We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like the finer things in life!”
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Clearly a privately run hotel with first class management skills that transcends throughout the hotel.
Excellent courteous, professional staff that care and also have a genuine smile about them.
Stayed a glorious week, with my wife and I am struggling to think of any improvements. We had a superior room which was exactly that.

We love the Caribbean, Mauritius and Cape Town area. We will return here many times knowing it is 5 hours door to door.

We ate outside for an early breakfast and had a light snack at lunchtime, could not wish for a better view and charming guests, who have been staying in the Illa d'Or for many years.
This is not a place for the noisy and brash looking for a great night life.

One pleasant surprise, the Outside Hotel Bar which is open all day and evening, is sensibly priced and you would struggle to find a more relaxing place.

We ate out in the evenings, do try Restaurant Silla. Puerto Pollensa is only a 10 minute walk from the Hotel, or a couple of minutes by taxi, which are reasonably priced and plenty full.

Will we go back, no question.

Anyone who has read our reviews, knows, we only review places we like. Well we like this a great deal.

Room Tip: No you might take mine, I would be surprised if anyone of the Superior rooms would disappoint,as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkandClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mark S.
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad toi hear that you enjojed your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just returned from a week at the Illa d'Or. Having booked just 8 weeks ago I did not expect a great room. On arrival we were told that our room had just been decorated, lovely room but the smell of paint and asthma don't go together. Spoke to reception staff and EMILIO could not do enough for us and offered us three different rooms and very helpful throughout our stay.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and as a picky eater the food both at breakfast and evening meal was excellent.
The setting is the best in Porto Pollensa and the scenery is breathtaking. The hotel is very quiet and relaxing.
If booking try and get a room with balcony and either sea view or pool view. Sadly due to late booking I was on road side of hotel and woken by delivery vehicles early each day.
Would I go again, yes.

Room Tip: Book room with balcony and sea or pool view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mark A.,
Thank you for your opinion. We are happy that you enjoyed of our meal and the service was helpfull and kind. Thank you for your comment.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here in May 2014 a very pleasant hotel in a beautiful part of Puerto Pollensa. Very clean hotel and very friendly staff. We were made to feel very welcome. We upgraded our room to include a sea view expecting a balcony but this hotel you will have to make sure you request a balcony as some rooms don't have one .Food was very nice and a good choice from a set menu which is changed every 3 days l would certainly return here .

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Terry E.
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Really good hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are very clean and outside area is beautiful.

Food menu has changed and should return to as previously ie varied daily rather than every 3 days

Have visited this hotel 4 years running now and it's great
Fantastic for a quiet relaxing no hassles holiday - we'll worth a visit

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Loved having my morning coffees here with my son. We watched the sea planes land whilst enjoying a very lovely cortado made by the lovely staff. If you want to practice your spanish this is the place to do it. Thank you for making my horrible holiday a wonderful one. Thank god for small mercies like this place <3

Room Tip: Did not stay but had meals and hot drinks here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ness1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a two days to fill before a week we had booked along at the Sis Pins, so came back after a few years, to stay here. Having booked a standard room, it was a real treat to be upgraded to a seaview with terrace. A clever move, as we had forgotten how lovely this hotel is! It was excellent in every way, a more mixed clientele age wise than it used to be and generally faultless
The indoor pool is small for 'real' swimmers, but I loved it as I could do ten lengths before breakfast and be very pleased with myself!.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblybellla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a relief it was to walk through the doors and realise that at last, we were about to stay in a 4* Superior hotel graded, that was actually offering 4* Superior service. I will list some "room for Improvement" points further down - for the hotel's benefit. But by no means am I aiming to complain or deter people from staying here, as I think Illa D'or is a great hotel. You have access to a beautiful setting on the Port, which is away from the hustle and bustle of the main strip where families are dining. It feels a little more refined that the surrounding areas, which are vibrant.
We parked the car outside (there was a spot) and before we started our approach to the entrance a very pleasant member of staff came out of the hotel to where we were to help us bring our luggage inside. The welcome and the level of service at the reception was second to none. The Spanish staff are fluent in both English and German and nothing is too much trouble for them. You get the sense that each member of staff at the desk actually does care about their guests and the job they do. We were escorted to our room and further helped with our bags. I cannot fault the level of service we received on Check in and Check out at all. We had a gorgeous room, not to the kind of taste I'd put in my own home, but it was fresh, modern, clean and relaxing and refreshing with a sea and pool view, with Balcony.
There was a very pleasant atmosphere though-out the hotel, people staying were obviously enjoying themselves there as guests. The Hotel is celebrating it's 85th anniversary this year and it was interesting to read the book we found in our room, with old photographs, giving a history of the building.
The Breakfast buffet is just brilliant. They serve just about anything you could ask for and have Soya, Almond and coconut milk on offer for those who are vegan or lactose intolerant. My partner and I were very impressed indeed with the breakfast on offer. As this was a business trip, we would fill ourselves up in the mornings on a hearty and healthy breakfast, which would see us through to our ad hoc lunch breaks.
Wi Fi is good - a bit slow at times which for us (working) was a bit annoying, but it's good enough for checking emails etc.
The bed was extremely comfortable and MASSIVE. Really appreciated the fact that the bed is dressed with two separate lightweight duvets, so each person can curl up in their own par of the gargantuan bed if you want too, without fighting for sheets etc.
The staff were really helpful on check out, helping us to print off our new boarding passes (we had to change our flight).
Thank you Hotel Illa D'Or for a great stay! We loved our visit.
In the interests of letting the hotel know - some areas that could be improved:
- The foyer, dining area, entrance and the rooms (our superior one at least) have all recently been brought up to modern standard. The corridors on the other hand felt very tired and dated. A change of flooring to something lighter would simply make the whole place fit better with the nice room interiors.
- Some of the breakfast staff seemed a bit grumpy. Not all of them, in fact some of them were very friendly indeed. But it would be lovely if you didn't sense that maybe your stay was making them unhappy.
- White bathroom suites would be nice. We had a beige one which although blended with the stone tiling, did feel dated. The water pressure in the shower was wonderful though.
- The walls are very thin. We could hear the TV and people going to the toilet through the walls. The latter was a bit off-putting. Given that the majority of your guests are senior, we didn't experience any real noise pollution from Neighbouring rooms, but it might be something to think about - Sound Proofing.
- Mallorca can be a hot, humid place to be. It would be good if you offered a complementary bottle of water in the rooms, rather than guests having to use the mini bar - simply to drink some water in the night.

Room Tip: Some reviewers on here have complained about single rooms or standard rooms at the back of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spangolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
720 reviews
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#8 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,034 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#6 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £92 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing