We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If only!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just spent 10 days half-board at the Hoposa Villa Concha, Port de Pollenca, Majorca, courtesy of a Jet2 holiday package. This is an apartment hotel. First impressions were somewhat daunting. Road works were going on at the front of the hotel as well as major refurbishments at the front of the hotel itself, something which we had disappointingly not been made aware of previously. Even worse, our room on the second floor directly overlooked the works, so by day, we had to contend with the noise as well as it being unsightly. Pity we had not paid extra for a room that overlooked the pools at the rear, which did look so much more appealing. As for our room, it was a mixture of good and bad. The equipment level for the apartment side of things was very good and the bed was comfortable, but the room was basic with no bedside tables and very limited wardrobe space. It did have a (free) safety deposit box; albeit it had been left in the locked position by the previous guests and it took us 2 visits to reception before this was resolved. The room décor could best be described as average. The worst feature of all was that the rooms were only cleaned, beds made and litter bins emptied 3 times a week. This is simply not good enough for any hotel establishment, let alone one portrayed as a 3 star. Also, we had just 2 tiny tablets of soap between us. Not surprisingly, these ran out after about 4 days. I expected these to be replaced the next time the cleaner visited our room but this did not happen. When I reported to reception that we had run out of soap, much to my surprise, I was told that they only provide soap and toiletries at the commencement of stay and guests are expected to provide their own thereafter. In fairness to them, following my approach, they did supply us with 2 more soaps, but in our experience, it is unparalled for a hotel not to automatically provide enough soap for the entire stay. The most redeeming feature of Villa Concha was its restaurant where all the catering staff was extremely friendly and apart from the desserts which could have been better, were varied, tasty and well cooked. All in all, the Hotel did have some good points, but could and should have been so much better.

Room Tip: Opt for a room at the rear overlooking the kids pools etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear John C,

thanks a lot for your review. We always appreciate it when our guests tell us their opinion. We also thank you for your interest in our hotel. The bit of constructions we had are almost over. Our brand new facilities like a new spa, gym and the 25m heated pool are are for our guests to make their stay even better than before.
Our establishment is an Aparthotel. We offer apartments with all the amenities of a three star hotel. If our guests need anything else our staff is always there for them to help them and make their stay unforgettable.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    322
    115
    32
    13
See reviews for
548
229
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently (May 2014) went to these appartments, based on the good reviews of other travellers, with 2 adults and our 2 daughters (4 and 8 year) and the presence of a mini disco. This is our fifth stay at Mallorca, so we have some reference (3 of them are Viva resorts).

Upon arrival we were not very pleased with the exterior. Heaps of rubbish on the pavement and construction workers (al for the new sports facilities) blocking the path for our suitcases.

The old man at the desk did not greet us and we were asked if we made a reservation. When asked if he had arranged the quiet rooms we asked (telephone and emails upfront) , he looked at me as if I was insane. He gave us no information at all, just our keys (talking about customer satisfaction).

The resort is petite. It has 3, swimming pools and the only playground facilites were a small swing and a small slide (wow). The big slide in the children's swimming pool was "chained" and every time our eldest daughter wanted to slide from this, she had to ask personal to unchain and supervise. There was no children's disco in the week we stayed and I think there were a handful of other children in the age range of our children. Other residents mostly were cyclists and families with very small children or babies.

Other cons:
- There was a poor variety in food and I was not impressed with the quality.
- construction men left open a door open on the ground floor, opening to the new Sports Swimming pool. Two feet behind this door was a hole in the ground (1 meter in diameter) that was more than 15 feet deep. I was very scared as I was looking for our 4 year old daughter . I reported this at the maindesk and they fixed this, but this was totally unacceptable.

Pros
The way to the beach is a short walk. Not the most exciting part though.
The safe in our room very easy to handle
The lady at the frontdesk was very helpful.For instance in printing the boarding cards for the return flight.

All in all I can say we were disappointed with the facilities. Maybe we are spoiled with the size, the facilities and variation of food in previous resorts we stayed in, but decide yourself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HerbertB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear HerbertB,

thank you very much for your review and your shown interest in our establishment. We always appreciate it when guests tell us their opinion. We have 119 apartments and are not one of the big crowded hotels of Mallorca. We are looking for an animation team, that very soon will be with us and will take care of the kids during the day and we will have our mini disco at night. The small constructions we had are all done. The new swimming pool, the shops, the spa and the bicycle garage are ready.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Just had 3wks there and once again we all had a great stay. I must say a big thank you to Bernard and also to the other reception staff wbo help you in the any way they can, also to David the cheff great job keep it up! The bar staff first class and let's not the ladies that makes the beds and clean the rooms marvellous all in all a great place to stay:-)But a big thank you f again to Bernard a manger in the making and must be a good asset to the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Have just returned on 20th from two week break at Villa Concha ( a.k.a Sportshotel now) following refurbishments and new pool for the cyclists and Ironmen etc. Being in our mid sixties we decided to give these facilities a miss in case we showed the youngsters up in our Lycra. The facilities do look good but I wished the cyclists would not keep stomping about with their cycling cleats on, (some of them look good in Lycra though!).
We gather that the rooms are going to be decorated during next close season, this is needed in order to maintain the high standards. Some of the electrics are getting beyond their best, such as lights and sockets, no doubt these will be replaced. For the second year my wife was concerned about the socket in the kitchen which because of it's position meant that any appliance lead had to be draped across the heating element rings, a warning is posted on the wall but spoils the kitchen. perhaps this will be rectified for next year renewing the hot plates at the same time.
None of the above spoilt our stay in any way and was as good as our stay last September except the temperature and general weather was not so good.
We will definitely return again but a bit later in the year next time.

Room Tip: Not next to us as we both snore loudly!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millerdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just back from a week in this hotel,stayed with my friend and her 4 year old. Hotel lovely, apartments spotless and have everything you need, loads of wardrobe space, safety deposit box. there are 3 pools for kids, one deep pool and then a 25 mtr heated pool ( 4 euro for an hour or 7 for the day ) for all those active people. Very quiet hotel, 3 stories high so is a nice size not too big. 5 mins max walk to lovely beach. We didnt eat in the hotel as there is a kitchen in apartment and we ate out each night. Would recommend this hotel for sure. plenty of beds around the pool and well spaced out. There is no computers for internet access, think its cause everyone has smart phones at this stage. Didnt think much of the customer service at reception, could be more friendly and helpful. But i would stay here again, great location and great set up and lovely place and very clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Rooms filthy;we got moved from the first one.The second one room 017 was as bad.We were very tired so we stayed.We thought we would have dinner with being tired what a shock couldn't make out what was meat or fish.It was the worst buffet I have ever seen in a hotel.Out side the hotel looks lovely.Staff nice,but the cleaning and food need sorting.Would never go to that hotel again.The area is lovely.

Room Tip: We would advise another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennyphil1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Jennyphil2012,

thanks for your review and your interest in our establishment. We always appreciate it when our guests inform us about their experiences in our hotel.
Our staff takes care of the apartments every third day. We are an Aparthotel, so we offer apartments and also the amenities of a hotel. The buffet we serve is full of variations and our guests like our food.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed 6/5/14 to 20/5/14 a lot of changes are under way at Villa Concha. If you like cycling and are sporty then this will be the place for you, when all is completed.
We have to give the new beds 10/10 superb comfort. Housekeeping & cleaning 10/10.
While there our friends Alan & Irene celebrated a 50th wedding anniversary a surprise was organised by Allana with beautiful flowers, chocolates, champers 10/10 enjoyable afternoon for all their friends, thanks to Allana, Juan & David.
New dining room 10/10. Buffet breakfast 10/10 plenty of choices, hot & cold.
No lounge area 5/10 a few sofas & uncomfortable chairs in an area which gets chilly in the early season evenings.
We will be back in May 2015.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the pools and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#6 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha

Property: Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Address: Calle Nansa s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gastronomy and catering are also another reason to choose our hotel: a tasty, and varied hot and cold buffet with show cooking (new 2013) awaits you at breakfast and dinner. And if you like, at noon you will find a large and attractive gastronomy ... all served by a team of the most professional and always with a bright smile. Buffet breakfast from 07.30 hours to 10.00, snack from 08.00 to 23.30 and buffet dinner from 18.30 to 21.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoposa Villa Concha Aparments Hotel Port De Pollenca
Concha Hotel Pollenca
Villa Concha Majorca
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing