We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”
Review of Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I took my wife to Majorca for her birthday. The Hotel Uyal was just brilliant. The room was modern and spotlessly clean, the staff were just amazing (why do we have so much poor service in England?), the food was gorgeous and there was a really wide selection and plenty of it. We had a really relaxing time and from our arrival at reception to our departure we could not find a single fault. The room and bathroom were kept really up to scratch every day even to the wonderful way the bed covers were neatly folded down into a fan design (a small thing but shows that there was care and effort to please their guests) This was our first visit and we are already planning our second visit.

Room Tip: Go for the full sea view or the side view. We had side view because we were late booking and all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Babsdranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    340
    86
    35
    10
See reviews for
248
715
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have been visiting Mallorca for over 20 years and last stayed at the Hotel Uyal about 4 years ago.

Since our last visit the hotel has undergone a major refurbishment, although it still retains the chic Mallorcan style that we loved on our first trip.

We booked a Junior suite overlooking beautiful Pollenca Bay, the room was very comfortable and the refurb has been done to a very high standard.

We were in the area to go walking, the location is perfect for walking and cycling around the beautiful North Mallorcan countryside. Cyclists from all over Northern Europe descend on Port Pollenca in the spring, and if you are lucky you might spot Tour de France winner Sir Bradley Wiggins who has a house in the town and spends much of his time training in the area.

The pace of the hotel is very quiet and relaxed, the staff, some who have been there since our first visit are courteous and friendly, although the service in the restaurant at breakfast can be a little slow. You might have to wait a while to be served coffee or tea, which isn't self-service. The old coffee machine was much better, I'm sure the hotel could easily sort that out.

In our mid 50's we were the younger end of the clientele, there were a few young couples and the occasional baby but mostly the customers tend to be 50+.

On arriving home I discovered that I'd left a small camera memory card on top of the fridge cabinet in our room, a quick email to Uyal reception the memory card was found and posted back to me. Perfect service.

My wife did have a concern about giving the Uyal such a good review, "if you tell everyone how good it is we might not be able to get a room the next time we go".

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Uyal (April / May 2013) and can definitely recommend this hotel - the hotel has been recently refurbished and the rooms are lovely. We paid for a sea view and asked for a high floor (there are only 4 floors in the annexe) - it is definitely worth paying the extra for the sea view as it is stunning - We stayed in the annexe, which I would recommend - the rooms are more modern and have much bigger windows so the view is better - you can lie on your bed and just stare at the sea! heaven! - although sitting on the balcony isn't bad either!
The rooms are well equipped and come with a free safe, fridge, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, kettle, tea/coffee making facilities, wine glasses (no cork screw), toiletries and the use of fluffy dressing gowns and the beds are some of the comfiest I have ever stayed in for a hotel. The bathroom is very modern with a walk in shower.
Reception staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful but one of the breakfast waiters was a little grumpy and not quite as efficient - coffee can take some time coming, even when you are the only ones there! But sitting on the terrace is certainly a lovely setting to have breakfast.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the pinewalk (or 5 euros in a taxi) but has plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and en route and a supermarket almost next door. The bus stops just outside the hotel for Alcudia, Palma or Pollenca so is very easy (and only about 1.5 euros one way to Pollenca or Alcudia). We actually preferred this setting to the pinewalk as the sea view is just as stunning and the beach is directly opposite, which is probably necessary in the busier summer months as the pool and pool area is not very large.

If you are going to Port de Pollenca, you really should book this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KateandNeil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballymena n . ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife and i have just returned from our first stay in the Uyal Hotel, and we had a wonderful time . We went on the strength of previous reviews which mostly were very positive. Uyal may not be everybody,s ideal hotel , but it certainly was a delightful experience for us . The hotel is immaculate in all areas , been refurbished , food is of excellent quality, and the staff were ALL very helpful and friendly. The hotel is relatively small (just over 100 rooms , in 2 seperate buildings), but that suited us as we dont like crowded hotels, and the location is spot on - it is only separated from the lovely long sandy beach by a road , which is easily crossed. Shops , bus stops and the town centre are all in easy walking distance. It was lovely waking up in the morning with a unspoilt sea view, and knowing a lovely breakfast was waiting.
Rooms were very comfortable ,with great beds and a very clean bathroom with walk in shower. A nice wee touch was a complimentary safe (hate paying for them when you arrive) and tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms.
On the last night of our stay we were given a complimentary glass of bubbly, and a senior member of staff came over to chat , wish us well and thank us for our stay.
Uyal hotel staff provided us with a delightful hotel , and we hope to return sooner rather that later. Best Hotel we have stayed in :)

Room Tip: All rooms good ..but front seaviews brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcksj752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Good position, good staff, good food. Rooms fitted to high quality. The Uyal is in a superb position, only a road separates it from a good sandy beach. Nice pool and area, which I expect can be a little limited for space in high summer. Only took breakfast but this was of very high quality. If you rewaly wanted a cooked breakfast a chef was frying eggs to order but the breads cold meats fruit and cakes were fresh and very tasty. The rooms have been recently referbished to a high standard [see my rant on single rooms] and were kept very clean, as was rest of hotel.

Room Tip: The roomsfor 2 people are all in good positions. Why, as in most hotels, are single rooms in the wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanst2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My wife and I stayed in a Junior Suite 8 nights at the end of April on B&B terms booked through Travel Republic.Although previously aware of this well-established and traditional hotel the recent major refurbishment encouraged us to give it our first try.

We asked for a sea view and a high floor which we got and our room was in the main building not the annexe.Because the weather during our whole stay was so wet cold and windy we did have dinner in the hotel on 3 evenings.Normally we try to avoid hotel dinners.

Junior Suite:

Style is chic minimalist.Top quality bedding and towels.Laminate floor in both rooms of the suite and tiled floor in en-suite no rugs or carpets-which pleased us.Flat screen TVs in bedroom and lounge but no Sky,C4 or ITV.No charge for easy-to-use safe in wardrobe.Fridge/minibar in lounge and a comfortable large settee.

No drawers at all.Small hanging wardrobe and fitted shelves but would not be spacious enough for a couple for 2 weeks.Even for us we had to live out of suitcases for some clothing.Comfortable and large double bed.

Bathroom well re-decorated.Coffin-shaped bath with excellent Grohe shower over the narrow end.Turning around under the shower not easy.Close-fitting swinging perspex screen kept water off the floor.Bath plughole, raised lever type, in middle of the bath not at one end so you kept treading on it-ouch!No grab rails at all to assist getting into, and more hazardously out of the shower as no bath floor mat and very slippery surface.This is an important deficiency and I expect the tour operators eg Thomson and Thomas Cook to get this sorted now that the new season has started on 1 May.Nice shallow but wide washbasin and plenty of space for toiletries.The hotel supplied some.Extractor fan inefficient,mirror steamed up easily.No bidet.

New bar area has been well-furnished and there is a large flatscreen TV that has Sky Sports.One bartender with little work to do was visually annoyed that I switched the TV over from showing a Barcelona match to a SuperSunday Premiership match. Same barman totally forgot to make and deliver the Pina Colada I ordered for my wife.I reminded him after 20 minutes' wait and he apologised and supplied it "on the house".Shame really because the other younger barman who served us with wine at the table was charming and efficient.

The choice of foods at the dinner buffet suited us down to the ground as we like salads and small quantities of a variety for all courses.Because there are 2 sittings each lasting 75 and 60 minutes only, hot food was not left around getting congealed or cold.By the standard of hotel food generally we thought it was very good and better than we expected.

Overall I rate this hotel good value for money and more comfortable than other hotels I have stayed at in PP. The faults are recent design issues in which style has superceded substance.I would return but only if I could be sure of a walk-in shower (which some rooms apparently do have).

Certainly better than my experiences of Hotels Capri or Pollensa Park with predictably higher prices.

Room Tip: Choose the Shower-only option not the bath/shower which is a safety hazard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WirralScouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Hotel Uyal, 16-26 April. We were most impressed with the standard of the hotel.The recently refurbished rooms are very well equipped with fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, large flat screen TV and an enormous and very comfortable bed. The bathrooms are modern with a large walk in shower.The hotel and grounds are immaculate.We had breakfast on the terrace every morning, the waiters continuously topping up tea and coffee.ALL the staff are very friendly and professional. The evening buffet had a good range of starters-soup,excellent cold meats, fish and various salads.If there is one minor complaint it is the lack of choice of hot main courses. Deserts were very good. We would definitely return to the Uyal. Tip: For light lunches, drinks that are very reasonable and great hosts in John & Chris try the Bondia Bar (turn left out of the hotel on the front,left again at the pizza restaurant, 5 mins max, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
653 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#7 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,029 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
957 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#11 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Uyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Property: Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Address: Paseo Londres s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Uyal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded to 4 stars, this emblematic Puerto Pollensa Hotel dates from 1954 and is a fine example of the typical architectural style to be found on the island of Majorca (Mallorca). It is formed by two buildings, both of which are beautifully decorated and in an outstanding location on the beachfront in the Bay of Pollensa. It is only 10 m from the extensive beach of fine sand located right in front of the hotel, and guests can also find a range of cultural, leisure and nature activities available just a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hoposa Uyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyal Hotel Pollenca
Hotel Uyal
Hoposa Uyal Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing