We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite place in Pollenca!!”
Review of La Celtika - CLOSED

La Celtika
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$59
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to restaurant La Celtika. yann, the chef, will be happy to welcome you and make you enjoy with his cuisine. La Celtika is dedicated to bringing seasonal farm-inspired cuisine to your table. My philosophy is simple and real: always fresh, local, sustainable and organic whenever possible. I use modern techniques to combine French culinary tradition with multi-cultural influences. Everything from the sauces to the pastries are made in-house (except bread and ice-cream). To ensure quality and freshness, i propose a small and continuously changing menu guided by the best of what's available and in season. If you're looking for all-you-can-eat breadsticks or a menu 50 frozen items long, then La Celtika is not for you!
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Favourite place in Pollenca!!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Without doubt the most enjoyable food in Pollenca. This is run by a French guy and his Galician wife, he is the chef.
We ate here (outside) twice, and managed to try most of the menu, and definitely ALL of the seafood starters! The gratinated scallop and prawns were superb, as were the other seafood starters, wasn't a huge fan of the razor clams though, a bit tough, but thats just the way they are.
The buckwheat crepes are lovely, especially the bacon and roquefort one. As a sweet crepe the chef recommended I keep it simple and suggested calvados which was perfect, we also had the chocolate and salted caramel one, and whilst it was really nice, you lose the flavour of the crepe itself.
Don't miss this place if you are in Pollenca, so much better than the commercial places in the square!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    29
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyldesley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely meal spoiled by the bill!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had eaten at other restaurants in the same street and wanted to try this one. The food was lovely and the owner was also the waiter and chef. It was early October so I am guessing he would have had help in the high season. We had starters a main meal and a desert and it was lovely eating outdoors. However when the bill came we had been charged more for the starter than for the main meal. When we queried this we were informed that as our starter also came as a mains and we hadn't specified we wanted it for a starter, we had been given main sized portions. Now I know the proprieter was French but he spoke English perfectly well and as we ordered starters and mains together I would have thought this was obvious! It left a bad taste.!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank barbaradburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sileby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“best meal of our holiday”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

we stumbled across this little restaurant after looking unsuccessfully for somewhere that served scallops. (They did) Hidden away down a pedestrian side street, this little gem does not really shout or make any bold statements about what to expect.

We had starters and a main each and a bottle of majorcan red to wash it down with.

All of the food was excellent, tasty and, enjoyable. The meals were not what you would usually fit into the british model - lacked vegetables or pasta/rice with the mains but this did not detract from the meal, a selection of bread was served with the meal and took the usual accompaniments place.

The evening was rounded off by two complimentary home made liqueurs, the like of which I had not tasted before, amazing!!

The chef / waiter was friendly and polite and appreciated our custom, I would recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“REBOUND”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We went here on the rebound - our first choice being closed. Basically a glorified creperie and tapas bar with a few other dishes available. The owners are French and play the Gallic card strongly but it seems to work and appeared reasonably busy. Located down a rather unattractive side street which was a cut through to the Marina area. The food was very good but we thought poor value. A gratinated scallop tapas came in at 11 euros - for just two half scallops. The cheese board at 18 euros was over priced, small in quantity and horror of horrors some of the cheese was straight from the fridge! And in a French owned restaurant!! I cannot recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank speakout13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yann p, Propriétaire at La Celtika, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
I'm sorry to disagree with your point of view. It's better to come to "La Celtika" knowing what you are looking for and not as a rebound. Please allow me to tell you that the products we use are all fresh and first quality. So you eat fresh scallops with homemade sauce cooked with ingredients that all come from local producers. And it was very good as you say.
Regardind the cheese, the price is in the menu and half of them come from from the best homemade producer of cheese of Pollensa. The other half( French cheese) come from "Bordier", a french man whose cheese you will find in michelin restaurants( just look in internet). And i make come those cheese to those who know what quality is! And obviously cheese come from the fridge because sanitary rules in spain ( as the french or uk ones) are like that but if you prefer next time i'll take them out the oven just for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing French Spanish food”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We found this place up a backstreet and after a superb meal of cooked and uncooked seafood,chorizo in cider returned again a few nights later. The chef served us himself and discussed what was available from the daily catch and how he would cook it. We had a few glasses of the house red which was delicious. We were impressed when a waiter nipped off on his bike to get some fresh herbs. The second night we tried some pork in addition to the previous order and it was really tender and full of flavour. I would definitely recommend a visit however it is a small restaurant with a few tables outside. We obviously timed our visit just right as we saw others being turned away as it was full or many had reserved a table. We will return on our next holiday there for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroMLanark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Celtika also viewed

Port de Pollenca, Majorca
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
 
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
 
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing