We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments”
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Club Apartments. The Apartments are located beside the Hotel at the rear of the property so there are no sea views, however the pool area is beautiful and there are good views of the mountains. It had been twelve years since we were last in Pollenca when we had stayed at different accommodation and were apprehensive about our new choice of hotel. We were not to be disappointed. The apartments, whilst compact are beautifully finished with a minimalist touch to them. The kitchenette provides everything you need with hob, microwave, toaster and kettle and fridge. There is a dining table to seat four and a seating area with flat screen televisions in lounge area and bedroom. The bedroom provides an excellent sized bed and the bathroom provides twin sinks, a bath and shower. There is a dual air con system, one in bedroom and one in lounge area. The balcony overlooked the pool with a small seating area. The apartment is finished off with very tasteful concealed lighting and comes with daily maid service. The apartment block is also very safe as the main entrance is by key card only. Although the Ill D'or is situated at the end of the pine walk, we thoroughly enjoyed our strolls every evening to the marina. The apartments have also full use of the hotel facilities and whilst we only had one breakfast in the hotel, the food and service were excellent. Staff in hotel were very helpful and friendly and the whole complex was spotlessly clean.
We will definitely return to these apartments.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view apartments on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamboNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Illa D'or in August. Beautiful hotel with a very warm welcome from staff. Lucky enough to have a refurbished room with balcony which was beautiful. Children had a sea view room but decor was not comparable. Rooms both generous in size and both had good bathroom facilities. No problems getting a sunbed by the pool although those wanting a bed at the beach had to reserve with a towel before breakfast. Lovely communal areas. Friendly, helpful staff. Puerto Pollensa very, very busy - wouldn't go again in August but will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheArnolds_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have been here twice in the past 2 years. It is a popular and busy hotel at peak and off-season (we have been in June 2010 and August 2012).
The rooms are good, sea views are better. The hotel sits on the bay and has a pool and also easy access to the sea.
The staff are very friendly, very attentive and nothing is any trouble for them. The bar is very good value for a top hotel, breakfast is outstanding, and although we didn't eat there the menu looks pretty good for a one-off dinner or half -board plan. The hotel is not cheap, but that's what I like, it is a nice clientele.
Puerta Pollensa is a 10-15 minute walk along the bay, on the Pine Walk, with several great restaurants to choose from.
We have enjoyed vacations in Sicily, Sardinia, Marbella, Barcelona, Croatia in recent years but the combination of Mallorca/Puerto Pollensa, this great hotel, its location and access to great quality restaurants puts its top of my list for an easy to get to European sun destination from UK.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

It hasn't changed, still beautiful, contemporary, first class apartments. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for - the staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful. We cannot fault anything, just a small gripe if we have one, the saving of sun beds, if the Manager is reading this maybe do a check around the pool on a morning........

Will we be back, how can you resist the gin and tonic corner!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueblackburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have just spent a week in this hotel and we really did not want to leave. It is a lovely traditional hotel but with modern facilties. Whilst our initial standard room booked by our travel agent was very disappointing with only a skylight window , the hotel management were very helpful and agreed (with an extra charge) to move us to a seaview room. Whilst on the small side, the room was lovely and the view was well worth the extra payment. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the food was good, and having breakfast out next to the sea was fantastic. We loved the quiet location and low key entertainment but also enjoyed walking along the pine walk into the main centre and visiting the surrounding area. We would definitely return, and will be recommending this hotel to friends,

Room Tip: THe rooms vary and some are small as this is an old hotel but with lovely modern facilties but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The overall experience was once again a fantastic one. The food was of a usual high standard combined with outstanding friendly service.
The upgraded lobby and lounge areas have made a pleasant change for the better and the rooms that have had the upgrade are modern and bright. I know somepeople complain about the size of the rooms but this is an old hotel and creating larger rooms is not really an option. The rooms were always immaculateley cleaned by charming domestic staff.
The bar area was liveley and the service was always friendly and efficient. if the prices are a touch on the high side for you go to Alcudia!! Perhaps an increase in the lunchtime food options around the bar area would be useful as the terrace lunches whilst are very good, work out as an expensive option if you are on a 2 week holiday.
We travelled with our usual holiday companions who agreed that it was a fantastically relaxing 12 days and that the standards had been maintained and we are already predictably looking for our next opportunity to visit.
Finally I would like to praise the staff on the reception desk who were always helpful and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble.
Old fashioned values create outstanding service.

Room Tip: ask for a 4th floor sea view, they have larger windows with an outstanding view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeedsMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director Comercial at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for your kind review, We really appreciate your words and time, Not everyone understands so well that the size of the rooms varies and sometimes are not so large, As you mentioned this is because of our hotel is a building of 1929. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your holiday with us. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards from Illa d´Or.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My wife and I spent 2 weeks in this fantastic hotel, and it was one of the best holidays we have ever had. We'd booked a room with a sea view, and the extra payment was worth it, with views over the bay. The room was air-conditioned, spacious, clean and comfortable and could not be faulted. The bathroom had a bath and a shower and 2 wash basins. The room could not be faulted.
We were booked on a B&B basis, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. You could have a cooked breakfast or help yourself to a wide selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, cereals and breads. The orange juice was from oranges squeezed in front of you.
The bar on the terrace by the sea offered cold beer and a good selection of cocktails and spirits. The snacks offered were very limited however.
The restaurant on the terrace by the sea - where we ate breakfast every morning - was expensive, and we only ate there once. Lovely setting, good food, but the menu did not change, so most nights we walked the 15 minute walk into the village, where there were a good selection of bars and restaurants.
The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, but, as the hotel was located by the beach, providing sun loungers and towels for the hotel guests at no charge, we tended to use the beach. The water was lovely and clear and a pleasure to swim in. You will have heard about people who book sun loungers by leaving their towels on them. This is not allowed by the hotel, but it happened nonetheless, with Brits being the main guilty parties. We just moved the towels when this happened. A minor irritation!
So the location was peaceful, on the beach and easy walking distance from the town. The staff were excellent, the hotel was clean, and we loved it!

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamTarts55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
720 reviews
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#8 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
747 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#6 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £74 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing