We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times and take my mother there as it's very suitable for somebody who’s partially disabled. The hotel kindly arranges for a mobility scooter each time we have stayed there. It’s not a hotel for the young, but more for middle aged or retired folk.
The breakfast is very extensive, so I' m surprised if there is any criticism of the choice. The pool area although quite small is well maintained and you can sit there all day, watching people walk-by . The pool area, internal pool and showers/sauna are very clean, as was our room. The maids are very polite as is the reception staff.
There’s a great ‘gin corner’ although it has changed over the years, when the waiters brought the gin to your table and poured a very large measure – sign of the times I suspect.
We always book early and have the past few years have been allocated a room, over looking ‘Pine Walk’ - The walk into town is very pleasant and takes about 20 minutes at a leisurely pace. My only criticism is that if you’re booking several months in advance, you should get the choice of room you want - the hotel says that whilst they will always try to provide what you want, its not guaranteed.
We did encounter a few large flying insects in our room this year, which we suspect came from a adjacent tree.
There is a great choice of restaurants just a short walk away and ‘down-town’ is lively but not packed with loud Brits but people with or without kids who want a nice relaxing holiday.
We would certainly recommend this hotel - Chris Moore

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, COMMUNITY MANAGER at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Cris Moore,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. This kind of comments motivates us to make our best efforts to satisfy our guests every day. We are looking forward to welcome you next year.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Illa D’or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    230
    72
    33
    11
See reviews for
177
655
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just returned from this lovely traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Everything about the week was perfect, weather, location,hotel and food. It was our first visit to both the hotel and Puerto Pollensa and we would definitely return. We loved the Gin and Tonic corner and sampled plenty of the different Gins! Thanks to Mateo! The waterside position is a real bonus and the pine walk into the port is lovely, we did it every day. It was nice to be waited on in the restaurant instead of the usual help yourself buffet, the choice of food available was very good and it was nice to have the option of La Terrassa. We sampled the Spa which was a nice treat. Overall the service was very good and staff were friendly, our only constructive criticism is that it would be better if the hotel was adults only, but this won't stop us from returning.

Room Tip: Always request a room with a sea view and balcony, as quite a few rooms do not have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Community Manager at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all thank you very much for choosing our hotel Illa D'or for your stay.
We really appreciate your kind feedback about our hotel and staff which will be forwarded to them, especially to Mateo. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our Gin Tonic Corner.
Guests satisfaction is our top priority and receiving guests’s comments like yours is the best
possible prize for all of us here at Illa D’or Hotel,

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest regards,

Illa D'or,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We last visited Port de Pollenca 20 years ago when we spent two weeks in the Massoll Apartments (excellent family holiday) but remembered seeing the Illa d'Or Hotel, was impressed, and promised ourselves that we would return some day. So we did, two weeks from 27 June until 12 July, booking through Prestige Holidays via Blane Travel Agency, Kilmarnock (both providing an excellent service). Prestige in particular could have done no more to make our holiday go smoothly. Our second floor room, with balcony and front sea view (not available from all holiday companies) was superbly positioned for views over Pollensa Bay. We chose dinner, bed and breakfast and the food was excellent. All tastes were catered for at breakfast and there was a wide variety of choices from the dinner menus with a 'speciality' each night. Staff were friendly and chatty. Reception staff coped with all requests. If there were negatives, perhaps the dining room could have been more ambient; al fresco dining was available only with a 12.5 euro allowance; some towels were below an expected standard; and French fries could only be purchased as an 'accompaniment' to a meal in the 'Gin and Tonic Corner' (seaside bar) - but those comments were made on a survey form, issued when we were there and were competently dealt with by manager Tony Corio who invited us 'for a chat'. The small outdoor pool was adequate but shaded in the morning, 'reserving' sunbeds not allowed but this was not always observed. The indoor pool was also adequate but not required in our two weeks of summer sunshine. My wife enjoyed a back massage in the spa which offered a variety of treatments and although we did not use the small gym it seemed looked good. The Illa d'Or even has its own boat, the 'Isabel Maria', and we thoroughly enjoyed the morning cruise (55 euro) which included a snack and swim in a remote cove. Sunset dinner cruises and day-long trips were also available, although a bit more expensive. Our board basis meant we didn't use local resaurants but we can recommend the Royal Nautical Club on one of the piers in the town for lunch. Would not hesitate to return to the Illa d'Or Hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure your 'sea view' has a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robertandjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelillador I, Director General at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Robert & Jessie,

Thanks for your kind review and thanks again for filling out our form.
As I told you it is very important for us our guests feed back, by this way we can improve our service and offer best holiday experiences to our guests.
We really appreciate your time in helping us to improve our service. Thanks to your comment, All our guest enjoy Chips at our Gin&Tonic Corner, and we also have added some new tapas, as cheese or Serrano Ham.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your visit to Port de Pollença and your stay with us.

We look forward to welcomming you again before 20 years!!

Best regards from Illa d´Or,

Toni Corró
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having visited Port de Pollenca in the past we were aware of the reputation of the Hotel Illa Dor. We were not disappointed as we had booked the hotel for a very special occasion. This is a first class hotel that has recently been refurbished so that the rooms are well appointed, clean and well equipped. It has a great location overlooking the Bay of Pollenca with terrace dining right on the waterfront where breakfast can be served - simply magical. The staff are very friendly and helpful and give returning guests a great welcome. It is worth paying a premium price to get a room with a balcony overlooking the sea, as we did, otherwise the views may not be so good.

If there is an issue it is that the pool area is quite small and in peak season loungers (and shade) are at a premium and we were disappointed to find guests putting towels down before 8.00 am and then not using the beds until much later. Also, the dining room is quite large and the menu when on half board a bit restricted and on a three-day rotation. When on half board it is possible to dine on the outside terrace but there is an allowance of only 12.5 euros against the meal. Many of the guests seemed to be regular visitors - always a good sign but the hotel is probably not recommended for families with children. Overall an excellent stay and we would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Community Manager at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Illa D’or Hotel and for taking the time to share your comments with more travellers.
I really appreciate your words about our staff. We always do our best to make feel our guests comfortable and satisfied with their choice.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have recently returned for a week at the Illa d'Or with two girlfriends. We had a fantastic time. Everything about this hotel works; the waterside bar with Tony and Mateo,the friendly and helpful reception, the amazing refurbishment, the location and the addition this year of the Isabella Maria the hotel boat. It's the feeling that you really matter that sets this hotel apart, the welcome from everyone, the consistent stand of service and the quality, nothing is a problem. We had a gold superior room with a seaview and a standard double, both were exactly as we expected. Breakfast on the terrace, a night cap at the bar, airport transfers and the boat trip all made it a special week.

Room Tip: The description of the rooms on the website is fair and accurate. The Gold Superior definitely worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for being our guest and sharing such a wonderful review. Comments like yours make us really proud and extremely happy. We will for sure share it with the hotel staff to let them know how our Guests appreciate their efforts to provide best possible experience every day.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Illa D'or hotel,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Having never been to Mallorca before our investigations suggested Port de Pollenca would suit us and Hotel Illa D'Or had had some good reviews. We were not disappointed and found many guests had been there several times. Having booked through Thomson we were destined to have a standard room as no upgrades were available. I called the hotel direct and asked to be put on a wait list for a sea view and balcony. Not expecting to get one I got a call on my mobile as we were boarding the aircraft asking if I still wanted one (for a 32 Euro per night supplement). I was glad to have accepted as our second floor room with balcony looked straight over the bay and the Pine Walk. Having arrived at the hotel there was clearly a lot of discussion amongst guests who had not been able to get upgraded. It's clear to me that our upgraded room though not bigger had a sunny balcony and spectacular outlook. We were lucky to have got it. The number of such rooms are quite limited. I have never been to a hotel before where the staff are so helpful and seemed happy to be working there - without exception! The room was recently refitted and very modern, the bed most comfortable, English channels at least four on the TV inc BBC 1 and BBC 2, ITV plus Sky News and BBC World.
We stayed half board though that would not normally be our choice preferring to eat out in the evenings. The breakfast was a comprehensive hot and cold buffet with nothing missing. Dinner menus changed every three days and meal choices of around seven plus a daily special meant there need never be 'same again'. Meals were of a good standard and we had an allocated table for the 12 days so no worries about when to eat.
The outside bar at the waters edge was good - the only down side was that the sunbed area is quite restricted and despite the hotel's attempts to prevent the bed squatters there are a clear number of people queuing for sunbeds only then to go to breakfast not to be seen again till late morning.
We are not travellers who tend to return to the same place but I have to say that there is no doubt that I would be happy to return to Illa D'Or for another holiday
Porto Pollensa is a good place as a holiday base the harbour area is good for restaurants. And with a car the north west coast is good for 2-3 days out
Illa d'Or deserves its four star superior rating

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank childofthefifties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for trusting in our hotel and our services, and for sharing with us your positive observations,
We are more than happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and that we managed to make your experience so memorable.
Once again, thank you very much.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Illa D'or Hotel in the future,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have just returned home from Hotel Illa d'Or which must be our 8th or 9th stay and as usual nothing but first class, we have stayed in many hotels around the world but the one I always want to return to for a visit each year is the Illa d'Or. The hotel is set in a lovely position along the pine walk overlooking the bay.The room was its usual very high standard and the food was as always excellent a very good and varied menu each night, but the thing that makes this hotel so special are its staff from every section of the hotel, you are always very warmly welcomed back by all staff who never seem to forget you and always have time to talk to you. We look forward to seeing you all again very soon

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high quality, but try and get a sea view with a balcony if possible you wont be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlladorMallorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for choosing our hotel Illa D'or for your stay. We appreciate your review, as well as the time you have spent in leaving your feedback. We are very pleased to know that you really enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I will share your comments with our staff.
We look forward to seeing you soon,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#6 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#7 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Property: Hotel Illa d'Or
Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing