We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon? It doesn't matter to us!”
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2007

We arrived at this hotel for our honeymoon (hotel was informed of this special occassion) and most of the experience was quite disappointing. Due to 4 hour delay with our flight we arrived at the hotel around 3am, check-in was fast then we were told our room was on the top floor and that nobody was around to help us with our bags, we carried our bags up 5 flights of stairs (lifts not working) to find the smallest, most poorly laid out room I have ever seen (not the best start to our honeymoon!). The room had furniture infront of storage cupboards, the TV was positioned behind the bed, there was only 1 skylight (no proper window and certainly no balcony As our room was essentially in the roof, their was limited head room due to slanting ceilings (my husband is 6ft 1in, so had real problems!) The bathroom was slightly better, but the shower over the bath was positioned in the 'slant' of the celing therefore you were unable to stand in the shower, instead you had to sit in the bath to have a shower, which does not make any sense! The air conditioning in our room was appalling, a small unit in the corner of the room that did not work properly. It got very hot in this room and if we left the skylight open over night we were covered in bites by the morning. When we tried to explain to the staff that we were unhappy with our room they said "It doesn't matter to us if it is your honeymoon, their is nothing we can do unless you pay for an upgrade" (which we did and ended up with a standard room, with side sea view). We were very disappointed with the attitude of the staff in this hotel, their was a waiter in the restaurant who kept asking me for my phone number, once or twice this would have been amusing but every night for 10 nights started to irritate (my husband especially). The best thing about this hotel was the bar, the terrace outside was wonderful, especially at night (the staff in this section were great). It was quite disappointing that you cannot have your evening meal outside, instead your are in a very brightly lit dining area, not very romantic. We felt that this hotel was overpriced and the staff were not very polite, all in all we would never stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2005
14  Thank Talluluh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2006

We were almost put off by the "middle England" comments of another reviewer, but it's easy to avoid if you are bothered by such things. If one eats in the restaurant, although the food is of a good standard, you will be eating in a brightly-lit dining room surrounded by an immaculately behaved group some of whom look like Telegraph reading types, though in truth perhaps one was reminded more of "Hotel du Lac". Far better to forgo the hotel dining experience and walk the 20 mins or so along the Pine Walk to "Stay", which at least out of season has a a mainly younger Spanish cosmoplitan clientele, good food, and a contemporary style. Breakfast at the hotel is an altogether different affair, with an ability to take a tray out to the superbly located terrace right next to the clear water's edge, with fish waiting to pounce on the first crumb anyone drops in the water. This is a truly delightful setting.

Our advice would be to book a "superior" room and ensure that the hotel understands you are expecting that to be a room with a sea view and a balcony. The rooms are rather small, but in exchange for that we ended up with a first floor room and a balcony one could have played tennis on. This far from town, the Pine Walk is quiet in the evenings and one can fall asleep listening to the ocean.

Nothing is perfect, and there are a few negatives. Sound travels easily into the rooms from the narrow passageways, though stuffing a bathrobe in the crack under the door helps. The staff, incredibly friendly and helpful as they may be, did rather mislead us as to what restaurants were open in the town. And last, there's no broadband. Maybe Telegraph readers don't use it in sufficient numbers yet!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Wandering_Taff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JLue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
21  Thank Astrotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StarTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank coity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank TERRYKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
628 reviews
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#8 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
788 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#6 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £93 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing