. This year we booked direct with the hotel and had only bed and breakfast which is by far our preferred option as there are so many fabulous places to eat close by.

Rooms at the hotel are very varied. Last time we stayed we had a room at the side of the hotel with a balcony and this time although we had no balcony we had a brighter room with the most amazing view at the front of the hotel. The rooms are being done up over the next couple of years but are very clean, generally spacious with good size bathrooms, tiled floors, mini bar and safe. It is probably preferable to have a balcony room but the location of the hotel means that it isn't the end of the world if you don't get one. There are plenty of outdoor seating options including relaxing areas in the shade with plenty of table space so you are not bothered by other people if you want a little peace and quiet for an hour or two.

The food on the terrace restaurant is of a different quality to that served in the main restaurant. Excellent fish and salad options at the edge of the Med. The terrace restaurant is not open in the evening in May but we ate there several times last August and the atmosphere is magical and the food outstanding. Having said that breakfast is great with a huge variety of choice and you can eat outside if you wish which we always did as we find the main restaurant a bit lacking in atmosphere.

If you are on half board I am afraid you will be a bit disappointed in the restaurant-my advice would be to avoid this option unless you are not able to get out and about -in which case I would be inclined to have a good lunch on the terrace and maybe the fantastic afternoon high tea which is very much in the "Tea at the Ritz' mode.

Facilities are very good, with communal areas of the hotel sparkling and sumptuous-hopefully the bedrooms are heading this way too! Staff have been here as long as I can remember and are in the most part very helpful, kind and cheerful. Special mention to Toni and Aldo. I used the spa a couple of times and would recommend a visit for a massage and facial. Its a great way to relax out of the sun and mend the spirit as well as the body.

In May and September the clientele at the hotel is noticeably older generation some of whom have been going to the hotel for years. The hotel caters well for those guests who need support and because the external areas are mostly flat with no need to navigate a sandy beach to go for a swim or to get a wonderful view it is a great option if you are perhaps not as mobile as you used to be. Having said that in the height of the season last year our 'group' consisted of a lady from Switzerland in her 70s who would give Lauren Bacall a run for her money, a young couple in their twenties, a Norwegian couple in their thirties and us (fit and fab fifty year olds). This is the place to meet some wonderful people and relax and enjoy yourself. If you like clubbing and a more vibrant pace of life Pollenca is not for you.

If I could change one thing at this hotel it would be how they book their rooms out. Sadly it really is hit and miss what you get and it seems a shame that so many of the rooms are allocated to travel companies in this day and age. My own assessment of this seemed to be that the people who made a huge fuss generally ended up with better rooms and that is no way to start a holiday.

Places to visit: If you can hire a car visit Soler and Val de Mosa up in the mountains. Take a taxi up to old Pollenca and wander around the streets soaking up the atmosphere. Head over to old Alcudia in a taxi and visit the Roman ruins, the cathedral and the walled old centre.

Places to eat: Our favourite is Bahia for fish just along the Pine Walk, Giordinos up in old Pollenca is a fabulous Italian restaurant. There are also a number of very good tapas bars up in the old town.

Room Tip: Unless you book through a travel agent or book a suite you are not guaranteed a room with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bladesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

A wonderfull Hotel with fantastic staff and service.Food excellent,room good.Will look forward to my return visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#11 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#6 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Property: Hotel Illa d'Or
Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing