We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for 7-21st June”
Review of Romantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romantic Hotel
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Didn't expect to be ill,suspect tuna sandwich which was apparently prepared behind the bar with no sign of gloves, tongs or hand gel,4 days wiped out with sickness and diarrhoea. From reading previous trip advisor reviews,I thought the management would like to be informed as I wasn't an isolated case. I put pen to paper and delivered a note to the managers office at the sister hotel Pollenca Park but no response!! On a positive note, nice clean,friendly, comfortable hotel in a good position, breakfast good, evening meal mostly ok. Good value for money if you are not ill.Tips buy hand gel none provided, take your own pillow or buy from Chinese shop round corner, hotels are rubbish. Would l stay again? probably not, just a response from the management may have made me feel differently, perhaps it's down to complacency or arrogance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinderella503933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabothotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Romantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your time sharing a comment with the community in tripadvisor . It is nice to learn you have a good impression about the H. Romantic and its staff. Regarding your incident, we are pleased to be informed. As we take this very seriously , we will send it to the Management Department and you will get contact by them.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again in any of our Hotels.
Best regards.
Cabot Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Romantic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Romantic. Although basic, the rooms and indeed the whole hotel is spotlessly clean. Beds were comfortable and the only thing the roomed lacked was a fridge to keep your water cold. We stayed half board but ate out each night though is is no reflection on the hotel, as breakfast was extremely good, we just enjoyed the experience of eating out at the local restaurants.
Unfortunately we were on the first floor at the side of the hotel (110) so had no view from the balcony except for some waste ground at the rear of the adjoining restaurant. The hotel only has 9 front facing sea view rooms so they are always in demand. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The only dissapointment was that we were woken each morning by a child running up and down he corridor screaming at full voice and was not controlled by his parents, and they were english, some people have no consideration for others.
I would recommend the Romantic for anyone looking for a basic hotel that is right on he beach and is close to all the amenities (10 mins walk)
The is a nice restaurant next door to the hotel called El An clear which serves good food at reasonable prices. Fourth towards the centre the is Sinbad where we ate twice and were highly impressed. We will visit Puerto Pollenca again and stay at the Romantic but would book a sea view room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sosmn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabothotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Romantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Guest
Thanks for sharing a comment regarding your stay in H.Romantic. We will inform to all the staff about your good review and we hope, as you say, to welcome you again very soon.
Regards.
Cabot Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just spent a week at the this hotel and were very pleased. We chose it based on the other reviews
and photos.The room was spotless the staff friendly and helpful. Lovely comfy bed and pillows, I don't think I've slept so well on holiday before. It is in a great location so close to the beach and just a nice walk to shops and restaurants. For a 2* the food was fine, at these prices you can't expect lots of choice. I thought I wouldn't miss the sun loungers round the pool, but I did, so I will book somewhere else next time, but if you want a quiet, clean hotel, with friendly staff, in a good position you will like the Romantic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabothotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Romantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your comment in tripadvisor about your stay in H.Romantic.. It is very nice for us to learn your stay met with your expectations. Regarding your mention about the pool, we understand you came to our H.Pollensa Park & Spa because there is not a pool in H.Romantic. We take this opportunity to inform that all the clients in H.Romantic are allowed to use the pool in H.Pollensa Park.
Best Regards and we look forward to see you again in any of our Hotels.
Cabot Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

just returned after a week at the romantic. basically you get what you pay for. we paid for seaview at front of hotel which for us personally was an essential (for people watching!)...great views over the sea and beach. a lot of the people stayin were older. at 48 i think i wasnt far of the youngest! however at least you get a good nights sleep. very clean, maids in nearly every day. good shower. we went b&b ... food nothing special but satisfactory. staff very friendly and helpful. if you want a quiet base for your porta pollensa stay then this is fine as just out of bay area where its a little livelier :)

Room Tip: DEFINATELY pay the extra for sea view!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caznkev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Well where do i start ? - This a very friendly hotel with good food and plenty of it, we originally booked for just bed and breakfast, but after trying an evening meal one night we decided to eat in most nights because a lot of meals outside of the hotel we expensive.
We paid 16 euros for a three course meal for the two of us , they were charging that for each person on the seafront.

I can hear a but coming and yes there has to be one or two, firstly the walls are paper thin you can hear a mouse fart at a 100 yards. We had a noisey neighbour who came back late every night, it was so bad that i knocked on the wall one night asking to get a nights sleep for a change this went on for nearly a week then they moved out ( thank god ). secondly the hotel toilets had broken locks on the ladies. Oh!! one more thing there is a long wait for toast in the morning due to only having one toaster.

But after all the gripeing its a lovelly area to stay in with the beach just across the road.

Room Tip: cant really give a tip for best rooms , we had top floor which was supposed to be quieter so we were...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in this Hotel in May 2013. It is a lovely little hotel set in an ideal location just a few meters away from the beach. It is well looked after by its professional staff. The members of staff at the reception were friendly and helpful, the bar staff kind and quick to serve, the cleaner kind and helpful. The hotel itself is small, basic, very clean and in a good state of repair. There is a nice area at the front of the hotel where you can relax with a book and a nice cup of tea. It is also within a good walking distance (about 20 minutes) of some excellent restaurants and the walk along the beach front is lovely and relaxing.

The only things that let this hotel down are the evening food and the thinness of the walls. The evening food was probably the worst I have ever eaten at a hotel. The breakfast itself was okay and there was a more than adequate range of food on offer. The evening food, however, tasted terrible; the rice tasted under cooked, the potato gratin tasteless, the ribs inedible, the soup watery and bland - just to name a few examples. It was extremely disappointing and we could not bring ourselves to eat in the restaurant after a few tries.

The thinness of the walls was a big issue, we could literally hear everything going on around us from every word of a couple arguing to another guests upset stomach! This ordinarily may not be an issue if you are out of the room for the majority of the day, however we were 'stuck' for several days inside our hotel room due to both of us experiencing severe stomach upsets ourselves during our stay.

Overall the plus points for this hotel is the location, the price,and the excellent staff. It is let down by poor evening meals. If you were looking for a no frills 'base' where you only need breakfast I think this would would be ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tel77C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at the Romantic May 2013. Our Tour operator Thomas Cook let us down,they changed the outbound flight so that we arrived after midnight instead of 6:00pm. The Hotel had left us a cold platter that we consumed at 12:45. Bad marks Thomas Cook good points to the Romantic hotel, but, our room 116 turned out to be a nightmare. 116 is on the 1st floor at the back of the hotel and over the kitchen,but it was also over some electrical device that never stopped 24/7. The noise started with a muted bang followed by an electrical hum that lasted 15 - 20 seconds the whole cycle repeated every minute or so. That first night and for 3 more nights after that we got no restful sleep. To make matterts worse the mattress was extremely hard and uncomfotable. We complained and were given another room 118 that prooved to be much quieter and the bed much better. Both rooms were clean and had an air conditioner that doubled as a heater, very good once you had found out how to work the (remote). But there was no TV and more importantly no hair drier. The view from our window was not inspiring since it overlooked next door's unkempt back yard. The balcony was just 3 feet wide but had two chairs and a small table.
The restaurant was on the ground floor at the bach of the hotel and was bright and clean and of the self service buffet style, the food was good if not a little limited in variety. Beakfast was continental or full English styleCoofee tea or juice was from dispensers.
The best part of this hotel has to be the staff or at least most of them.They were friendly and helpful. This hotel seemed to cater for, though not exclusively, the older guest and had a very relaxed atmosphere. If you need more fun don't despair because your can use the facilities of the much bigger Pollensa Park sister hotel 5 mins walk away.
The location of this hotel is about 20 mins leisurely walk from the town centre but is only the width of the road from a lovely beach. 50yds away is a bus stop from where you can catch most buses (if you can find out when they run!).
Would we stay here again - sadly no - which is a shame because with a few minor improvements this hotel could be much better. It is after all a 2 star hotel and as we say a No Frills establishment.

Room Tip: Aviod the 1st floor definitley 116. Top floors are best 301 - 326. Front 9 rooms on floors 1,2,and 3...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Pollentia Hotel
Hoposa Pollentia Hotel
#17 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eolo
Hotel Eolo
#25 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#6 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#12 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel

Address: Paseo Londres s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £67 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Romantic Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy hotel Adults only located at the seafront of the beach in Puerto Pollensa. Recently renovated in a mediterranean style with a big terrace with Restaurant and Chill Out area to enjoy time overlooking the sea. It has 78 fully-equipped rooms, most with sea view and complete services to make your stay on the island an unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Romantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantic Hotel Pollenca
Romantic Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing