We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paid for a sea view, did not get one”
Review of Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, Herts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paid for a sea view, did not get one”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel, with good decor and in a great location, opposite the beach and a short stroll to the centre of Puerto Pollenca. The staff were friendly and food was ok (buffet style limitations, but it suited us fine). I would say that the hotel is good for older couples, wanting a peaceful relaxing holiday.

However, for us, the whole thing was let down by the aspect of the room.

Having paid a premium for a side "sea view", we did not get one. Our room was on the first floor at the side of the annexe. We had requested a "high floor". From the room itself, there was no sea view. From the balcony, the sea view was obstructed by trees & a screen which separated our balcony from the next.

Worse still, instead, of a lovely vista, we were totally overlooked by all the side view rooms in the main hotel, the sunbeds around the pool and the terrace area which was used at breakfast & for the evening entertainment / bar. From all these locations you could see straight into our room, We were totally on display.

Where we had visions of sitting out on the balcony, sipping a drink in the evening and looking out to sea, the reality was that we had to keep the curtains closed the whole time and did not use the balcony at all.

We asked to move rooms, but were told the hotel was full.

Had it not been for this issue, we would have given the hotel 4 stars. We enjoyed our holiday. But, our room should not have been promoted as a sea view room. Having paid a premium for a sea view we felt totally let down with the horrible aspect of our room and the fact that we were totally on display. What a shame.

I would only visit this hotel again, if I could be 100% positive that I would not be overlooked. This means a front sea view, high floor room is the only option. Book anything else at your own risk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ynotmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Customer, thank you very much to take the time writing your review on behalf of Hoposa Uyal management. I´m very grateful for your nice and positive comments and I accept your suggestions, you will be welcome at Hotel Uyal every time you wish to come back.
For the future travelers I wish to make clear that this room is not a seaview room (which have another tarif) but a SIDE SEAVIEW ,wich has a partial view of the sea , otherwise would be a seaview. The picture doesn´t show exactly the full view, it will be at your disposal on the pictures section. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    328
    86
    35
    10
See reviews for
242
696
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Brilliant holiday, would recommend especially for our age group - 70+. Will return again. Particularly suited to adults who like a fairly quiet holiday. Good food, good service. Staff were excellent. Puerto pollensa is a lovely place, lots of cafes, restaurants and beaches. Ideal for walking as it is very flat. Bus service to other places is excellent.

Room Tip: Book a sea view with balcony in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

our first visit to this hotel and we were very impressed.We paid extra for seaview and terrace really worth it views across beach and sea it was lovely.Room very spacious and very clean double shower in bathroom.Food very good lots to choose from waiters always had a smile and friendly.Hope to return.

Room Tip: pay extra for seaview it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186happyholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Hoposa Uyal hotel has a very good location,renovated rooms and a good breakfast. Which suits to 4* hotel. The rest needs to be improved to attend the real 4* service level (such chains as Riu and Iberostar). The choice at the dinner is limited,the cleaning of the room is really average and very late (1-2 p.m.)!!!the territory is very small.in fact there is no territory:)but the Port de pollensa is a very nice place for hollidays!so if you are not too spoiled by good hotels and you are not difficult it can be a good option for you!!
P.s. May be we had really good previous experiences in 4* hotels

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dacha31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Customer, thank you very much for your review about Hoposa Uyal. Your opinion is very valuable for us, but let me say that Hotel Uyal can´t be compared with hotels of between 500 to 1.000 guests, how you state there is no territory at all and the type of the hotels and atmosphere are very different, no comparable, big buffets , big areas, big pools.
Anyway we will take your comments in consideration to improve our level of service.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

As first time visitors to Uyal, we were very impressed. Location has been well described by earlier reviews and I can only comment that it would be very difficult to get a better position. A beautiful 20 minute slow amble along to the main resort area with a perfect beach 10 metres in front of the hotel takes some beating.
The hotel itself also takes some bettering in my opinion. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially Cristina on reception who is exceptional helpful. Lovely hotel with a feeling of relaxation. We found plenty of sun beds and even got our preferred spot on just about every occasion. House keeping staff were very friendly and efficient. Food was very good quality, but sometimes lacked imagination with limited choice at times.
The only areas we would suggest could improve were the attentiveness of bar staff was sometimes lacking. On most occasions we had to Approach the bar to get service or settle a bill.
The issue of 'front or side' sea views also needs to be addressed as we experienced a number of guests who had similar issues. Whilst all guests pay the same or a sea view, there are definately 2 classes of views, full front on or restricted side view. We were given a side view room, and although the room was well appointed with a lovely walk in shower, our view was disappointing by comparison. We chose not to make an issue as we fully understand that all rooms can't have front views, but have heard a number of disappointed guests talking about this. A solution should be simply to have 3 classifications full - side- standard, priced accordingly. Guests can then make their decisions in advance and avoid disapointment.
Overall though, and excellent hotel all round and good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to establish front sea view in advance if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilc323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was our second and hopefully not our last visit to the Uyal. Booked and travelled with Jet2 Holidays. No hitches what so ever. The hotel is ideally located across the road from the beach (parasol and 2 sun beds 12 euros per day - nothing to do with the hotel but for those who want to be on the beach every day the cost mounts up) An easy stroll into the port, town and pine walk. Taxi back only 5 euros 50 cents if you don't fancy the walk back.
On both visits we have had a junior suite. Comfortable spacious rooms with beautiful views across the bay. Although on the main promenade road, traffic noise is not an issue. Choices of food from the buffets at breakfast and dinner are good. Not sure where the complaints arise in relation to the staff who we found this year and last year to be really friendly and helpful. Maybe a polite and friendly hello is all that is needed.

Room Tip: Make sure you check that the room has a baloney if this is an essential for you. A number of rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm12x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Well below UK 4 star rating...no waiter service at dinners..two sittings each evening at what proved to be a bun fight at a fixed buffet. Reception man rude and disinterested in our printed reservation clearly showing contract for twin bedded room. Access to manager denied . Breakfast staff totally focused on getting customers fed and table vacated. No smiles or pleasantries. Exception were bedroom maid staff who showed up other staff by their cheerfulness and willingness to please.
I would label his the " no smiles hotel"

Room Tip: Hotel did not honour our confirmed booking....down graded us without remorse .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ggggg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Customer, thank for taking the time to review our hotel on behalf of Hoposa Uyal. We are really upset for your impressions about the hotel. I must say that it was not the intention of the staff give you this image and we are carefully trying not to happen again. About the buffet and the two sittings, if you read our web site you can be aware that the meals are buffet service , also in the web of our travel agents informs you about the two sittings and buffet for evening meals and breakfast. I´m sorry that you expected waiter service. About the type of beds it is a request to choose , although we can´t guarantee, we always try our best.Your comments positives or not always help us to improve our service. Thank you very much indeed. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#6 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Uyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Property: Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Address: Paseo Londres s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Uyal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded to 4 stars, this emblematic Puerto Pollensa Hotel dates from 1954 and is a fine example of the typical architectural style to be found on the island of Majorca (Mallorca). It is formed by two buildings, both of which are beautifully decorated and in an outstanding location on the beachfront in the Bay of Pollensa. It is only 10 m from the extensive beach of fine sand located right in front of the hotel, and guests can also find a range of cultural, leisure and nature activities available just a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoposa Uyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyal Hotel Pollenca
Hotel Uyal
Hoposa Uyal Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing