We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing stay overlooking the Pinewalk”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sis Pins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sis Pins
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay overlooking the Pinewalk”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed some years ago in Puerto Pollensa and were looking forward to our return, this time to sample the delights of Sis Pins having been impressed by the reviews. We knew its location would be ideal, overlooking the Pinewalk and the sea and we were not disappointed.
.
We paid for a seaview room without a balcony but it had french doors which opened fully so we could draw our chairs up to the opening and watch the world go by beneath us. I would imagine the back rooms with balcony overlooking the road would be quite noisy. The room itself was not huge but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean, as was the whole hotel. There was a good size fridge and kettle with tea and coffee provided and we had a bottle of wine in our room on arrival which was a nice touch. The TV was very small but had reasonable satellite channels. There was free Wi Fi at reception. The bathroom was a good size with a few basic toiletries provided and towels could be changed every day if needed. We had no problems with supply of hot water.

There was a charge of 10euros each for a safe key, beach towel or hairdryer but this was returned on check out. It is a shame that there are no hairdriers fitted in the bathrooms.

A continental breakfast was included in the daily rate and this was fine but nothing special. The fresh orange juice was delicious, there were cereals, yoghurts, and fresh croissants and 2 other pastries available each day. Rolls with one type of cheese and one type of ham were available. The attentive staff brought tea or coffee to your table. It would have been nice to have had some more choice at breakfast, particularly hard boiled eggs, just to ring the changes. However, our impression is that with the opening of the Capuccino outlet within the hotel there is no real access to a kitchen to provide any hot food in the mornings. As commented before there is not a huge amount of room for breakfast, and you had to hunt for a table. By the end of the stay the staff were laying up more tables outside but the weather was a bit cool on occasions to eat out. There was very limited space available if you wanted a table actually indoors.

The staff were extremely helpful and polite and the reception staff spoke good English. There is no parking at the hotel but staff were able to give us directions to some free parking a few minutes walk away.

The hotel is situated within walking distance of many restaurants, cafes and bars to suit all tastes and prices. We had lunch at the Cappucino which forms part of the hotel and enjoyed sitting three feet away from the sea being waited upon! The food is more expensive than many other places but it was delicious and hot so you get what you pay fo,r and in a lovely setting as well.

We found Puerto Pollensa to still be a very pleasant place to stay particularly for older people or families with young children as the beach is lovely. With the motorway connecting Palma and the airport to the north of the island it only takes about one hour to get there. However we were overwhelmed by the number of cyclists who visit Majorca at this time of year. There were thousands of them and serious cyclists at that. We had some heart stopping moments in our car on hairpin bends in the mountains trying to overtake them! They stop for no man or car!

That aside we thoroughly enjoyed our five night stay at Sis Pins and would happily return to this very nice resort and hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank J0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    155
    50
    11
    4
See reviews for
77
409
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

First time visitor - stayed in cheapest double room at back of hotel. As we were out walking or sightseeing all day it was great to come back to a balcony that enjoyed the late afternoon / early evening sun, which it does with a view over the hills at the back and the street, which was fairly quiet, we slept well. Would definitely stay here again, service very good, quality of breakfast products was excellent. A really characterful old fashioned hotel, in Spanish style. plenty of places to get menu del dia varying between 10 to 15.95 Euros, Don Corleone a few doors up to the harbour very good.
Minor criticisms = breakfast buffet on too small a table which meant it got crowded there easily, but as I say minor and does not spoil enjoyment.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loveturkeyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Just back from a week at the Sis Pins. Very impressed with our room as we had a terrace with a view of the bay. Must say that the Cappiccino bar is very nice ... a tad pricey but very high quality food...... The hot chocolate (dark) is wonderful... if you have children I am sure they will enjoy .... The staff were very helpful, rooms done daily and the breakfast was of a high quality.....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSC_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Just returned from a short break here.
Having stayed here last Oct we decided to return again and take advantage of the discount offered and also an evening meal for 10 euros each!
When we arrived we were told that no evening meals could be provided due to the fact that the restaurant/bar area had been rented to an upmarket cafe chain.
This also means that breakfast has to be taken in a small lounge area or part of the terrace if the weather is good.
The hot buffet has also been done away with due to lack of a Kitchen.
Having said all this we had an enjoyable break and found several restaurants offering good deals for evening meals.
The hotel staff are all excellent and we will no doubt return in the future

Room Tip: Book a seaview room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Espujols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Having had our June trip to Puerto Pollensa put in jeopardy by the collapse of Globespan we had to suffer the pain of walking past the Sis Pins each day, looking very empty but at least open. A September booking was quickly re-arranged and what a joy it was to go back. Great staff, fabulous location and even better value for money than before. Unlike many other hotels, here you will find proper fridges in the rooms, an ice machine and much more. Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alathays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Great to see the Sis Pins up and running again, and just as good as ever. However, when I visited in July, half of the sunbed area (the section under the canopy) was set out throughout the day with tables and chairs to accomodate lunchtime/evening diners. This did not cause any serious problems at the time as the hotel was not operating at full capacity. But based on previous experience, if this was to continue when the hotel is full, it could prove difficult to accomodate all guests wishing to use the sunbed area, particularly those who liked to use the covered area to escape the intense heat at the height of the season. Does anyone know whether this part of the sunbed area continued to be set out for diners in this way later in the year, when the hotel was back to operating at full capacity, or whether it was just a tempoary measure.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We much enjoyed our stay in the largest room in the hotel (124) at discounted rates.

There was confusion over wifi; we were told it was free but actually it is €5 for 2 hours and only available in one corner of the lounge! I moaned and Geoff, one of the new owners, called immediately and was very responsive.

Great value, wonderful views, ambience of the 1950's that is very relaxing. Ghastly breakfast (cold turgid eggs, cold and old bacon, awful sausages, undrinkable coffee etc) except for bread and fruit but perhaps that's all you can you expect at these prices?

Bedding great except for cheap plastic mattress protectors. Towels (and dressing gowns!) good quality and soft. Cleanliness and friendliness superb.

Would definately recommend and will return.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank barry2441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSisPins, Owner at Sis Pins, responded to this review, 28 October 2010
I agree, our wonderful hotel needs a little updating, you must be the same age as me, going back to the 1950s. When we purchased the hotel on the 24th May 2010 and opened on the 12th June 2010 we didnt have one booking. The most inportant thing for me was to make sure that all the systems were working and everything was clean and ready to go. From the feedback we have had since the opening, i think that we have managed to do this.
Breakfast is as you know a buffet breakfast which i have to say that i dont like this type of serving. We have had a problem with the heating of the buffet table which is now ok, so i have to say sorry to for the problems that you had.
We have some reform work booked for the winter to improve some of the rooms, bar area and kitchen and i am very pleased to say that next year there will be no buffet breakfast, only freash food being served to your table.
Thank you for your comments, we do listen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
1,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#6 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sis Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sis Pins

Property: Sis Pins
Address: Paseo Anglada Camarassa 77, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sis Pins 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite the beach and near the centre of the resort, the Hotel Sis Pins is without doubt one of the most charming hotels in Puerto Pollensa. British owned, our team of friendly, professional staff will ensure that you receive a warm welcome and are well cared for during your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Sis Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sis Pins Hotel Port De Pollenca
Sis Pins Port De Pollenca
Sis Pins Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing