We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“return to illa d'or”
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“return to illa d'or”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have just spent 10 days at this super Hotel. The Staff - all of them - are just superb. As soon as you arrive a WONDERFUL welcome from reception. The food together with the choice and service makes this a holiday to remember. The attention to cleanliness throughout the Hotel is first rate

You will appreciate once you have stayed here you come back time and time again - just like we do. The refurbished rooms are excellent in all respects. The rating - 4 STAR (SUPERIOR) is well deserved Returning in October 2013
PHILIP AND SYLVIA ((M)

Room Tip: Sea view is certainly worth trying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philippcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director Comercial at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Philip & Sylvia,

Thank you vey much for your kind review, We are very glad to hear from a very valued guest as you that You enjoy your stay with us year after year, and we keep meeting your expectations.
Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    237
    71
    33
    11
See reviews for
183
689
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Just back from a weeks holiday at the Illa Dor and was so impressed with the staff felt I had to write and say. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always polite and friendly. We thank everyone of them for making our stay so memorable.

Great food and lovely room.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view - the view across the bay is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My wife and Ispent a week at the hotel (9 - 16 April 2013) and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Our room was a good size and was well furnished. It was kept very clean throughout our stay. The restaurant provided really excellent meals, with a wide choice of dishes. Our greatest praise, however, is for the staff. The restaurant staff were unfailingly helpful and cheerful, and coped well when we had some of our family (including children) for dinner. The staff of the outside bar/cafe were likewise always helpful without being intrusive. Finally, the staff at Reception were very welcoming, and effortlesly sorted out a car hire problem which arose.
In summary, this seemed to us to be a well managed establishment staffed by an excellent team of people. We plan to become regular visitors.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJW407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed with our 11month old son in the apartments at the back of the hotel, called Club Illa d'Or. This is a fantastic classy upmarket hotel, if you're looking for a sophisticated sun break in idyllic surroundings and are happy to entertain your kids yourselves.
While there were a few children around, it's mostly couples enjoying quiet time.
We stayed in the apartments which weren't as opulent as the main hotel. The room was to a modern standard, with a basic kitchen (hob, sink, microwave, large fridge) in a studio apartment style, and we chose to self cater to allow us to feed our son more easily. We had a balcony with a view over the pool and up to the mountains. There are mostly large two room studios in the club, but we had one of the smaller ones. It suited me fine (less space for our little one to make mess) but the husband would've preferred a bigger room.
The hotel is situated right on the front of the beach (sandy section for playing in) and there is a path which is great for walking along to the main town. There are restaurants 10mins along and an upmarket supermarket a 2minute walk behind the hotel.
It wasn't easy negotiating the buggy along the path beside the beach as it was a little bit cobbly, but there was a smoother way along the roadside, although this wasn't as picturesque.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and it felt like they really care about the hotel.
We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay in the main hotel, not the Club apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PipsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwest
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

The highlight of this pleasant hotel is the friendly staff. Rooms are being upgraded on a floor to floor basis with a modern clean look. The corridors are tired and dull and badly in need of attention. Breakfast is superb with a great choice to suit all tastes. However the evening meals though varied and despite all the best efforts of the waiting on staff were mediocre and disappointing. This was the only thing which let it down. Watching the chef incinerate a piece of salmon was unpleasant, trying to eat it even more so. Would be happy to stay here again but would only do so on bed and breakfast basis. The bar does excellent though expensive G&Ts and the wine is very reasonably priced.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank oldpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We have just got back from 10 days half board at the Illa d'or, and we have had a great time. The hotel was in the best location in Puerto Pollensa as far as we were concerned. We had booked a standard room with a balcony and once we saw it (227) thought we would see if we were able to upgrade, the balcony overlooked another one and the view was of a wall, there were no net curtains in this room, so if you had the curtains open there was no privacy at all. We spoke to Emilio on reception who was very helpful and said that a recently updated room with a side sea view with a balcony would be available the next day at a cost of 16 Euros per night. We looked at the room and agreed that it was worth it, a lovely room (323), and the balcony got the late afternoon sun and overlooked the pool and the sea. We picked this hotel in particular as the meals are not 'buffet style' and are waiter served, and also because there is a dress code in the dining room. The breakfasts were great, plenty of choice, lots of fresh fruit, and nothing was too much trouble. The evening meals (we were half-board) were also excellent, only one night did we have something that we didn't like, and if you didn't like the choices on the menu you could always go to the buffet for salad or for something cooked on the grill specially by the chef, the king prawns were awesome! All the staff were absolutely fantastic, particularly Maria, Miguel, Antonio, and Tony made a mean daiquiri! We did not have one member of staff who was not nice, they all went out of their way to make our stay lovely. All the staff have been there a long time which usually means that they are happy which always makes for a good stay. We found that a lot of people staying go every year, often twice which is a real recommendation. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Avoid 227 as the balcony is overlooked and it faces a wall. 323 which we upgraded to has a side sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerneBridge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We were very fortunate, having two weeks of perfect weather in this delightful spot. What a brilliant location! We also were fortunate to get a 'sea view' room (24 euro per day extra, but worth it). The balcony was a lovely place to chill out and enjoy a morning or evening drink (take your own gear!).
The staff are as thoughtful and friendly as you could find; nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast is the highlight of the meal events, with a sumptuous buffet-style service. Beautiful freshly pressed orange juice, plenty of fruits and all the variety of protein and carbohydrate you could wish for - and more.
Dinner is a different matter. One unfortunate feature is the crowdedness of the diningroom. Navigating the menu is tricky, unless you have the appetite of a horse. Starters tend to be fulsome and would often be considered to be a main course in UK. The alternative salad from the buffet just didn't appeal to either of us, despite our enjoyment of salads. Not surprisingly, the main courses were very sizable meat portions with minimal, often frozen vegetables. Grilled fish was usually a good option. The Mallorcan wines, though not cheap, were excellent.
Do try the lunchtime Chicken & Brie and onion . Excellent and reasonable.
Returning to the rooms, these were fine with one reservation; there was very little storage space.
If you're moderately able, do try hiring a bike and going on the 'back lanes' e.g. Near the Llenaire Hotel (excellent coffee stop) with marvellous spring meadows and birds such as bea-eaters and golden orioles enjoying the scene. Worth taking your binos for. And if you like birds, go to S'Albufera - magnificent!
To sum up, Illa d'Or is a superb hotel in a lovely place. Would we go back? Certainly!

Room Tip: Try for sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rieverrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#7 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#10 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Property: Hotel Illa d'Or
Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing