We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Improvement Needed....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Little Improvement Needed....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Illa d'Or is a lovely hotel, recently renovated with very friendly reception staff. My main gripe would be the food quickly followed by the waiting staff in the lounge and beach bar. Neither are fantastic.

Breakfast offers a huge selection but every single day my tea was lukewarm and the toaster, regardless of how many times you put the bread in refused to brown anything. But, as mentioned they do offer a huge selection of goodies from cooked to continental with some Mallorcan specialities as well.

The food at the beach bar wasn't great - soggy sandwiches every time so we presumed the kitchen couldn't get the bread to toast correctly either and you almost needed a flare gun to get the attention of the waiters. Whether we went to the beach bar at lunchtime or early evening it really was a challenge trying to attract their attention, same in the lounge in the evening, and it really did became extremely frustrating as our week went on.

The hotel gets 10/10, the food 6 but I'm afraid the lack of outside bar/lounge waiting staff gets a disappointing 4.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishEyesSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    232
    72
    33
    11
See reviews for
177
660
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Easy holiday, rest and relax, everything available at hand. Excellent staff, excellent sea view rooms, indoor, outdoor pool, beach bar, comfortable sunbeds, what more can you ask for? Flat easy walk into centre, nice ranges of shops but you have to search them out which is fun. Cheap car hire, lots to see and do if you want. Our second time at this Hotel and the rooms have been upgraded. We had a suspected water leak in our room and was immediately upgraded and sent a bottle of Carver, nice touch. Only one small complaint, and a personal tip for the future, our experience was the same as the last time we stayed, the restaurant food does not match the standards of the Hotel and there are far better food places available at short distance. Book B&B only and save the cost of half board when you will undoubtedly only use the restaurant once!

Room Tip: Only book B&B and book a sea view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at the Hotel Illa D'or. The hotel is perfectly situated a short walk away from the centre of Porta Pollensa. We loved Porta Pollensa and are looking forward to returning next year. My husband went cycling in the mountains every morning but there was plenty for me to do at the hotel on my own. The hotel had an excellent secured lock up for bikes.

Our room was clean, tidy and we had a lovely view overlooking the sea. We chose to upgrade our room so that we could have a balcony - we had assumed that a sea view meant that we would have a balcony but it didn't so I would advise that guests specify on booking whether they want a balcony or not.

The food, both for breakfast and dinner was fantastic - there was something for everyone and the waiting staff were always very attentive.

The pool area and deck were always spotless and the atmosphere was very relaxed.

My only small suggestions to the hotel would be for pool towels to be available at any time (and however many) outside. Every time I needed a pool towel, I had to go to reception and there always tended to be a queue! Also, the walls between the rooms were thin and we were occasionally kept awake by one man coughing!

Great hotel, great holiday - thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! I would definitely recommend this hotel and the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had a brilliant week at the Illa D 'or in April and looking forward a return visit in August. The perfect hotel for comfort, great service and all round quality. Breakfast menu incorporated so much choice no one could possibly find fault.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 358Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I took my sister for her 50th birthday as I felt she deserved a bit of luxury and she definately got it. A charming hotel on a small beach, a really beautiful setting. We had a room with a balcony and although it was down the side we still has a great sea view. Really friendly staff and the breakfast buffet left nothing out. We did not book the evening meal as the stroll along Pine Walk in the evening to the numerous restaurants was just the thing after a relaxing day.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnieG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed at end of April for a week in a group of 4 cyclists and 4 non cycling wives.Guys loved the cycling the area had to offer and the ladies were very happy to relax at the hotel with the occasional walk into the town for a coffee and a little retail therapy- the walk takes 10/15 mins but it is along a pedestrianised walkway next to the sea. The location of the hotel is superb- beautiful setting in a peaceful spot.
We stayed on a B&B basis so can only comment on the breakfasts which we found good
I was silly enough to leave a couple of things behind which the hotel very kindly posted on to me -very quickly and at no charge.
We all very much enjoyed our week and would be happy to recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaCh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. We paid to have a room with a balcony but our view was of a street and the recycling bins. On complaining we were offered to upgrade at a cost of 160 euros. There was no contest. The first room was very small and the bathroom tiny although the room was very nice. Our upgrade was twice the size and had a large bathroom. The view from the room was delightful overlooking the sea. The hotel is lovely and in a very nice spot. Very peaceful. The breakfast is excellent and evening meals were very good, apart from one night when the food was not hot enough. Help yourself salad bar, three course menu with plenty of choice and which is changed every three days. The restaurant staff are very pleasant and helpful. We did feel the service was rather rushed and found it odd to have to choose your dessert when you selected your starter and main course. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean with towels changed daily and sheets every couple of days. It would be nice if the reception staff smiled! We walked past them countless times on our stay and didn t once get a hello or a smile.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzyStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#6 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#8 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Property: Hotel Illa d'Or
Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing