We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband, mother and I have just returned from a week's holiday at the Hotel Uyal. We booked this through Travel Republic about 5 weeks before we went. I had been to Puerto Pollensa a few years ago and so had my mother so knew the area but not the hotel. I had read the reviews on trip advisor and was pleased with what we read. We booked half board and had read good reviews about the food. Our flight got us in fairly late and we did not get to the hotel until 11.00 p.m. We were greeted by a friendly night receptionist, unfortunately my Mother who is 76 was put in a single room in the main part of the hotel whereas my husband and I were put in the adjacent building in spite of requesting rooms near to each other. We did ask if this could be changed but being that it was late we would have to wait until the morning. He then asked if we wanted something to eat and as we were half board a meal was waiting for us of cold meats and salad. It was well received.

Our rooms were small but extremely clean and the bathrooms were amazing with a walk in shower which was powerful. We decided not to ask for a change of rooms as we all liked the rooms we had in the end and being in separate buildings was not so bad although I'm not sure why when you make a request like this it is seldom carried out.

There was a great choice of food at breakfast catering for everyone. The evening meal had an amazing choice of food with a great choice of starter main and dessert, you could eat as much as you liked.

There was a bar where you could get drinks and snacks from during the day if you wanted, although after such a huge breakfast you really did not want to eat at lunch. The staff were excellent, they were courteous and friendly and always helpful.

The pool was small but very clean and tidy. The lifeguard worked tirelessly keeping it that way. There was live entertainment most nights during our stay at either the Uyal or the sister hotel Pollensa which is almost next door. Unfortunately this was not so good. The hotel is about a slow 10 minute walk the shops and main centre and a 15 minute walk to the pine walk which is beautiful especially at night for the bars and restaurants.

We are definitely going back again to stay in this hotel. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliPAshVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your perfect and full review of Hoposa Uyal. All staff and myself are very glad to know you enjoyed your holidays with us , we are always working very hard to ensure all customers satisfaction . About requests you may make prior your visit, we allways take note and try to give customers what they asked for... but sometimes it is posible, sometime not. We are looking fordward seeing you next year. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
There are newer reviews for Hoposa Uyal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived earlier than expected and was allowed to check in early by the staff which was very welcome after an early start. The hotel is well kept and furnished and situated about 10/15 minutes from the main centre of the resort but the walk is very pleasant and plenty to see and do.

The room was on the top floor and came with balcony overlooking the beach (which is 10m across the road) which we were delighted with having read some reviews suggesting there's no guarantee you might get a balcony! The room was a good size and came with everything you needed - minibar, iron, hangers, TV, hairdryer, toiletries etc. Make a note to bring a bottle opener though as there's none supplied. Also a bonus is the WiFi is pretty good in the hotel but tends to go down every so often - however, it's of good speed and good signal strength.

The breakfast was fine with lots of choice - hot and cold and no fuss at all. We dined in the restaurant a few nights but found it lacking atmosphere. It's self-service and the food wasn't the best and a little lukewarm and there wasn't a huge amount of variety. However, we upgraded to halfboard for something ridiculous like 30 Euro so it was very good value for money.

Pool and bar area were very pleasant and a good size - didn't encounter the usual problem of every sunbed being occupied as plenty of places to sit (despite the usual rude reserving of sunbeds with towels by a minority). Bar was good for drinks and hot snacks during the day.

Plenty of parking all around the hotel so no worries there at all.

Staff were efficient and useful but perhaps just lacking that extra special attitude to always go a little bit further that you get at top hotels. That being said, we had no complaints.

Few people complained that the road is busy below but really, this is a resort on the seafront - it will always be busy and we didn't find it too noisy at all.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel with great rooms. It's a hotel dominated by an older crowd (we are in our mid 20s) and not really for younger families. However, don't be put off by the location - you do get a great pool and good room for a very good price. We enjoyed our time here and would return.

Room Tip: Seafront is a must and push for a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanmwalsh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We love sitting on the balcony in the evening with a few drinks and a book or a game of cards etc, it's part of our holiday. So like a previous review we were dismayed to be in a room with 2 small windows looking out onto a building with no option to change . Who wants to sit on the bed of an evening in a place like this?? We may as well have been in Manchester!! Also we could hear everything that was happening in next door's bathroom which included the hairdryer in the middle of the night, I had to resort to earplugs.
I'm sure this hotel is wonderful if you get one of the fabulous balconies - however, if you are in one of the very few rooms without then you may feel like you've paid an awful lot (£150 per night) for a very basic hotel experience.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel unless you are guaranteed a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jemc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Reviewer, thanks for taking the time to write the review. Good advice for future travelers to make sure what have they booked. If you book an standart room you might know that standart rooms have no balcony and no view , please check carefully what are you booking otherwise is not the Hotel fault. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your holidays considering the possibility to take a relaxed drink in the quiet terraces of the hotel with great views to the sea. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Beautiful hotel but on this stay we payed for a sea view room not a junior suite. I emailed the hotel direct twice to make sure i got a high floor room with a balcony. They said they would do what they could to help. When we arrived we were given room 315 which was a twin room with the beds pushed together and no balcony(just two smallish windows). We immediately asked to be changed but they said all the rooms had been allocated and we could'nt change. We offered to pay more to upgrade but they weren't interested. They knew how unhappy we were but did'nt do anything to help. The room also had a really low ceiling which made it claustrophobic and it wasn't that clean, dirty bathroom tiles, dust under the bed,marks on the walls. The other problem is although the food was good it was only luke warm. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a balcony room Just because you pay extra for a sea view room doesn't me...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Uyal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Reviewer, thanks for taking the time to write the review. Good advice for future travelers to make sure what have they booked. If you book an standart room you might know that standart rooms have no balcony and no view , please check carefully what are you booking otherwise is not the Hotel fault. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your holidays considering the possibility to take a relaxed drink in the quiet terraces of the hotel with great views to the sea. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Probably the best hotel on the island. We have been there six times and it just keeps getting better. The staff were brilliant and the service exceptional. Food was good but some evenings the main course was not quite warm enough but the soups were to die for. Can't wait to return.
Don and Ann B.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is lovely, staff are so helpful.Still holidaying here at the moment. Breakfast is really good but the dinners let the hotel down, the choice isn't great but main complaint is the food is either cold or lukewarm.Such a shame as the rest of the hotel including the rooms are really lovely.several guests we spoke to felt the same about the food, here till Sat 5 July so hope they read this review and do something about the main course at dinner, even if its just keep the main part, usually steak warm!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Marian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Brilliant hotel, excellent staff and all set in a beautiful location. 20 mins stroll to the port which was a easy walk. The food and service we could not fault, just across the road to the beach which we used every day all though the pool area was spotless we prefered the breeze on the beach full marks Hotel Uyal, my only little moan was that we did not think that the maid service in our room was up to scratch as the floors did not get swept every day and we did find that there was sand on the floors all week but apart from that it was all top marks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
697 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#12 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#7 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Uyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Uyal Hotel

Address: Paseo Londres s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £101 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Uyal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded to 4 stars, this emblematic Puerto Pollensa Hotel dates from 1954 and is a fine example of the typical architectural style to be found on the island of Majorca (Mallorca). It is formed by two buildings, both of which are beautifully decorated and in an outstanding location on the beachfront in the Bay of Pollensa. It is only 10 m from the extensive beach of fine sand located right in front of the hotel, and guests can also find a range of cultural, leisure and nature activities available just a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hoposa Uyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyal Hotel Pollenca
Hotel Uyal
Hoposa Uyal Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing