We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely 3 weeks at this lovely hotel!”
Review of Hoposa Daina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I recently returned from my annual 3 weeks at this lovely hotel. Had a single room with a view over the mountains and sea. All single rooms have no balcony, but this being my 11th year I knew that! Room extremely comfortable with all amenities and cleaned and fresh towels every day. Fridge was good for keeping my water in. Kettle and safety deposit box too. This year I used the hotel's pool towel service for the first time and changed my towel every day with no trouble.Food lovely as usual, half board. Love the breakfast and dinner. Staff were efficient and attentive. Shall miss Louis the head waiter as he is retiring at end of season. Plenty of sunbeds and Frank will always bring you an umbrella if you ask him. Pool bar service good as well. Already booked same 3 weeks for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank audreypjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Daina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities.
Thank you for the compliment about our staff. Providing a high level of hospitality is one of our key elements and it will be a pleasure to share your opinions with them.
We would be happy to welcome you again at Hoposa Hotel Daina
We are glad we were able to satisfy all your expectations regarding the room and especially our staff as that is our key element.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
The comments as well as the observations and feelings of our guests are of great importance to us, as we count on those in order to achieve the highest level of service possible. Thanks again, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for Hoposa Daina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The Daina is centrally located and has undergone a partial refurbishment in the rooms but not in the common areas which are very dated.

The rooms are clean but the brown bathroom suites are a desired taste. Beds are pretty uncomfortable but a lovely view if you get a sea facing balcony.

Breakfast is a step back in time and not very appetising at all.

The pool area is very nice but there are not enough sunbeds or umbrellas. I asked the manager about more umbrellas he told me they were coming needless to say they never arrived.

There is a bar in the pool area but now waiter service which is absolutely bonkers. They would make much more money and provide a much better service if they did.

The Daina is fine if you expect three star, would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gazborangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Daina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We also thank you for your comments, which will be very useful and will help us greatly to improve day by day.
we only can say, that the next day tan you make the complain, you have more umbrelas on the pool.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Perfect location, right on the beach and right in the centre of all the restaurants and bars. The pool is nice. Best thing is the view if u get any of the 6th floor balconies... Definitely request 6th floor!! Rooms are generally good, if nothing "special". However we had some problems - our shower wouldn't drain on day 1 (we told reception and they must have unblocked it), thee drain generally smelt (we noticed a plug in air freshener suddenly appeared) and the air conditioning unit was a bit rubbish and very loud (RM606) note that rooms hav been refurbved to differing standards. Eg we had a free standing shower, whilst others had baths with shower heads; our air con unit was not as good as others; our bathroom units were nicer than others.

Other notes - Towels were always fresh if we wanted, staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't use it, but there's an iron in the room and plenty of coat hangers. Oh and several uk tv chanels on the box too. Overall, perhaps a 3-4* hotel, but location and the view from the balcony were amazing!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Billyboy235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Daina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We are pleased to greet you and at the same time we would like to convey our gratitude for your preference in our Hoposa Hotel Daina and your contribution with your comments.

Thanks to reviews like yours we reiterate our ongoing commitment to improve. Thanks again, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Daina hotel for 8 nights on a bed and breakfast basis and could not fault one thing about this well run and friendly hotel. In fact since our last visit they have introduced a short order chef to cook omelettes with your choice of fillings. Very nice indeed.

Our sea view room was kept spotless with fresh towels every day. The bed comfort was excellent and I got the impression that the mattresses were quite new. The pool area and bar service was excellent and the bartenders certainly know how to make a good margarita.

We did have some snack meals at lunchtimes and these were filling and no more expensive than some of the restaurant's in the vicinity.

Added to this I misplaced my favourite ring and could not find it anywhere. On my return home I received a call from the Hotel stating that it had been found in the room we vacated and I am thrilled to say that I now have this back in my possession.

Will I return to the Daina ? Try and stop me ! Hoping to get another short break soon.

Room Tip: If you can opt for a sea view room or a side sea view one
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Daina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Hoposa Daina Guest, just to let you know how impressed we are about your extended review about our hotel. We thank you for taking your time and to choose the Hoposa Daina for your holidays.
It is very important for us when a Customer see how we work and try to be honest with his comments always having in mind the quality for money. The staff at Hotel Daina are working hard to ensure the good service to our guests and we are really proud of our work when we read a review like yours.
We hope to see you again in a near future. Thanks again, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just returned from our second stay at the Daina (see review 26/09/13). Allocated a standard room (211) due to booking late and room availability. The room was on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel overlooking the busy side street and buildings opposite. Wouldn't have been our 1st choice, but it was a good size room with plenty of storage space, fridge and F/S TV. The bathroom had twin sinks, still no bidet, but we remembered to pack the Andrex Washlets! Downside was the noisy plumbing from the rooms above and the bin men/street cleaners at 5:00am. Having previously had a fifth floor side sea view you could see/hear the difference. Both rooms got the sun in the afternoon, but as there was no shade we found it too hot to sit out so we only used the balconies to dry swimwear. Rooms at the front do benefit from natural shade in the afternoon and evening. During this last stay we did notice a difference in the sunbed culture, with a certain minority of people queuing from 8:30, when the pool area doesn't open until nine!. Aside from the disappointing room, the service/food was as good as we had experienced during our previous stay. All the staff are very professional and friendly. The good points still more than compensated for the problems with the room. We hope to be back for more and maybe splash out for a room on the front!

Room Tip: Room numbers ending 11 and 12 are at the back of the hotel. Depending on floor, might suffer from pl...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodpecker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Daina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We are grateful for your preference and for sharing your good comments.
Hoposa Daina Hotel seeks to provide experiences and services based on criteria of excellence. We will always be at your disposal and we hope to see you soon in this wonderful destination. Thanks again, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We love this hotel,and returned again with my wife's elderly patents for our early summer break.

We had a second floor full seaview room,well worth the extra cost just to be able to sit on the balcony and people watch.

The in laws had a side seaview room,that was actually a suite with a massive bathroom and separate sitting area - they loved the room.

They are kept spotlessly clean and if you want you can have the 'turn down' service at night.

For us,B&B is the best option as you can sample the plethora of restaurants in and around the pine walk.

Breakfast caters for all European tastes and to have read reviews moaning about it was odd as we could not fault it.

Yes,there is a coffee machine instead of it being served at the table- a big issue?...not for us.

To be able to take breakfast on the terrace is superb and this sets the hotel apart from competitors.

The pool is very large - note that it is saltwater! Plenty of sunbeds and fixed parasols are set within the newly tiled areas at the side of the pool.

There is the usual queue before the pool gates are opened at 9 am.

If you don't get your spot,don't panic as a Frank the pool handyman will sort you out an umbrella.

The pool area has a bar and you can order lunch and take it in the shaded area.

The pool bar becomes the Lemon a bar at night- the hotel has worked really hard to push this and it appears to be taking off as a night time venue.A live act is on every other day or so. the actual hotel has an act on as well on alternate days.

There is a high number of returnee guests which must say something about how right the hotel get things.

There is no doubt we will be further returnees over the years to come.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stevenc4874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Daina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities.
Thank you for the compliment about our staff. Providing a high level of hospitality is one of our key elements and it will be a pleasure to share your opinions with them.
We would be happy to welcome you again at Hoposa Hotel Daina
We are glad we were able to satisfy all your expectations regarding the room and especially our staff as that is our key element.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
The comments as well as the observations and feelings of our guests are of great importance to us, as we count on those in order to achieve the highest level of service possible. Thanks again, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just come back from a great stay at this hotel, we had a side sea view on the fifth floor, we enjoyed it so much we are planning to return next year! We hired a car for two days and had the immense pleasure to tour this beautiful island. Would definitely recommend hotel and resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Daina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

First of all, we thank you for your time taken on making these valuable comments wich are the best assistance in our daily improvement to get the highest standards in all the hotel areas.
It is an enormous pleasure to know the satisfaction of our customer, because this is our aim, give our customers an unforgettable experience, being satisfied and making them feel at home.
Our customers opinion is such a great assistance for us in our continuing effort of improvement.
Thanks and Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#6 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
726 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Daina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Daina Hotel

Address: Calle Atilio Boveri 2, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £95 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Daina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daina is the company's flagship establishment, and was the first hotel to be opened. It was built in 1963 and refurbished last year to become a four star hotel. The beautiful surrounding area can be fully enjoyed from any of its seven floors overlooking the bay. The incredible saltwater swimming pool with solarium opposite the hotel is set right into the sea and has been a landmark of Puerto de Pollensa since the 70s; this is one of the resort’s most spectacular sights, both during the day and at sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hoposa Daina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daina Hotel Port De Pollenca
Hoposa Daina Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing