We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for young children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We went with our boys 3 and 5 yrs old,This hotel is lovely small safe and great for children. The pools are amazing, better than the pictures show and Spotlessly clean around pool. The hotel is few minutes to beautiful beach and 15 minutes to bars and restaurants. The rooms were again spotless and tidy. I have read on other reviews that rooms were being refurbished, but our room was the older style and was great. Upon arrival at 2am!! We were allocated a room which had a bedroom upstairs, although this would be fine for older children with our 3yr old they were too dangerous for him to go up and down and so the morning after I requested a room on one level. The reception reported that half the rooms were like this but were very helpful and happy to offer another room. This room was great.
The negatives- the hotel had nearly no entertainment or kids club:( but could be an advantage if you have babies or young children as hotel was peaceful and quiet by 9.30. The breakfast was great but food in the evening was odd, nothing went together and wasn't much for kids comparison to other places I've stayed. The staff were outstanding at all times. Would highly recommend this hotel and definitely return again. Really would love to had some good evening entertainment so that we didn't have to go out every night.

Room Tip: Ask for no stairs if have toddling children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us this review. We do appreciate it a lot to read about the opinions of our guests. We are glad, that you have enjoyed your stay at our establishment. Our kids entertainment has started and our evening shows as well. We count with kids entertainment during the day and mini disco for the evenings and about four shows per week. We hope to welcome you back soon at the Villaconcha.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week at the VC. I actually used to work as a holiday rep there many years ago & remembered it with happy memories.
The location of the hotel is fantastic. It's just a short stroll from the beautiful clean sandy beach which gently shelves into the sea so is safe for children to splash about. If you go out of the back gate & turn right then first left, on your right there is a children's play park which is shaded by trees. There is also a decent size supermarket on the main road in front of the hotel.
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk into the centre of town past plenty of shops & restaurants.
There is a large harbour area where you can take a boat trip round the coast to Formentor & Cala San Vincent. As we were B&B we ate out every night. We never had a bad meal!
The breakfast at the VC was plentiful...fruit, yogurts, full English, omelettes, toast & croissants & selection of cereals, cheeses & meats. There are also 3 coffee machines so you get a decent cappuccino. There is a shaded area outside so you can eat al fresco.
As has been mentioned...there are only 4 high chairs which is ludicrous! These were broken too :( with straps missing so were not safe for my baby. We had to feed him in his pushchair. Come on VC management...your hotel is sold as a family hotel. 4 high chairs just doesn't cut it!

We had a 1 bedroomed apartment on the ground floor. It was bright & spacious but very, very old & tired looking. The tiles in the bathroom desperately needed replacing. Some were cracked & had been 'repaired' with what looked like chewing gum! The bathroom door had a huge hole in it & was swollen from years of water damage. The furniture was really dated. However, it was clean & had a pretty decent kitchen. The beds were comfy. It just needed some TLC & updating. I believe the Montelin Apts across the road who are owned by the same chain have been refurbed so fingers crossed the VC is next.
The pool area was large. The tiling has been redone....but this is one of the biggest problem areas we found. Although it looks lovely....large creamy tiles...they are so dangerous when they are wet & the whole area becomes like an ice rink. We saw lots of children slip & fall & when my feet were wet, I was terrified of falling whilst holding my baby. This definitely needs addressing as I forsee lots of injuries & possible compensation claims for accidents. Management need to take note....either get yourselves decent lawyers or put some plastic non slip matting along walk ways.
Also, there were only a few umbrellas & these were large parasol types with huge concrete bases that couldn't be moved. We counted 10 umbrellas round the whole pool!!!! That was it! There definitely needs to be more...at least one per 2 sun loungers....& of the type that you can move as the sun moves round so you can create shade for children.
There is a small kids splash pool, a larger pool & a sloping pool. Across the other side of the pool area is a shallow sloping pool with slides for children. This was next to a small play park with a sanded area, swings & a slide. There are grassy areas that people moved their sunbeds to.
We went out every night so can't comment on the lunch/evening meals or entertainment.
When I was a rep there used to be kids clubs & we did see signs for this so it looks like some children's entertainers have been employed.
I feel a bit mean only giving 3 stars as a rating but do feel that money needs to spent on a few simpler things & I would then up my rating as the VC has so much potential. The staff are hard working & loyal & clearly very proud of it. Come on VC management. Sort it out!

Room Tip: If you want a pool view then it's probably best to request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonnBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear guest,

we from the Hoposa hotels team would like to thank you for the time you took on reviewing our establishment Villaconcha and all the good things you have mentioned.
We always appreciate it a lot, when our guests tell us about their experiences and their opinion about our establishments.
Every year we try our best to improve our hotels in the best way possible to make our guests more content.
For that reason we have modified the pool area and the floor tiles which are anti-slip considering the Spanish law for pool constructions and have build new installations like a spa and gym area.
We now have more high chairs, that there will not be any more inconveniences with the availabilty. Our lovely kids entertainer takes very good care of the children.
We really hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are a family with two kids, aged 9 & 7. We stayed at Villa Concha for the third year in a row during spring half-term. We love the location, the pools, the cleanliness of the rooms/outdoor areas. The food is also of a good standard with something for kids and adults alike.

We were, however, disappointed that there were no children's entertainers this year. In previous years they have turned a good holiday into a truly memorable one for the kids. The entertainers are not about someone to palm your kids off on , rather they provided a focus for all the children playing around the pool, by organising group activities like shuffleboard, colouring, swimming races, etc. This gets kids, even the shier ones, interacting with each other, forming friends and gangs and these the carry on playing with each other once the entertainers go off on a break. The entertainers also ran and lead the dancing at the mini-disco. In their absence, my children and thier friends took in upon themselves to run the mini-disco this year. The entertainers also ran simple family games - quiz, bingo, etc - in the bar afterwards. Nobody stayed around the bar this year, which must have been bad for business.

We are seriously considering not returning to Villa Conche next year. Are the management able to give us some reassurance that this mistakes of this year won't be repeated, and childrens entertainers will be in place for holidays in May?

I also note that your prices for next year seem to have risen considerably. We paid E127.50 per night this year. Your website is qouting prices at E179.40, reduced to E156.97, per night. What is the reason behind this price rise? and for how long is the reduced price valid?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for the time you took on reviewing our establishment Villaconcha. We do appreciate it, when our guests tell us their opinion and thoughts about their stay in one of our establishments.
We do understand your concerns, but we would like to inform you, that at this time we have an entertainer in the Villaconcha organizing mini disco, water games, kids games and more.
Of course we also will have children entertainers the next year starting in may.
In the Villaconcha we have a lot of new installations like a new gym, spa and new heated 25m pool.
Also, we are proud to inform our guests about a new sportshop, a biomechanical center and a modern bicycle garage.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just come back from a fabulous week in Majorca. This hotel was great. We have an 7 1/2 month old baby and this hotel fit the bill perfectly - however would happily recommend it for couples or families. It was spotlessly clean and had such happy and helpful staff.

We had a one bedroom apartment - room 258. There was lots of space and plenty of draws and wardrobe space. The kitchen was basic ish but was all you needed. Microwave and small hob and kettle. 2 sinks in the bathroom. Very clean. really comfy beds. We had a balcony looking over the pool which was lovely for a bit of people watching. Other reviews commented about the noise from the bar - you could hear the music but it didn't stop out baby getting to sleep and was very quiet by 10 at night - however if young children are light sleepers I guess asking to be away from bar area might be better.

Food

The food was a buffet style help yourself set up. There was plenty of choice and it was different every night. It was really fresh. Breakfast - fruit, yogurt, cereal, cooked breakfast, meat, bread, pastries. Dinner - pasta, meat, fish, salads, bread, pizza, vegetables. They were all restocked regularly. Some of the food could have been slightly hotter but it's always the case with buffet style food. Yes it wasn't like being served a meal in a restaurant, and I'm sure some 5 star hotels do it better - but it was good food, that was varied and fresh and good for what you can expect from this style of hotel. Good range of foods too. And the staff were fabulous - very helpful and smiley and great with kids.

Location

The location was ideal. You are 5 mins walk to the beach and on to the coast road. 15 mins walk to the centre along the front of the beach. It's really quiet but nice and central.

We were really pleased with our choice. Handy for shops/ beach/ pine walk, very clean, great staff and would happily go back. Only two slight downsides - pool was a bit cold - which when it's really hot is probably ok but was bit cool for just relaxing in or for babies and secondly only 4 high chairs which meant there wasn't always one free. Neither of these are a real issue at all and wouldn't put us off going back by any means

Jemima was a real hit with our little girl!

Room Tip: We liked 258 - end of corridor so no one really walking by but was over bar area - which we liked fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tara37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Tara,

thank you very much for your nice review. We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we really would be happy to welcome you back in our establishment soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Upon booking this hotel with Thomas Cook they asked what type of room we would like I requested a quiet room. To try and ensure this I also e mailed the hotel to request the same only to find when I received my room key we were directly above the toddler pool. I then realised that the hotel management have no idea with regard to what their customers really want so rather than demean myself to asking a third time we put up with the constant noise from the said pool. Surely they would realise that a couple would be better put in the quieter part of the hotel. The hotel itself is quite basic and could do with a restyle. We were self catering so cannot comment on the food. The entertainment was again basic. The cleaners were amazing and worked so hard.i will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sangria56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guest,

from Hoposa Hotels team would like to thank you for the time you took on reviewing our establishment Villaconcha, we are sorry you did not find what you were looking for,. Puerto Pollensa is a great place for families and couples, just 60km from Palma airport you do can find a variety of entertainments that suits with families, couples, sport tourism etc. Hoposa Villaconcha is a family and sport complex located just 50 m from the main beach of Puerto Pollensa. The Hoposa Hotels have different establishment in the area to suit all taste. At our web page hoposa.es you can find our suggestion of Hoposa Hotel depending on what you are looking for.

We hope to be able to welcome you in any Hoposa hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just returned from a ten night stay at Villa Concha and am astonished at the bad recent reviews I've read. We travelled with our two sons aged 6 and 1 and they had a fabulous time, as we did too. The staff were very friendly and were helpful in every request we had. Cannot believe how hard the waiting staff work...they never seemed to stop!!
I can understand the complaints about the lack of kids club when it is clearly advertised as having one, but this did not affect us as we're not really fans of palming the kids off in clubs anyway as we go on holiday to spend time together. Our eldest would rather play with us anyway, as well as making friends on his own and all the kids all seemed to play well together anyway!!
We stayed half board and really enjoyed the food (a bit too much probably!!) Our only complaint would be the lack of high chairs as four is definitely not enough for the size of the hotel. Also the bins in the rooms should be emptied more frequently as the dirty nappies were really getting smelly.
Our room (102) was on the first floor overlooking the main pools and with a slight sea view and would highly recommend as it was lovely sitting on the balcony in the evening and not too close to the bar area.
Am wondering if some of the bad reviews are also due to the weather not being great mid May as this was the case for the first couple of days during our stay....thank goodness the TVs had CBeebies channel!!
We would definitely stay at this hotel again as it was pretty perfect for young kids. The beach is only 3 mins walk away with the softest golden sand and shallow waters - really safe for little ones. Highly recommend getting a room overlooking the main pools which most do but the ones on the other side don't have great views.
Thanks to all the staff and we hope to see you all again.

Room Tip: Upper floors overlooking main pools and away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPOSAHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Jenny M,

thank you very much for this nice review and the interest you are showing in our establishment. We do appreciate it a lot when our guests tell us their opinion and the experiences they make.
It is nice to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with you family in our hotel and we really would like to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Have recently returned from a week long stay at the V.C. Having read some of the most recent reviews I can understand the negative points raised. Travelling with our 3 yr old + 15 month old daughters the lack of kids club and nightly entertainment did not impact upon our stay but could well imagine for those travelling with older kids might have been an issue.

On the plus side we found the 2 bedroom ground floor apartment adequate for our needs, practical and what we expected. Breakfast was pretty decent, although the hotel could probably do with a few more highchairs for infants as we along with other parents had to make do with our pushchairs when the dining room was full.

Hotel is well located within what seems a quiet residential area approx 10 mins walk along the promenade to the marina area in the centre. Pool areas are good particularly the kids pool with slides where our eldest daughter spent quite a bit of her holiday with other children of a similar age.

The hotel certainly has room for improvement but we did not feel that our break was spoilt in any way by our decision to stay here, and it would be an option should we return assuming that families remain a key target for them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bazzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.8 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,037 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,175 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol Resort & SPA
Aparthotel Club del Sol Resort &...
#16 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#6 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hobby Club Apartments
Hobby Club Apartments
#17 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha

Address: Calle Nansa s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#7 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £60 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gastronomy and catering are also another reason to choose our hotel: a tasty, and varied hot and cold buffet with show cooking (new 2013) awaits you at breakfast and dinner. And if you like, at noon you will find a large and attractive gastronomy ... all served by a team of the most professional and always with a bright smile. Buffet breakfast from 07.30 hours to 10.00, snack from 08.00 to 23.30 and buffet dinner from 18.30 to 21.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoposa Villa Concha Aparments Hotel Port De Pollenca
Concha Hotel Pollenca
Villa Concha Majorca
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing