We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel disappointing, resort great”
Review of Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Leics
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hotel disappointing, resort great”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have just come back from a week at the Uyal. We booked a junior suite with Thomas Cook. The transfer to PP took a very long time with many drop offs on the way (2 hours).

When we arrived we were greeted by a young lady at the reception desk. She started to book us in, then the telephone rang, she turned to answer the call – which went on for a very long time - when she finally returned to us, she spotted the couple waiting to register behind us, she then proceeded to squeal her delight (they were returning guests) and talk to them over our heads while she finished dealing with us. This was very rude and not a good start to the holiday.

The room as very nicely furnished with a king-size bed, a very spacious room, with a separate sitting area with a TV and settee and a large balcony overlooking the sea. The room was well-appointed with a fridge, hairdryer iron and board. However, the room was not very clean which really put me off. Superficially it looked OK, but the laminate flooring needed a good sweep, it was dusty on day 1 and even dustier by day 7. I found hairs in the bathroom in the wash hand basin. The floor in the bathroom had dried splash marks on the floor around the toilet. The balcony and bathroom were not swept or washed during out stay. Our room was made up quickly each morning while we had breakfast, but only the bed was made and towels changed, nothing else was touched. The sheets were not changed in the 7 days we were there.

The hotel location is excellent, a very pleasant 15-20 minute walk into the centre of PP. it is a traditional style Majorcan hotel in a quiet location. Some rooms are in the annexe to the hotel across a side road. I was very glad we were in the main building. The lovely beach is across the road from the hotel. There are sunbeds around a small pool which was not very busy, it was possible to get a sunbed at any time we wanted one, but we preferred to cross the road to the beach to be beside the sea. The beach has plenty of sun beds and shades - 2 beds and a shade is 12 euros a day. On reflection, I think the hotel is more suitable for elderly guests.

Food – the breakfasts were very good, an excellent choice and it was lovely to sit outside to eat breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine. The evening meal was not so good. There are 2 sittings for the buffet dinner at 6.45pm or 8.15pm. You have a table assigned to you for the duration of the holiday, and you have to decide at the beginning which sitting you want to eat at. There is absolutely no atmosphere in the dining room. The choice of food was adequate but not as good as we have had at many other 4 star hotels in Majorca. This hotel has 95% British guests, and I wonder if this is why the food is not so good. Generally hotels with a large percentage of German guests have excellent and extensive food choices. Often the fruit was tinned not fresh. We ate out a couple of nights in the town for a change.

Good points:
Location – quiet, with beach close by.
Pleasant walk into town
Good breakfasts
Resort lively with good restaurants
There was a safe in the room with no extra charge
A kettle, tea and coffee making provided in the room

Cons:
The rude receptionist
Food - Disappointing evening meal in 2 sittings
Cleanliness of the room and bathroom
Poor wifi

So, would I go again? Probably yes, as long as I booked a suite/bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Book a suite with sea view, we has 356 in the main hotel which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candb216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Customer, on behalf of Hoposa Uyal thank you to take your time to review our hotel. For the future customers we want to say that the bed linen it is changed every three nights of stay and the towels daily.Please tell the reception desk if that doesn´t happen , must be an error that easily can be amended during you stay. As well as the cleanliness, each room is supervised by the housekeeper before your arrival, please tell us as soon as possible if you find that the room cleanliness it is not of your entire satisfaction. Anyway we will take more care of this matter. Thanks again for your suggestions and comments and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    332
    86
    35
    10
See reviews for
242
706
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ROMFORD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

8 of us stayed ay the Uyal in Aug/Sep 2013 for a week.
CHECK IN.Arrived early and 3 of our 4 rooms were ready.Staff friendly,efficient & helpful.
ROOM. All of our rooms were on the ground floor of the annexe facing the sea.They were in excellent condition (especially the bathroom) with free safe,fridge, tv with 2 bbc channels. Cleaning was to a high standard.
FOOD Great choice at breakfast and good varied dinners with lots of options.
GENERAL AREAS. All well maintained and in good condition.Very large bar area and lots of other places to sit in.The entertainment we saw was good.
STAFF. ALL of the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly and played a major part in making this a a great holiday. Thanks to you all

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICKRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratoath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our 5th visit to the Hotel Uyal - that alone probably says it all. We love this hotel and the beach is literally across the road. The staff as always were so lovely and helpful and the buffet delicious. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyRatoath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

1st August 2013 for 18 nights.
It was our 5th time at the hotel and resort. We have a totally relaxing time with gracious staff who are willing to help and make the most of our holiday.WE had fab weather, met up with some lovely friends again. Our teenagers are happy so we are happy.
How we long for the cocktail on the beach watching the sun go down till next year...

Room Tip: sea view balcony rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I booked the Hotel Uyal for our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday as a special surprise July 2013. I booked a twin sea view and balcony room to make it extra special but on arrival at the Uyal i got a surprise that i did not pay for....I got a room with a view of 2 generators and air conditioning hoses which leaked above the bathroom window, which i could not close as the leaking pipes were in the way. No sea view, no balcony but the noise and sight of generators humming away continuously. The room was in the main part of the hotel. I diplomatically complained to the staff at the front desk who reported that they could not help me and that this was the room that i booked. Well excuse me but i cannot recall going into my travel agents and requesting such a room for such a special occasion! Especially at the money i spent on my holiday booking.... My wife was upset to say the least at the room.... On closer inspection the room was dirty, under the bed had not been cleaned, the shower room was dirty and the soap dish in the shower had visibly from 100 yards not been cleaned as it was thick with hardened blue soap. The window shutters on one window had come off the wall and were hanging on by a thread. The hotel reception had already taken my credit card details beforehand so off i went again to point out the flaws in the room before i was charged for such damage. I had taken photographs of everything wrong in the room and explained that this is what i had done to the staff and that i was to take up my complaint on my return back to the UK and to Trip Advisor. This obviously prompted action from the hotel who requested to inspect the room.... Again, diplomatically i pointed everything out to the member of the hotel staff who reported to me, and i quote, "some standard rooms good, some not so good" excellent answer! I booked for 7 nights and spent 3 of those complaining....Eventually after much ado we were moved to another room and it was much, much better....I was not bothered about the balcony or sea view so was placed in another standard room, but, it was great not to see or hear those awful roof generators and at last we could relax and enjoy the remaining days ahead of our hard earned holiday....Be careful when booking and ensure your paperwork states what you have booked otherwise you could be at the front desk for 3 days like i was! Waiters....Brilliant....Hotel...Beautiful....Meals...Fantastic...Chef....Lovely and helpful....beach...step over the road it is that close....We cannot fault anything else and i am not trying to do that as the hotel is such a beautiful place....It was just the room and the desk staff who did dismiss my complaint probably hoping i would give in....I didn't....I was polite yet made my disappointment obvious... To the Hotel management who i assume will respond to my negative, but justified review...The room that you allocated to me and my wife would be suitable for guests as a room to stay for late flights home when guests are required to vacate their normal booked rooms but need to wait for their transfers to the airport....This would be more appropriate in our opinion which i hope you will take into account....I have rated on Trip advisor our experience over those first 3 days.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherburnninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you to take the time reviewing the Hoposa Uyal. We are very sorry that your stay hasn´t been as good as we would like and we apologize for that. Maybe the view of this room it is not the best view we had (the room itself as a standart room it is spacious and bright with a big bathroom), but as you may know standard rooms have no view or view at the back of the hotel.For the future Customers I must say the pictures doesn´t show the view unless you hang on from the high window. Please see the pictures named standart room
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just come back from a 5 day stay at the Hotel Uyal. We had lovely weather, the hotel was great, the staff were very friendly, the food was very good and plenty of it. It was lovely and clean and the facilities were very good. The room was very comfortable and modern with a sea view. The resort is very nice as well. We all had a great time and would go back there again.

Room Tip: sea views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Situated just across the main road to the sandy beach, the Uyal is a 15 minutes stroll to the centre of Puerto Pollensa. This means its in a relatively quiet spot, and other than outside musical entertainment 3 times a week, it is very peaceful, and really aimed at older adults - nothing is provided for children apart from a small paddling pool.
It has obviously been recently refurbished - we stayed in the main part of the hotel and the rooms were modern and well appointed (minibar fridge, hairdryer, iron and board) and had large bathrooms with walk in showers. The rooms, like the rest of the hotel were kept immaculately clean.
We stayed on a half board basis, and I was rather sceptical as to what the food would be like, but was very pleasantly surprised. A great choice of hot and cold buffet at breakfast and dinner, well presented with some local mallorcan options too. My only minor criticism would be the occasional use of tinned vegetables or fruit, but most were fresh and varied.
What makes a stay in the Hoposa Uyal special though is its staff. I have never stayed somewhere where the all the members of staff - receptionists, housekeeping and waiters - are so friendly, knowledgable and helpful.
The hotel seemed full whilst we were there (first week in September after school term started) and quite a few guests seemed to be on repeat visits - therefore booking (and requests for sea view rooms) advised.

Well done Hoposa Uyal and thank you for a great stay. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Book early and request a sea view room. Take a book or two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,086 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
994 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#13 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Uyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Property: Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Address: Paseo Londres s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Uyal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded to 4 stars, this emblematic Puerto Pollensa Hotel dates from 1954 and is a fine example of the typical architectural style to be found on the island of Majorca (Mallorca). It is formed by two buildings, both of which are beautifully decorated and in an outstanding location on the beachfront in the Bay of Pollensa. It is only 10 m from the extensive beach of fine sand located right in front of the hotel, and guests can also find a range of cultural, leisure and nature activities available just a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hoposa Uyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyal Hotel Pollenca
Hotel Uyal
Hoposa Uyal Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing