We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB HOTEL”
Review of Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Have just returned from this beautiful hotel,stayed in room 454 with fab views - all staff were extremely delightful especially on reception. Would highly recommend this hotel,location was excellent. Will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had a wonderful week in hotel Uyal last year with a beautiful room with balcony etc. We therefore decided to return for 2 weeks this year and asked both the hotel and Jet 2 for the same room. This request was repeated several times. But on arrival, we found we were in room 108 - a prison cell with barred windows - the lights had to be on all the time. There was also mould on the walls and unpainted plaster.It was NOT good sleeping next to a damp wall, especially since I have arthritis. The furnishings were fine but it was so depressing being in such a dark room. We asked to change but the hotel was full.
Food was not as good as last year and it was irritating to be allocated an early sitting so dinner was a rush. Staff delightful but such a disappointment. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Book seaview in main hotel or annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EdinburghCalvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments on behalf of Hoposa Hotels. We are very sorry about your disappointment .First of all we must clear that the room you had booked last year was a seaview room and this year your booking was for an standart room. If we have availability there is no problem to make an upgrade with a supplement ,but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked. We must say that the weather did not help to have bright days and the rooms can look a little bit dark. About the sittings in the dining room for dinner, if you are disappointing with the sitting given the day of arrival , please contact with the Head waiter and he will change it with any problem.We are sorry to know your disappointing now because you are not here and we can´t manage to change your dissatisfaction into satisfaction. If you consider to come back sometime we will be glad to have another opportunity. Thank you again for you report. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Let me begin by saying we would highly recommend the Hotel Uyal.

Great setting, good food, lovely junior suite.
Our suite was on the top floor and was everything we looked for in hotel accommodation: very spacious, very clean, lovely bathroom, good balcony, modern furnishings - even two TVs but who wants to watch tele on holiday?
Have noticed a previous reviewer complaining about lack of "character" in rooms after refurb. Well we have had many bedrooms which were overflowing with "character" (sad old furniture) and vastly prefer the Uyal's clean and modern lines and we are in our 60's so it has nothing to do with age.
So why not 5 stars? Well, although the food was very nice, our preference is for waiter service.
Going back and forward and queuing for food is a wee bit too canteen like for us although we obviously knew it was buffet style before booking. Dinner just feels more special having waiter service we feel.
Tea at breakfast should really be served in pots rather than having waiting staff pour hot water into your cup.
The gentleman on reception on our arrival could have been a little more welcoming. Efficient enough but a smile and maybe a few words of welcome would have been nice.

Location etc have all been mentioned by other reviewers so no need to go over old ground.

So, as stated at the beginning, we would definitely recommend the Uyal. Perhaps not perfect for us but not too far from it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel was everything and more than we expected. We booked a suite and it was really spacious and modern. We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was abundant in choices but the evening buffet looked really good too.
We come to Mallorca every year with the children in August and it was nice to come in a different season without children! I would however take the children to this hotel if it was a short break.

I cannot wait to return again next year!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edgegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I have just returned home from a week staying at this Hotel, and can say, the Hotel is delightful, I have been reading the reviews over the last few months and I was expecting the hotel to be nice, but it was fantastic! The décor and presentation of the hotel is fantastic. The staff could not do enough for their guests. I went with my daughter and baby granddaughter, we had a fantastic room (Room 264) on the second floor in the main Hotel, the balcony was enormous, the room offered a side and front view to the beach and over the pool area. The staff were most accommodating with a young toddler (age 21 months). A high chair was available for breakfast and dinner and they provided plastic plates etc for the toddler. The choice of food at both breakfast and dinner was wonderful, and the service provided by the staff for drinks, coffee etc was second to none. The rooms were cleaned and refreshed with fresh towels daily. The walk into Porto Pollensa Harbour was approx. 15-20 mins and a very pleasant walk indeed. The resort is very clean and cared for. We took a couple of bus trips to both Alcoudia and Pollenca, it was approx. 15 mins to both places and the buses run every 15 mins which is very convenient and their is a bus stop for both towns within 1-2 mins from the hotel. We cannot recommend this hotel enough, we wanted a safe, clean and welcoming environment and I can assure you we got all these things. We will most certainly be back next year. (The only down side was the weather which was very mixed indeed, so maybe next year we will visit in June!!!) Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Main hotel, second floor, Room 264, fantastic in size and the balcony is huge!!!! Offering lovely s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saddleworth09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for you nice comments , we are looking fordward to see you again soon. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel and really liked it. The location is perfect, just opposite a lovely beach and walking distance to lots of great restaurants and shops. The staff were friendly and the breakfast had a pretty good selection. I would definitely go back

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RFG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My wife & I stayed in this hotel last week. We booked a seaview room and were pleased to be given a very good room almost directly above the main entrance in the main building.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - both regarding the hotel and also the wider area around Pollensa.
We took breakfast on the terrace and dinner in the main restaurant. Food was buffet style and the choice was vey varied and good.
It is situated on the main beach road out of Pollensa which can become quite busy & noisy [with buses] so if in the front, I recommend shutting the windows / doors and using the aircon.
The walk to the centre is about 0.7km. but there is are very good SPAR shops within minutes on either side of the hotel. Very good quality hotel & a most enjoyable stay - would return without a doubt.

Room Tip: Comments in the visitor's book would suggest that rooms in the main building are better than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.9 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
720 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#7 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,035 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
628 reviews
1 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Uyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Address: Paseo Londres s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £82 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Uyal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded to 4 stars, this emblematic Puerto Pollensa Hotel dates from 1954 and is a fine example of the typical architectural style to be found on the island of Majorca (Mallorca). It is formed by two buildings, both of which are beautifully decorated and in an outstanding location on the beachfront in the Bay of Pollensa. It is only 10 m from the extensive beach of fine sand located right in front of the hotel, and guests can also find a range of cultural, leisure and nature activities available just a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoposa Uyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyal Hotel Pollenca
Hotel Uyal
Hoposa Uyal Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing