We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - could be excellent”
Review of Hoposa Daina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Daina. We found it to be a comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff. My wife visited this hotel in 1969 and although it has obviously been through many facelifts since then it still shows a few signs of it's age. For example the air conditioning broke down twice whilst we were there and experienced visitors said that this was a pretty regular occurrence. Most of the windows are modern, but there are still some of the old metal windows around. Our side sea-view room was large, comfortable and spotless, with all the amenities one could wish for ( tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, free safe, iron etc,etc, even bath robes) and had a wonderful view from the balcony. Generally the hotel is well decorated and clean (if a little dated in places) but small details mar the overall effect - for instance, in our bathroom the shower fitting, the bath grab rail and towel hooks were all loose. Despite that visitors say that the hotel has improved vastly over the last few years, and many have returned time and time again. You could not wish for a more convenient spot if you are wanting the centre of Porta Pollenca's seafront. Meals are buffet type but for a hotel of this sort the food is plentiful, of a very good quality and offers a wide selection for all tastes. The pool and it's surroundings are beautiful, but demand for shaded sunbeds far outstrips supply during good weather. With just a few tweaks to minor details and the vigilance to make sure standards never slip this hotel could be the best in the area. We would certainly return - just as many other satisfied customers have.

Room Tip: Our side sea-view room was very good. It had excellent sound proofing from out side noise ( IF YOU K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Went for 2 weeks to Port de Pollenca didn't stay here this time but went most evenings for a drink and to see the Flamenco guitarist on a Wednesday night.
The staff here are fantastic they even remembered what our order was for from 12 months ago. The place is clean and the drinks very well priced. The lunch time snacks are good value for money.
if we go back to this area again will definitely call in here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Th Daina has a wonderful location at the start of the Pine Walk and as we booked a full sea view the seascape was amazing. Our room was large and well fitted. The pool juts out into the sea and was the envy of many a passing tourist. Plenty of sun beds with shades and excellent pool bar which changes into The Lemon Bar in the evening. Many evenings spent here having delicious cocktails and great atmosphere. The Daina has a lovely outdoor cafe located at the front of the hotel serving coffee, lunches and drinks throughout the day and evening. Entertainers perform twice weekly in the hotel lounge and both were very good.
Breakfast was excellent, tasty fresh omelettes and huge choice of other breakfast fare. We booked half board hoping to swap evening meals for lunches, as we wanted to eat out in the evenings. To our surprise the Daina restaurant doesn't do lunch and although the Cafe does, we were not allowed to use this for half board meals. Regrettably we found the quality of the evening buffet meals to be very lacking - they appear to be aimed at long stay pensioners - we ate out the rest of the nights. Perhaps I should have remembered that if something is very cheap, then there has to be a catch!
Staff were all very pleasant and helpful, particularly in reception.
Overall we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Daina and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bionicmoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked the Hotel Daina for the fifth time, twice at the apartments and this was our third time at the hotel. we were very pleased to be back after the upgrade from three star to four star.we booked the top floor lateral sea view room and the views were wonderful.the staff are really helpful and friendly. this is the place to stay in Port de Pollenca due to the front position and the private pool that I love. we enjoyed the breakfast and evening meals, there is a wide range of food to suit everyone. The rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable,with lots of English channels on the satalite tv. This is a good position for local buses and good walks,bird watching in the spring and cycling to the Boquer valley and Calla St Vincante. I would say this is most suited for couples or solo who want to get out on their own, cycling, walking or sightseeing and sunbathing. I nearly forgot to mention the fabulous Pine walk this is a must after dinner. We will return here maybe next spring .

Room Tip: Top front or lateral sea view is good for the views. if you don't pay the supplement you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Lovely hotel, great staff - they couldn't do enough for you, especially the smily guy with dark hair on reception, he gave us some great tips especially about local restaurants - he was great. We stayed on a B and B basis and that was great, there was so much choice for breakfast and you could have your eggs cooked for you however you liked, I had an omelette most mornings. We had a lovely side sea view with balcony. The pool and pool bar are lovely and it is a great setting. The hair dryer in the bathroom is fine for even long thick hair so not worry about bringing your own. The mini bar is really handy as we stored our own water, a few snacks and after sun. The mini bar isn't expensive compared to the cost of drinks in the local bars. The beds are comfy.

Only points that could be improved are the bathroom is tiny and quite dated but it does the job and like the res of the room was cleaned daily. However, the toiletries are good and have no parabens in them which I thought was good.

Lastly, if you want a sun bed there will be a queue by 9am with mainly engle people who go in, reserve sun beds and then go off and have breakfast- very annoying despite the signs.

None the less we had a great holiday at the Daina and would recommend!

Room Tip: Room 408 side sea view room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Managed to get a room at the Daina for a last minute holiday, I've been to Pollensa before so knew it would be best to get hotel on the main pine walk. This is a good hotel with friendly staff and good sized rooms, I wouldn't go as far as to say it was excellent as it is showing it's age in places but we would definately stay here again. The benefits are, your on the front, it has it's own private pool area and a good restaurant, breakfast is excellent by the way. The only down side we could see was that it does have a slightly older clientelle and the eating/drinking areas are a bit uninviting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElginEastern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Returned to the Daina for the second time in 9 months. This has totally broken our holiday pattern as we have never before returned to the same holiday hotel. Indeed, I am soon going to make a return booking for next year. There is nothing I can fault the hotel on. Its location at the start of the Pine Walk is ideal, the unique salt water pool is terrific, the rooms are large, well fitted out and very clean, the restaurant offers a wide choice to suit all tastes, the entertainment is very select and the staff are always friendly and helpful. The only reservation I would have is that it is not really suited to young children or teenagers.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#6 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#7 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Daina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Daina Hotel

Address: Calle Atilio Boveri 2, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £80 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Daina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daina is the company's flagship establishment, and was the first hotel to be opened. It was built in 1963 and refurbished last year to become a four star hotel. The beautiful surrounding area can be fully enjoyed from any of its seven floors overlooking the bay. The incredible saltwater swimming pool with solarium opposite the hotel is set right into the sea and has been a landmark of Puerto de Pollensa since the 70s; this is one of the resort’s most spectacular sights, both during the day and at sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoposa Daina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daina Hotel Port De Pollenca
Hoposa Daina Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing