We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent- fifth visit”
Review of Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Uyal - having been 4 times previously some years ago ( 13 years in Puerto Pollensa in the last 15) The refurbishment is good, the catering choices wide and the overall value for money excellent. The location is great and the road outside is much quieter now that the town has a bypass.

A couple of niggles we will blame on Jet2 - we paid extra for a sea view room ( not sure in fact if there are rooms without one?) but we didnt get a balcony - couldnt moan too much as the brochure small print didn't say balcony and it wasn't an extra option on booking. We asked for one on arrival but they were booked up so it wasn't possible. I also expected a sheet change during the week but did not get one.

Having stayed at other places in town - Illa D'Or, Hobby Club, Pollensa Park and a private apartment I believe Uyal offers best combination of location, comfort and value for money.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view or balcony - Suites are large and worth it if you have a child with you
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
There are newer reviews for Hoposa Uyal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a nice position overlooking the sea on the edge of Porto Pollensa. The food in the restaurant is good and inexpensive. The staff are very friendly and helpful, we left an i-pod in the safe and when they found it, kept in touch by e-mail before returning it to us. We would like to return sometime next year.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the older building
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gma001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We spent 10 days in early June at the Uyal. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and were willing to help with any requests efficiently and pleasantly. The cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel was first rate, and the food (we were 1/2 board) was great. The deal on 1/2 board was unpassable. The only thing I would have to draw peoples attention to, is that there is a road between the hotel and the beach, in front of the hotel. Its busy at the weekends but quieter during the week.I think I was the only person who we talked to who noticed it, but I did!
I must say the outdoor veranda is a lovely place to sit after dinner and everyone makes an effort to chat.

Room Tip: The corner rooms of the annex get good sun in the evenings
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muranoAdare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed here earlier this year with my daughter after a break of thirty years. It was one of the few Hotels open at that time of year, and thank goodness it was! We enjoyed it so much I returned a few weeks later with my husband and have booked to go again later in the summer. The staff are very efficient, rooms are great, english channels on tv, tea and coffee making facilities, all in all a great holiday experience!

Room Tip: Any sea or side sea view room is great.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heatherbell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We have just spent a week at the Uyal Hotel in Majorca, and once again had a really good time. The Hotel has been fully refurbished over the winter and looks great. The staff are very helpful and the food very varied. We will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: We were in a Junior Suite, the beds are huge and a nice lounge area with a balcony looking onto the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenySandbach81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We visited this hotel for the first week of July 2012. We're a British couple living in Yorkshire aged in our twenties and had a lovely time. The service in this hotel was first class. They didn't let us down. This included having the room and bottle ready in the room on arrival, a packed lunch during the week and bicycle hire. Front desk staff were helpful and dinner service was excellent. The food was very good and varied during the week. It included a chef on hand to cook main courses in a buffet style. This compromised of salads, meats, fish, breads, cheese as well as traditional Spanish dishes. Breakfast was also good with a wide selection of breads, cheeses, yogurts, cereals and cooked breakfasts. We enjoyed dressing for dinner and looking at the view of the bay which was lovely. The hotel encourages more formal dress for dinner (not black tie) but certainly not swim wear etc, The guests in the hotel were from UK, Germany, Spain and across Europe so there was a nice mixed vibe. The hotel Uyal - Majorca in Puerto Pollensa is about a mile from the town so be prepared to walk for 15 mins. Or if you want to explore. We liked to take a short taxi ride back to the hotel at night which cost around 4 or 5 Euros. The room was very clean and modern looking out on the beach, we loved it.. I understand there have had a recent refurbishment and it shows. The interior and furnishings are mostly modern wooden floors and dark mahogany style corridors. Its well kept. The room we had included a terrace on the ground floor which was spacious with a sea view. There were robes in the wardrobe which we particularly enjoyed and found very comforting. The was a secure safe which was easy to use. This helped with storing cash and passports etc. The room had a wide screen TV which we didn't use in the end as we were having too much fun ! - The hotel provided light entertainment (usually, a musician or dancing show on the patio) through the week and sometimes at its sister hotel down the road which was free and pleasant during the warm evenings. There are bus stops are a 5 minute walk down the road which can get you to the old towns of Pollense and Alcudia as well as Palma in the south. Should be looking for a nice hotel in a quieter location but in striking distance of transport, beach and the town, I would recommend this hotel for sure. Very good and worth a 4 star rating. Also, check out the ""No Frills"" excursion company in town and their rural tour.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 to 105 are ground floor rooms in the nice outbuilding across the road from the main buildi...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

recently returned from two weeks at this excellent hotel. Room, food, entertainment and very friendly and helpful staff could not be faulted.
Pool area and loungers could do with being hosed down daily.
Bonus points are - Tea and coffe making facilites. Wet shower, bathrobes, FREE safe in room
and pool towels at 10e refundable deposit.
A wonderful experience hopefully soon to be repeated.
M White

Room Tip: We had 361 which was the middle balcony sheltered from any sea breezes. Did not get sun but in temp...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#2 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#7 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Uyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Address: Paseo Londres s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £100 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Uyal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded to 4 stars, this emblematic Puerto Pollensa Hotel dates from 1954 and is a fine example of the typical architectural style to be found on the island of Majorca (Mallorca). It is formed by two buildings, both of which are beautifully decorated and in an outstanding location on the beachfront in the Bay of Pollensa. It is only 10 m from the extensive beach of fine sand located right in front of the hotel, and guests can also find a range of cultural, leisure and nature activities available just a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hoposa Uyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyal Hotel Pollenca
Hotel Uyal
Hoposa Uyal Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing