We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel I'll adore”
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel I'll adore”
Reviewed 1 July 2008

I have recently returned from just one week's stay at the best hotel in Puerta Pollenca, obviously a sweeping statement considering I haven't stayed at them all...but! We booked Thomson 'A la carte' because it was the only brochure we could find the hotel in, and it offered the taxi transfer which we firmly believe is a must if travelling to the north of the island. None of that extra travelling in a hot and sweaty bus down twisting, mind numbing 'drops' adding ever more to your tiring journey, use an air conditioned taxi, it makes sense. Our room had a sea-view as requested, but if you are willing to go that extra mile, opt for a balcony, they are large and add something to the relatively small rooms. I didn't get off to the best of starts wearing shorts to our evening meal, (it states nothing in the brochure) and Jose, the head waiter, who was a cross between Danny La Rue and Tommy the Toreador, discreetly advised me otherwise. After that our relationship improved somewhat, he runs a tight ship and his well trained staff were always extremely attentive. The food was excellent with great alternatives available at all times, well cooked and extremely fresh. The pool is, as previously stated in other reviews, partly shaded for half the day, I found this wonderful for a pale skinned englishman petrified of the hot sun, working my way around the sun beds daily as my skin turned more and more pinkish; all hotels should be positioned thus. The hotel rooms were spotless, and whilst at dinner our beds were turned down by staff, with a note advising us of tomorrow's weather, and a couple of chocolates to sweeten the evening. I highly recommend this hotel to all, added to it's excellent service, Puerta Pollensa is a wonderful resort. Although this may be spoilt in the future due to the fact that whilst on my usual morning sojourn for a Latte Macchiatto and a bout of people watching I espied a couple of timeshare touts. Still the local Police did move them on eventually, and hopefully eternally!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of balcony
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Gulliver0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    238
    71
    33
    11
See reviews for
185
700
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh capital of scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

We went to this hotel last year for two weeks and it was excellent. This year we paid extra for a balcony/terrace and sea view but you could not see the sea for the pine/palm trees. The balcony was huge with sun loungers and chairs and we had the sun from 9am until it set in the evening room 111. The naval base is 200metres from the hotel and the sea planes usually started flying on the Friday, it was very noisy this goes on for 3 to 4 days and it really irritates one. The room was pretty small two single beds when we had asked for a double. The cleaning of the room was done in 10 minutes,(it was never dusted behind the small tv or under the bed), our balcony was never cleaned or swept for the two weeks we were there. The bath robes were tatty, the plug in the sink kept coming loose it was `fixed` twice ,not!! The reception staff were very helpful and charming. The restaurant (we had paid for half board) was very busy at times and the staff appeared to buckle under the pressure. The breakfasts were good apart from the greed of fellow guests that piled their plates high there by if you came down later there was no eggs or sausages, the rolls were hard and got harder as the days went on,the toasters was just a joke they kept breaking down. It was waiter service for dinner but the service was terrible having to wait for 30minutes to have our order taken. The waitress was under pressure she said and kept getting the tables mixed up,the food was okay if you liked salmon,sea bass or hake on one occasion we had eaten our meal and were still awaiting the first course. The guests were over 60 like we were and a lot of them were trying to be snobbish but just made a fool of themselves. On one occassion we decided to have a cup of tea on the hotel terrace and waited 20 minutes for service (still waiting actually).

In comparison to last year this hotel has not improved or stayed the same, it appears to have gone down slightly especially in the dining room where there is definitely a lack of staff. This is a pity because it is a lovely hotel in the most picturesque situation.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — people arriving noisily day and night
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebigpygmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2008

We have just returned from Majorca, and can confirm all other reviews on this site. Beautiful position, first class service in every department, all common areas have had a complete update over Winter, 2007/08 and the half board option is good.
However we booked a standard twin room through a Hotel bookings service, and were very disappointed. We were on the fourth floor and then another short flight of stairs to the roof. There are 4 rooms up there nos. 426, 427, 428, 429 (approx.). They are ensuite rooms with all the amenities you would expect of a 4 star, albeit a little shabby. The room has a sloping roof, whereby you can only stand up in half the room, 1 velux, and a sea view of you stand on tip toes !

  • Liked — General Standard
  • Disliked — The room no. 428
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2Turners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2008

We are just back from a weeks stay at this lovely hotel. I simply cannot fault it. We had a standard room overlooking the sea and our mother had a fabulous room with balcony...room 218.
This hotel is absolutely immaculate...and the staff are really pleasant and helpful.
The highlight of this experience was the food. We are life long vegetarians and struggle to find great food away from home. Well..what a surprise....!...Each night we were offered a seperate menu..with various choices and courses..that actually changed on a daily basis..we were so thrilled. The food was simply delicious.
In the mornings..we chose to take our breakfast..which..again had numorous vegetarian options..at the waters edge...with just two seaguls and a little cat for company...It was very special.
If you are looking for a hotel simply to lie in the sun and get a tan..there may be a few problems with space......and the sun does not shine on the same area all day......but if you want a lovely relaxing time..with great food and an idylic area..then this hotel is for you.
Next time we shall hire a car though...we were lucky with the weather.......but if it should rain..then there are not many options except to walk into the town..which is nice enough..but once you have walked around it....you dont need to do it again.
So...it would be nice to drive to Palma or the west coast ....which is about an hour away.
I would advise to definitely go half board. We checked the menus in the town and they were quite expensive..and I am sure the food could not compare with the hotel.
Gabrielle the head waiter was charming and very efficient.
We will be back....Linda and Art

  • Liked — choice of food and situation
  • Disliked — need new bathrobes
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank linmcclin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

I should start by saying that we are in our late forties / early fifties. We travel extensively on business as well as holiday and we normally avoid large chains like the Hilton, preferring the individual character and personal attention that you find in boutique hotels.

The hotel is located within a 15 minute stroll of the centre along a tree-lined seaside path. It was very quiet apart from the seaplane rescue practice (up to two hours most mornings!!). We paid extra for a terrace with full sea view. Our room was on the was on the first floor and had a really good sized sunny terrace with sunloungers - ideal for sunbathing all day. The palm trees provided privacy but they did obscure the seaview. We did not mind this but if the seaview is important then you need to ask for a higher floor (smaller terrace on the 2nd).

Although we booked half-board we chose this hotel because it also offered an outdoors a la carte restaurant (La Terrassa) albeit at an additional charge. We stayed at this hotel in September but La Terrassa had been closed for the season. When we complained we were offered an la carte menu in the main restaurant but the management refused to give us ANY discount in respect of the half board that we had already paid for. We did not try the table d’hote but most guests seemed to be happy with this. The la carte food was ‘OK’. Also the main restaurant is not big enough to accommodate all the guests simultaneously so you are initially allocated a first or second sitting. There are lots of restaurants within easy walking distance from which offer a good range of price and cuisine options (e.g. Tex-Mex, tapas, Cretan, gourmet dining) and we would highly recommend that you try these.

Official rating is 4 star but this felt more like 3 star experience. We spoke to lots of guests who go back year after year but we won’t be one of them!

  • Liked — Location - near to centre
  • Disliked — The Food
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank top-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Kerry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2008

We stayed one week at the end of May and into June 2008. The hotel is thoroughly charming and very welcoming. It's location in P.P. is good, at the far end of the Pine Walk footpath where the town has fizzled out.
The hotel is spotless throughout and all the staff without exception are cheerful, helpful and seem to enjoy their time in the Illa D'or.
Our room was great. It was a superior sea view and looked onto the pool also. It had a balcony that offered privacy and the sun reached it about 5pm.
Breakfast in the very beautiful restaurant was excellent. All the usual and plenty of choice, freshly cooked hot breakfast. Fab coffee and hot milk. All done with a smile! This inspired us to have most of our evening meals at the hotel and we were not dissappointed. Either the set 4 course meal (good standard and value) or off the A La Carte Menu (extra).
Many of the clientelle were previous visitors for years. The hotel was almost full and what a super bunch of courteous pleasant people to be around.
We are looking for a hotel to return to with confidence, not too far from our home in Ireland and this is perfect apart from 2 relevant problems:-
1) The sunbed/sunbathing/terrace/pool situation is very poor. The main sun terrace is on the edge of the sea and is small and mostly shaded with palm trees and terrace umberellas that are in situ. The sun does not get to a lot of it until 3pm. There is room for about 10 sunbeds in a 'good spot' where the sun is throughout the day, but people soon realise this and begin to loiter with intent at about 8.40am prior to the terrace opening at 9am. There then follows a sort of determined scramble but with civility to 'claim' your spot. The beds end up packed like sardines and it is not comfortable. If you leave your sunbed for more than 15 mins you are given a warning to vacate it. There is no permanent attendant on the terrace and we saw people really struggling to lift sunbeds off a high stack, over beds already out and then try to manouvre them into a tiny space inbetween other sunbathers - it was a joke really and a bit of an insult to the type of people frequenting the hotel. You could clearly see that annoyance was simmering!
The alternative is the pool area. There are very few beds here - again all full and no sunshine spots all day. Half the terrace gets sun in the morning and the other half in the afternoon. The pool is the coldest one I have ever used - it is in shade for much of the day.

2) The second problem only became relevant on our last 2 days. There is a naval base a few hundred yards away from the hotel and there began some training for the sea planes. These are huge planes and they took off and landed in the sea right next to where we were sat on the beach terrace, sometime heading directly towards us. They circled around the bay and regularly landed and took off for practice. The noise was deafening. This went on all day long. At first people were fascinated with the process but soon bagan to realise how intrusive this was. I spoke to a lady who has visited PP for many years staying in a villa in the hills at the back of the town. She told me that this training goes on for most of the summer all day long. By the end of the second day it was like being next to an airport - who would book a hotel next to an airport?

We go on holiday primarily to relax in the sun therefore the sunbed/terrace situation is very important to us. We do not wish to queue at 8.30am for a sunny place to spend our day in, nor be touching toes with the peron next to you and for this reason and with regret we shall not return to the Illa D'or.
This decision was compounded with our experience of the aeroplane training.

  • Liked — the ambience of the hotel it was thoroughly charming
  • Disliked — the sun terrace/bed situation was pretty awful
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenagalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Have just got back from our first visit and am surprised by the previous negative comments.
The hotel was spotless and the staff extremely friendly and attentive. The lounge areas were the smartest I've ever seen in a package hotel and the rest of the hotel was elegant and in keeping with it's history, almost like a country house.
The location is beautiful. Lovely and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of the port and noticeably no traffic noise.
There was never anyone in the indoor pool/sauna which was immaculate, and the pool area outside was never so busy that you couldn't find a lounger, and very quiet.
Breakfasts were excellent - dinners very good for mass catering, presentation excellent, maybe sometimes vegetables a little mushy, but plenty of variety, especially fish.
They even do olde fashioned afternoon tea on the cool terrace, rocking chairs - the lot, very colonial!
We booked a superior sea view room with a balcony request, but not wanting to leave it to chance I emailed 2 weeks and then 5 days before our arrival to plead for a balcony room on the 2nd floor overlooking the bay and jetty like you see in the photos and when we arrived we'd been allocated a lovely large room just what we wanted. It was on the end so only one neighbour and a side window aswell, room 205. The balcony rooms below us on the 1st floor had loungers as well as table and chairs. There were balconys around 2 sides of the outdoor pool aswell, with full and side sea views.
The clientele was on the whole around age 60 - 80 , and at 51 we were almost the youngest there, but that just made for a more refined experience - no rabble or football shirts, shouting or noisy music.
If you're looking for a peaceful chillled out break with attentive service and friendly, well behaved fellow guests in a great location you won't go far wrong here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsetginandtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#7 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Property: Hotel Illa d'Or
Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing