We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paella”
Review of Can Pescador

Can Pescador
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant Can Pescador in Port of Pollensa, is an emblematic establishment located by the sea shore where you’ll be able to enjoy a wide variety of fresh fish and the best meet all hand selected to guarantee quality and customer satisfaction. Without a doubt, a place where you can sure enjoy an unbeatable offer in an ideal setting by the sea.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paella”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had been before a few years ago , had a really nice simple meal . The fish paella was as it said on the tin & tasted great, a table with the pan left on to help yourself to more . Spag bog & lasagne simple but tasty.
The service wasn't great drinks took a while to arrive ,pressing the button system seemed a waste of time . When the waiter did arrive he was polite & friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    100
    32
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

we loved this place. came back 3 times after walking past 20 odd other restaurants just because we didn't think they'd be better. The food was absolutely fantastic, and the staff even better! especially the waiter with the Salamander - go go go, do not miss this place!!!!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlie356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Avoid this restaurant : it is terrible.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

On a recent holiday to Puerto Pollensa my husband and I decided to eat at the Restaurant Can Pescador
We had walked passed this restaurant several times and it always seemed busy with nice looking tables.
Like most couples on holiday we were in no rush and were looking forward to a nice evening, however from the moment we approached the staff to ask about a table, we got the impression that the staff were so busy talking to each other that the customers were an inconvenience.
A very surly waiter showed us to a table which was in full sunshine, when we expressed a desire to eat in a shaded area he was very impatient with our request but eventually " allowed " us to sit at a table of our choice.
He explained what I can only describe as a " buzzer system ".
Press 1 button to order and another button for your bill.
When we asked for drinks whilst we were studying the menu, he stated that someone would be with us soon.
Ten minutes later we managed to secure 2 soft drinks and after 10 minutes we pressed the buzzer to order our food.
We waited over 20 minutes with no response.
We then pressed the buzzer for our bill and a member of staff appeared immediately.
We expressed our disappointment at the service, paid for our drinks and left.
Terrible attitude from all staff here : and in my opinion one of the worst customer services ever.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ross58Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plympton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“6 of us ate, mixed reviews all agree on poor service”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Six of us ate here last week for evening meal ages ranged from 60 to 5yrs old.
Seated quickly, nice setting, service slowish for drinks but there's nothing worse than being hassled for a decision before your bum is on the seat!

Child menu is simple, 5yr old son opted for the described 'breaded fish gougons' and got FIVE fish fingers with chips!! Bit disappointed that being surrounded by sea they couldn't come up with fresh fish!
But he ate them happily.

Other dishes served to our party & their thoughts.... spaghetti bol - okay; tuna & veg pizza - okay, half roast chicken - very nice.

My OH and I fancied trying the mixed paella and did not enjoy the experience.
They set up a small table at one end of our table, and the opposite end to where we were sitting. On its arrival in the traditional pan it's cooked in, the waiter went straight on out and served up two big plates to us splitting up the fish and meat between us. Handed our plates up the table via our other diners, and covered up the left overs leaving it at the other end of the table, walking off leaving us gob smacked!

OH is more a meat person and I wanted to experience the fish element more. So after a bit of swapping and exchanging between plates, instead of being allowed to help ourselves at our side from the pan, we 'dived' in!
Rice cloggy and thick, beans very very soggy. The meat was best described as foul not fowl. All gristle and bone hardly any meat to speak of on the pieces and some other non descript meat very chewy.
The fish was two crab claws, small and spindly when you finally got into the tiny claw the smallest amount of meat inside was stuck to the inside of the claw and you couldn't get it out! Four large prawns - okay and six mussels nothing special.

The most frustrating thing was having the main dish so far away from us and it took ages to attract the attention of a waiter to get it moved. They made such a song and dance about moving it, it was embarrassing and cold once it got to it us. I certainly would not recommend having this dish here, and looking at the experience as a whole I would not eat here again.

We noticed that this restaurant is part of the Dakota steak house chain. There are more independent restaurants in the area that would probably be a better visit.


Helpful?
2 Thank Bennie2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Waiting”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had to wait for ages for our food and when we did get our food not all of it came out at once and one meal came out after we had finished eating!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alilanc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Can Pescador also viewed

Port de Pollenca, Majorca
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
 
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
 

Been to Can Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing