We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ILLA D'OR HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A note to everyone wishing to stay at this beautiful hotel....PLEASE BE AWARE that you understand your room type when booking, their are a few options and can be misleading...As we found out when my Husband and I arrived for our wedding Anniversary...We expected a pool or sea view with an high floor....this was only a REQUEST but having booked months in advance we didn't think it would be a problem....The hotel management stressed requests are not guaranteed... ours wasn't...so we ended up in ROOM 428....In my opinion its a 2 star room and not worth the money we paid having a sky light window only...slanting loft roof which my husband banged his head on and a really small bath which he found difficult to get into...and just a shower hand held contraption.. was not up to standard of a 4 star room very small room and the bathroom was very poor...we could not upgrade for two nights due to the hotel been full...BUT PAID 160.00 Euros extra for the remaining five nights to get a balcony room over looking the sea ....it was worth it ...just make sure that you stress you need a balcony with a sea view or you might end up in that dreadfull room 428...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We regret that the room where you were allocated was not like you expected.
Please understand that due to our historic building all our rooms are different and vary in size and shape.
We are happy that our staff could change your room and the last 5 days you could spent in room with balcony view.
Our aim is to satisfy all individual needs and to ensure that all our guests will keep a most memorable experience.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Illa d'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here half-board for 11 days from 22 June booked through Thomson. Our overall experience was very positive. Previous reports have stressed the importance of upgrading the room to include a balcony. This is important but does not guarantee that your view will not be of the side or rear of the hotel. Our side-view 4th floor view was pleasant enough. I cannot understand the negative report on the food available. Breakfast, as generally agreed, is varied and suitable for all tastes. We found the quality of the evening meals to be of a high standard, with efficient and cordial waiter service. The menu, varied each three days, included a wide range of starters and a choice of fish, seafood, chicken, pork or beef mains. In addition, there was a daily "Chef's suggestion" adding yet further variety. Perhaps a conservative palate might find the Mallorcan or other variations in preparing meals unusual, but we found the food abundant in quantity and excellent in taste and presentation. The outdoor pool is quite small, with half in the sun and half in shade each day but this facility is complemented by the extensive sunbathing/refreshment areas to the front of the hotel and right on the beach. It is uncommon to find a hotel where there are no complaints about a shortage of sunbeds due to guests putting towels down before disappearing elsewhere. This practice is not entirely absent at Illa d'Or but there was only one day on which the number of miscreants prevented us securing a sunny poolside bed, but our enforced shift to the terrace area was hardly a hardship.

The staff were both efficient and friendly, at reception, in the dining rooms and in the attentive cleaning of rooms.

Since the hotel is celebrating its 85th anniversary this year, it's worth reading the special brochure available in each room. Apart from details of the various modernization programmes, who would have known that during the Spanish Civil War the hotel was requisitioned and occupied by 40 German airmen of the Condor Legion who flew from the nearby aerodrome to bomb towns and cities on the mainland? I hope not all of them had happy landings.

I can understand why there are so many regular guests. It's not the cheapest of hotels but it's worth it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Illa D’or Hotel and for taking the time to share your comments with more travellers. Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are happy that you had a good experience with us and we are especially glad about your comments about our meal, which is of enormous importance for us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also that you were so satisfied with quality of our food.

We know that most of our guests are very happy of our meal, but is very difficult to match everybody's taste.
La carte vary every three days, incluing a wide range of starters and a choice of fish and meats and desserts.
We always do our best to keep satisfied our guest. Our menú always includes selection of fresh products. We have also a special vegetarian menu and gluten free menu . Every day we offer a "Chef Suggestion".

We are looking forward to welcome you again,

Yours sincerely,

Illa D'or,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was the most amazing stay in a hotel I have had in 40+ years of company and private travel, and in all honesty, I will not be able to praise it sufficiently in the words I write on this page.

My wife and I stayed in this charming hotel in March 2014 as the first of her holidays for a "very special year". As you can imagine, as the husband who booked this trip I was a little nervous as this was at the very start of the hotels year.

The hotel is beautiful, the location is stunning, the rooms are marvelous with very good facilities, and the staff and management are just in another league when it comes to customer service. This is the hotels 85th anniversary year in family ownership, and boy you can tell why this establishment has succeeded for so long.

The only way we will get this kind of holiday in the future will be to stay with them again, which we fully intend to do.

Room Tip: The best views are to be had with a room facing the bay at the front of the hotel....Stunning!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay. We appreciate your review, as well as the time you have spent in leaving your feedback. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Illa D’or Hotel.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one or even better.
We look forward to welcoming you again,

Yours faithfully
Illa D'or

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed this hotel in June 2012. I know it was 2 years ago but most of the guests at this hotel had been returning there for about 20 years or more! I think we were the only first timers.
We had a side sea view room overlooking the swimming pool with a balcony which was fine. The rooms on the front with sea view have a huge balcony but the rooms are small although some were having a make-over. Food was very good and the service was excellent. Good bus service from Pollensa to Palma (and cheap) and Pollensa old town and many others worth a visit.
Would be a Repeater at this hotel!

Room Tip: Sea view overlooking the pool. Not worth paying for front sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastladycaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have recently stayed at Hotel Illa d'Or for our Honeymoon and was really impressed. The hotel is clean and very well decorated - staff are very friendly and the food is excellent. We were on a half board basis and rather than a buffet selection you could easily get bored of by the end of a stay, we were presented with a menu each evening and table service - the food was fab. The breakfast was a buffet style with lots of selection and you could eat outside next to the coast - beautiful. We were a little disappointed that we couldn't have a sea view or balcony to make our honeymoon even more perfect, however accept that this would be everyone's preference and the hotel presented a bottle of bubbly and chocolates on our arrival as were aware it was our honeymoon. We spent most of our time at the beach (which is a 15 min walk along the Pine Walk - with lovely scenery). The majority of bars and restaurants are a similar distance too, however this means that the Illa d'or is in a lovely quiet location and we were not once disturbed by noise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Illa D'or Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we assure that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one or even better.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel with an old world charm. The room we had (128) was excellent. Beautiful beds, bed linen, lovely ensuite and a very roomy size room. It had a little patio to sit outside but not much of a view. The Hotel is spotlessly clean in all areas. This would be a perfect Hotel but the Dining Room ambience is very cold and stark and the food is really not that good. The first night the food was terrible, the second night was a bit better and it got a bit better as the week went on. This is such a pity as I would seriously think about going again but would only go B&B another time. Please get this sorted. The whole Hotel oozes all those lovely things, perfect view, lovely surroundings, excellent rooms but poor food. The swimming pool is very small so if you are wanting a good long swim take to the beach! Do not use the back road to the Hotel as this can be a problem with pick pockets. My husband had his wallet pinched from his shorts. There was nobody about and we were enjoying a quieter walk when we were distracted by a car reversing into a space and out of nowhere a chap was standing behind us who disappeared in a flash. Later we realised what had happened. Leave all your valuables in the hotel room safe. which is free to use. Apart from this we had a lovely time and really would like to go to this hotel again. Let's hope there can be some improvements made as this potentially could be a five star hotel. By the way, lovely luxurious bathrobes supplied and pool towels so don't take with you. This doesn't appear to be mentioned in the brochure.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what room you are having before you travel as some are apparently very dark and n...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madhum147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Madamme,

First of all we would like to thank you for trusting in our hotel and our services, and for sharing with us your review. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our food service.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very charming hotel, from 1929. Redesigned rooms
In New Hampshire style. Great food both for lunch
and dinner. Service is a little unstable. Great breakfast
With fresh juice, churros, and egg dishes cooked as you
Want. There are also a lot of varieties for gluten allergics.
The pool is most of the time in the shadow and
Seized by people above 70 years old, but it doesn't matter
Due to the wonderful veranda next to the sea.

Room Tip: Make that you take a room with view. Take a boat trip With boat from the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you for your kind feedback.. We really appreciate your words about our hotel and staff. Our best reward is to read reviews like yours,

Best regards,

Hotel Illa D'or,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
696 reviews
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#8 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
739 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#11 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £97 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing