We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed 26th May - 9th June 2012, half board in a suite with my mother and her friend. On speaking to other guests they where really impressed, no complaints only praise and indeed that is the case with my party. Obviously personal choice may create a few gripes with some, but I would have to say you would need to be pretty picky to find fault. Excellent location opp great beach, spotless pool/terrace, 10min flat walk into Port de Pollenca and great bus service to explore other areas. Suite was spacious, clean with more than enough storage for 3. Twin beds in one area and one half of the settee folded out as a 3rd bed for me, it did not make the area cramped at all. This had a proper mattress, spotless bedding(as did the other beds) and excellent comfort wise. Kettle, mini bar, safe(free) 2 LCD tvs, excellent shower over bath and large terrace with 2 loungers, small table and a small(2 person) settee. The options and quality of food at eve meal time was good, breakfast also. Brilliant staff, especially those who do both the bar & dining room service, they work so hard to meet your needs and make you welcome in such a professional way. I will be back to this hotel later in the year, 1st time I have felt I wanted to return somewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AngelaM997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    340
    86
    35
    10
See reviews for
248
715
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had stayed in the next door - in the sister hotel and although that was good - this was as good if not slightly better. Ideally situated - great recently refurbished rooms with a wonderful sea view. We were in the Annex. Our only gripe was that the houeskeeping was not great - tea bags, glasses not replaced, balcony not swept and floors could have been better. The waiting staff were great - and the lovely very helpful Christina on Reception - who is a gem. The food was very good, and good variety. But its the location which is such a winner. Fantastic beach and sea and olovely to walk into town. The stay was as good as we remembered - we will be back!

Room Tip: Go for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jezza53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear customer, on behalf of Hoposa Uyal and staff we truly appreciate your comments. We ´ll take into consideration your remarks as our goal is to improve every day. Hotel Uyal has a good familiar character and staff are happy to see the customers coming year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed for 10 days and left on 8/6/12 Hotel was all we wanted food was ok rooms good service very good Christina the manager was excellent as was the Blonde Irish lady staying there

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We booked a week at Hotel Uyal from 29/5/12 to 5/6/2012 and were looking forward to this holiday in Port de Pollenca, having visited the resort over a number of years. We booked on a half-board basis, intending to lunch out occasionally and come back to the hotel.
ROOM - we had 105 which is in the annexe. Dying plants at the entrance are not very impressive! They probably just needed watering.Parts of the annexe e.g. hall carpeting were probably fashionable in the 70s-80s - curious as to why this was missed in the upgrade. The hotel has been upgraded in the recent past and although the furniture is fairly functional as per IKEA it is new and adequate. A mini-bar in a fridge was supplied. Tea and coffee making facilities were OK but the coffee was always replaced with decaff and no 'real' stuff. Never figured that one out but since had brought our own coffee it didn't matter too much. Cups occasionally not cleaned. The shower room with its wet area and new toilet/bidet is clean and functional. The toilet did come loose at one point needing some diy to put it back on - not a big deal but could be looked at as I see other reports of the same problem and my wife reported the same thing happened in one of the public area loos off reception.
Beds were comfortable and supplied with light duvets. Cupboard space fine. TV - A Samsung 40" flat screen with very odd controls (up/ down channels, left right volume, a 'magic' button (what? still don't know why!) and power on/off. 3 English channels we could find. BBC1 BBC2 and Ch5. The rest mainly Spanish or German.
CLEANING - done at what appeared to be random times - at first late afternoon then it got earlier and earlier. Broadly OK, but the balcony sometimes not well done.
VIEWS - We had specified a room for 2/3 with balcony and this looked out on to the beach and sea not too obscured by palm trees but overlooked by passing pedestrians.
Uploaded photos when done will show the view.
SERVICE - Reception truly excellent - Christina was extremely helpful and e.g. helped us print out a changed e-ticket for return and advised on internet access (in lounge €1 for 10 mins). Nothing too much trouble and always a cheery smile.
MEALS - Strange buffet set-up in two parts - one in the main dining room, the other in what is effectively a passage between the reception hall and bar area. If the Uyal has to be marked down in some area I would say this is it. It took me some time to discover where the teaspoons were hidden! Breakfast orange juice sometimes not replenished in a timely way. Cereal selection fairly uninspired and limited. Cold meat (ham) obviously of a cheap quality and cheeses sometimes not all that fresh. Otherwise cooked breakfast items seemed fine especially if you come from the UK.
The dining hall was frankly cramped with little room between diners. Following an initial order of water or wine you were then left to get on with the buffet offerings. Soup was uniformly good and enjoyable. Main courses - good and bad in parts. I had quite a dry but otherwise OK perch one evening. Another evening veal which you could mend pavements with. Veg lasagne was fine. I would say the standard of cooking and variety is certainly not up to 4* standard which the hotel claims to be. Table service good but limited purely to water/wine and no coffee offered. I expected a lot more than that given some previous write-ups. I had the distinct impression at times of being back at school dinners and there was a distinctly 'rushed' feeling.Although I don't go in much for sweets my wife had something appoximating to a creme brulee which had a kind of soft base with a more solid sweet meringue-ish topping but wouldn't do it again!
LOCATION - situated about 1mile or so from the Port centre so if you're fit it's a 20 min walk. There is a very good bus service every 15 mins or so which costs around €1.5 single. Same to Alcudia old town in the other direction. Buses are fast and clean. The hotel is sited just over the main Passeig de Londres road from the lovely beach and hireable deck chairs/sunshades, Or if you're quick grab a pool seat at the hotel but the pool is small and the seating cramped.

Room Tip: Only experience of 105 - would go for this type of room (for 2/3) which was spacious and with a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elnojj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear traveler, On behalf of our management and staff at Uyal, we thank you for your extensive review of our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments and will take your remarks on food and others into consideration to improve our work. Uyal has been operating since 1954 and has one of the best and typical Majorcan architecture on the island. We hope you can come again to stay at Hoposa Uyal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Booked a junior suite and had a great view overlooking the beach and sea. A good size room, two rooms really, a bedroom and a lounge area, 2 flat screen tvs and a good size balcony. Housekeeping not 100%, didn't clean the balcony and sometimes glasses weren't cleaned etc. Food okay mostly but chips served too often, a 4 star hotel shouldn't be serving chips that often and not a good choice of vegetables, 1 basically and that wasn't cooked okay but salads were very good so overall good. Staff very good and Christina on reception was excellent, always a smile and nothing too much trouble. My husband counted 78 steps to our sun beds on the beach from the hotel foyer!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindagood12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

for a four star hotel the choice and quality of food on offer for dinner is 2 star at the most-one evening the chef was grilling beefburgers with boiled onions as an main-lack of vegetables-all food pre-prepared and obviously bought in, must have spent all their money on renovations-sunbeds with no mattress and mainly on shingle-will never return

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
On behalf of our management we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us the opportunity to write our management response. We are very sorry you have not enjoyed our food choice for dinner. At Uyal we present every night five hot dishes for dinner (two sidedishes, one fish and one meat and a pasta or rice), also we have a "show cooking" mostly for meat (chicken,beef, pork) or prawns, plus and an extra dish that could be paella or some typical Mallorcan dishes (stuffed aubergines,frito mallorquín, sopas mallorquinas, etc). That means that guest can opt for fish or meat (It is true that once a week we have hamburguers as one of the options mentioned before).We have also vegetarian dishes and a big variety of salads choices as entrees . We thank you for your comments and will take them into consideration to improve our work to please our customers. This is our goal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Returned at the end of May to the Uyal for the third time. The hotel's recent refurb
is really great. The rooms are now contemporary style, very comfortable and well
designed. Bathrobes are a nice liitle luxury. Food excellent and varied. Staff are friendly and efficient. A very good value hotel. Hotel is right by the beach which
was deserted until about 10am - great for a lovely peaceful morning swim.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite it really is worthwhile for the extra cost. They include a lounge area an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Polly003003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
653 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#7 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,029 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
957 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#11 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Uyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Property: Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Address: Paseo Londres s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Uyal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded to 4 stars, this emblematic Puerto Pollensa Hotel dates from 1954 and is a fine example of the typical architectural style to be found on the island of Majorca (Mallorca). It is formed by two buildings, both of which are beautifully decorated and in an outstanding location on the beachfront in the Bay of Pollensa. It is only 10 m from the extensive beach of fine sand located right in front of the hotel, and guests can also find a range of cultural, leisure and nature activities available just a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hoposa Uyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyal Hotel Pollenca
Hotel Uyal
Hoposa Uyal Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing