We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but a great place to be.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hobby Club Apartments
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic but a great place to be.”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here in August 2011, with our children aged 8 and 5. We had a top floor apartment at the front with beautiful views out to sea. We did however also have the road below us, which didn't bother us but if you are sensitive to noise from the odd car or motorbike, request a back room.
The children had the twin bedroom and we slept on the sofa bed. It was very uncomfortable. We also didn't really have enough room to put clothes away so had to put them on the back of chairs.
The 20 minute walk into the busy area of puerto pollensa is lovely. There are a few bars and restaurants a couple of minutes away and a spar next door. Euroski supermarket in the main part of town was much cheaper and had more stock.
The children loved the pool, the pool table and they made lots of friends. It was easy to let them play whilst sunbathing as it is a nice small complex.
Don't choose here if you want entertainment or busy bars on the doorstep. Teenagers would probably be bored!
If you want a cheap holiday, peace and quiet and to be straight onto the beach (across the road), Its perfect.
Tips: Watch out for jelly fish in the sea, not loads of them but my daughter managed to get stung once. The restaurants can be a bit expensive so be prepared for that.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyroo090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    129
    37
    3
    4
See reviews for
114
103
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swinton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Good value basic accommodation. Very clean and a nice quiet location, about 15 minutes walk to the centre which is fine. Beach over the road and a Spar next door which is very handy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the apartments in Sept 2011.

The positives. The apartments were clean, spacious and good value for money. Although basic, they had everything we needed including kitchenware. The maids cleaned the apartments everyday except Sundays and Wednesdays. The pool area was also clean and we always managed to get a nice poolside spot. The biggest postive of this place was its location. The apartments were right opposite the beach and a nice leisurely 20 minutes walk to the town centre.

The negatives. Lack of double bed, and the maids often did not change our towels after cleaning our room. The bathroom was also a little dark.

Overall, basic but great value for money, with a great location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Min3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at these apartments for 10 days at the end of August and enjoyed our stay. We had an apartment overlooking the beach next to the main road, with amazing views from our balcony right across the bay. The apartment had plenty of space for a couple and could easily have accommodated 1-2 children. Everything you needed for self catering was included in the kitchen, with plenty of plates, cups, cutlery and a kettle, pots and pans. Although a little dated was good value for the price we paid. The maids came in daily to clean, but we did feel they could have spent a little longer cleaning, although adequate. We were told by reception that the management had cut down the maids from 6 to 3 women and so obviously time is now the essence for them to try and get around the whole complex.

I strongly disagree with another review about the customer service at reception. We dealt with both the receptionists, particularly when we had a problem with our transfer, which was sorted in a very efficient and friendly manner.

On the whole a good complex at a reasonable price with an excellent location - will return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leila87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We booked the Hobby Club apartments for a Thursday to Sunday 10 night stay at the end of August as it was difficult to find a private rental apartment in Puerto Pollensa that is not a Saturday to Saturday rental in high season.

Although we booked a 1 bedroomed apartment with a pool view, we had requested a quiet apartment with a sea view and were allocated an apartment overlooking the main road and beach which was perfect for us, but like many sea front hotels/apartments in Puerto Pollensa meant that there was a good view but no sun on the balcony in the afternoon. The main road had some traffic during the day, but was quiet at night and did not inconvenience us. In fact, the balcony gave a good view of life up and down the promenade!

The apartment was adequate for 2 adults and 2 children as there was a separate bedroom with single beds (that could be pushed together) and a sofa bed in the main living area. There was air conditioning in the living area but not in the bedroom, but it was OK if you left the bedroom door open enough to let the air circulate.

The furniture and bathroom were a bit dated, but the apartment appeared to have been recently re-decorated and the apartment itself, the sheets and towels were very clean. There was cleaning 5 days per week (not Wednesday or Sunday) and sheets/towels were changed on request.

There was plenty of crockery and cutlery (some seemed to be quite new) and although we only used the kitchen area for breakfasts and making sandwiches for lunches/picnics, there was also a kettle, toaster, microwave and a selection of pans. The fridge was old but worked OK. Although there was a drainer for crockery, it would be useful to take a dish cloth and tea towel as they did not provide any.

The only complaint about the actual apartment was the EUR24.50 fee to use the safe, but this is a problem with many hotels/apartments in Spain. However, then consider the amount of valuables that you take away these days like mobile phones, ipods etc as well as the usual things like passports, driving licenses, travel documents and money.

We used the pool once on the first day, but noticed that it was not very clean. It appeared to be cleaned in the mornings (but possibly not at weekends) and by the end of the day there was a lot of debris in it. Also they could have been better at emptying the rubbish bins around the pool as they soon filled up and then started overflowing for the rest of the day. The sunbeds also looked worn and dirty.

The first week we were there it was busy around the pool with most sun beds taken (or even worse, reserved with towels), but the last few days were not too bad. However, this was not a problem for us as we used the beach which was just across the road. There are other complaints on Tripadvisor about the EUR11 daily charge for a couple of sunbeds and an umbrella on the beach (which has nothing to do with the apartments and there was a sign about half day and weekly prices which are cheaper), but we bought a sun umbrella for EUR12 and a few beach mats as there was plenty of space on the beach and the sea was warm.

The apartments are situated out of the centre of Puerto Pollensa, but it’s only a 20 minute stroll along the sea front and there are many restaurants in the centre with a few on the way in as well.

We hired a car and although there is no car park, there is plenty of street parking outside the apartments. The car was also useful for shopping as the local Spar convenience stores have a limited choice and a mark up (for convenience!) but there is an Eroski supermarket on the main road into Puerto Pollensa (with an underground car park) but it’s a bit too far to walk with shopping! There is also an other Eroski supermarket on the main street in Puerto Pollensa (with no car park) which is about 20 minutes walk away.

To sum things up, the actual apartments were basic, clean and a good value base in a great location, but more could be done to improve the pool area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank WWW's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We have just returned from these apartments and were extremely disappointed with them! We did have a wonderful holiday as Puerto Pollensa is a fabulous place. The food was wonderful, beach was heaven and weather was perfect.

However, these apartments are not up to scratch. At best they were ok as a base for going to the beach and exploring Puerto Pollensa and the island but we did not even go into the pool, sit on sun loungers or drink in the bar.

These apartments may have been nice two years ago but are now very tired looking, the sun loungers were disgusting, old and worn, the pool was dirty and murky and the apartments were dirty. Essentially the place could be perfect if a bit more care and attention was shown to it. The front fence was rusty and I dont think the pool area had seen a cleaner in months. But the worst thing was the customer service or lack of it. The people working there didnt even look at you let alone say good morning. Just plain rude! Everything was too much trouble for them and they were all miserable and sullen.

There was also a serious fire near the hotel and the receptionist didnt warn anyone in the hotel and none of the mess (burn leaves and ash) was cleaned up so the place was left filthy. The pool was cleaned 2 days later but there was ash in the pool up until that point! The fire was put out 50ft from our back door and we were extremley worried so much that we pack our hand luggage and took our passsports and left the hotel, warning people as we went. It took helicopter and sea fire planes to put it out.

We will definitely be returning to PP but not to these apartments and we certainly would not take our children there!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We ended up here as our reserved apartments (Las Velas) were double booked. I would never book anything with the Cabot Hotels group as their customer service is very poor. We had paid for a 2 bed and were given a 1 bed. It happened to another family too. We had booked through Asda and they booked through Travel Republic. Am in the proces of getting a refund but have not been offered near the difference yet!

The apartments were clean and some had a sea view. They were on the sea front which was great for the beach. But there was no locked gate so it meant that there were often non-residents using the pool and once late at night a group of teenagers were chased out by the manager.

There were a lot of apartments for one pool so it was very crowded. We saw towels on loungers at 6am (we have young kids so up early). We went down at 9am one day and some loungers had towels on and the people had still not appeared at 2pm when we left. Several families went for the beach for hours and still reserved the loungers by the pool.

We had a 12 hour power cut in our block and had to put all our food in the bar fridge and had no ac overnight and no breakfast either. They werent very helpful or apologetic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea, not just a view The rear block had very noisy overnight lorries
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTDJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Galeon Suites
Aparthotel Galeon Suites
#22 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoposa Pollentia Hotel
Hoposa Pollentia Hotel
#18 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia de Pollensa Aparthotel
Bahia de Pollensa Aparthotel
#20 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Romantic Hotel
Romantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#6 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobby Club Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobby Club Apartments

Property: Hobby Club Apartments
Address: Paseo Londres 74, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#17 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hobby Club Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-key category tourist apartments complex is located in front of the beach, in the quiet tourist area of Puerto Pollensa, a few minutes away from the marina and the commercial and leisure areas. There 54 apartments which could accommodate 4 people and the occupants can enjoy the following facilities: a large swimming pool with a children’s section and a children’s play area among others. Its location, services and facilities make it a perfect place to enjoy a family holiday at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hobby Club Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobby Club Apartments Hotel Port De Pollenca
Hobby Hotel Apartments
Hobby Hotel Pollenca
Hobby Club Apartments Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing