We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a rest”
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal for a rest”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Perfect location, right on sea side; immaculate service in restaurant and outdoor areas; non-stop attention; two small pools and sea swimming also. rocks and seaweed rather hampered sea swimming. Pleasant walk into town on flat ground. Food excellent, recommend half board; massive choice of fresh food at buffet breakfast; genteel clientele not a nose ring in sight nor a tattoo. Well worth the extra money.
Rooms clean and well serviced, good size bathroom and shower area. Lift to all floors.
Unobtrusive management, good attention to detail. Keen to please.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    246
    72
    34
    12
See reviews for
197
729
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Enjoyed a week in May we had a room overlooking the sea with a balcony which i would advise. The food was ok if a little hurried. The noise from the roof repairs to the bar on the jetty was annoying but i am sure will be finished by mid June.The hotel is situated at the end of a pedestrian prom called the Pines which is great for a stroll into the main part of the town. Entertainment was good on one night. The hotel was mainly occupied when we were there by old couples. it was an enjoyable week/

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andythetillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I stayed at the Illa D'or Apartments June/ July 2010, they were re-furbished last year and are absolutely beautiful. The pool is amazing and there is also an tennis court you can book.
They were cleaned every day and the bed linen every 3 days. They also included extras normally only given with hotels eg toiletries and large fluffy house coats.

The Hotel Illa D'or was right across the road and your could also use their facilities but I really think the apartments out classed the hotel.

A minute's walk from the Pine Walk which is a beautiful sea front walk along to the many restaurants & shops. Check out Little Italy on the Sea Front and Laguna next door to Apartments.

Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scramble21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Just returned after a weeks holiday with husband, father, brother and an 18 year old son. What a mixture of ages to cater for but it did the job perfectly. Dad sat and chilled out and watched the world go by and thoroughly enjoyed the location, hubbie and brother also enjoyed the hotel. it is near the marina so you can have a stroll down the pine walk and our son found a newly opened bar/restaurant behind the hotel where he spent most of his time with a group his own age, me well I just chilled because everyone was happy. The hotel is stuck in a bygone age, very old fashioned but quaint, the rooms are clean and well maintained but lacking in amenities that we now come to expect, ie tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge that you can actually keep your own water in etc. Breakfast is amazing even for a fuss pot like me, freshly cooked poached eggs every morning, the evening meal slightly disappointing but not so that I would deter from going back, perhaps would have a B & B option and eat in the local restaurants there are so many to choose from. To sum up excellent holiday, would go back and still pay for the sea view/balcony to ensure better room/view, staff fantastic, location the best and yes its old fashioned but hey nice with it better than boutique style hotels with no atmosphere and character.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamCoolmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Nice but overpriced hotel. Lovely outside grounds, beach bar, breakfast setting, but mediocre pool (never used it) and sub-standard rooms for price paid. A good location from which to rent a boat, explore the north and west coasts, etc. Hotel nothing special- you'll want to leave it most of the time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateHitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
936 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We chose this hotel because of location for my elderly Dad so he could just sit and laze away in front of the sea without the need to move very far. In fact one of the roooms booked had a massive sea view balcony which was for Dad's use if needed but he was more than content to sit outside and pass the day people watching.
Why the sum of all the other reviews..well I think they all have valid pros and cons..
Yep the rooms are small in some cases but mine was a clean perfectly adequate single room (and there are many I have been in that have not been on other holidays around the world). Nice building/lounges/facilities and very pleasant and helpful staff.
Yep tea/coffee making facilities are a big miss in the rooms and the service in the restaurant can be old fashioned Spanish chaos but they do it so disarmingly you have to smile.
Food quality at breakfast spot on although for evening meal some other review comments again are fair and I would class this as top end brochure hotel level rather than entry level top hotel if you get my meaning, however based on the type of holidaymakers I saw, I think the catering probably hits the mark very well. Perhaps after the elderly generation has, to put it delicately, moved on to resorts anew, the upcoming customers may demand a change of style for evening meals.
Drinks service and gin sizes very good and I don't feel the prices are excessive especially for the killer point in this hotels favour..location.
Overall I was more than pleased with the holiday experience and would recommend this hotel but I do feel it may have to reinvent itself in years to come to keep up with some of the competition.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianthelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I spent a week from May 31 until June the 4th with my family. I came with my 2 brothers one of them brought their fiancee and both of them have small babies - one almost 1 year the other one almost 3 years.

Everything about our stay was so pleasent. My one brother stayed at the hotel with his child and we stayed in the apartments.

We truly only have good things to say about the hotel and its staff.

We had ordered together with our living arrangements the breakfast buffet. It was such a treat. Every morning fresh juice, fruits, eggs bacon, bread everything you want.

the staff was so kind to us and to the children. They helped us with everything concerning car rental, tennis - whatever we had questions about.

The location is of course excellent right down to the beach but the hotel and apartment has pools if you prefer that.

The rooms both at hotel and apartments are such good quality. They are roomy and always kept clean by the excellent staff.

If you want to walk to port pollenca its only 10-15 min. walk along the beatiful ocean.

Truly and honestly it was just such a nice and relaxing stay for me and my family.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbilleskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
597 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#8 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Property: Hotel Illa d'Or
Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing