We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, shame about the cafe!”
Review of Sis Pins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sis Pins
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This review was written shortly after our stay in April, but I forgot to post onto the website. However, I have updated slightly and I think that the comments are still valid.

This is their second year under new management, and I think that the new owners are certainly aiming to improve it's image and profitability.

The good bits:-

Location is great, right on the pedestrian seafront promenade in Puerto Pollensa.
Excellent staff who are very good, friendly and attentive.
The rooms are clean and generally well maintained.

The draw backs:-

Our room was fairly small (but adequate), others may be bigger of course.

My main gripe was that too much of the hotel's frontage and beach terrace has been allocated to Cappaccinos.

This was not helped, as during our visit (Easter) a further area at the front was given over to the “Rapha” brand, which had a merchandising stand geared (pardon the pun) towards the numerous cyclists visiting over Easter. This meant a constant irritation of cyclists visiting the stand, using the hotel's toilets, etc. This was particularly annoying when on our final morning a noisy group of cyclists took over the hotel's breakfast tables on the sunny terrace.

It would be nice to see some priority and outside frontage available exclusively for the use of the hotel's own guests.

With the hotel having given over it's catering facilities to Cappuccinos, breakfast was restricted to a cold buffet and we thought that choice was was very limited. However, I note from subsequent reviews that they do now seem to be offering hot food as well, and this would certainly improve things. The waitresses were brilliant though!

Whilst my negatives may seem to outweigh the positives, we enjoyed our stay overall and I think that we will stay again. However, I do hope that the management can improve some of the shortcomings by re-negotiating their arrangements with Cappaccinos, if possible.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview room
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donnyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for Sis Pins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

I cannot fault the actual hote, but there was a slight niggly thing, We like to have a little drink before we go out each evening, just after showering etc etc. but as we did not have a balcony, there was nowhere to do this and it was too warm to sit in the room. Also when we come back to the hotel, it always nice to sit at the bar and chat to fellow guests. Unfortunately due to a new upmarket bar/restaurant ( Cappucino) adjacent to the hotel, no guests did this due to the expensive prices. We tried one night, but in this econominc climate, could not afford to do this on a regular basis. Everyone just went to their rooms!
I feel that there should be an area for the hotel guests only, to sit, if they want to in the evening and not have to order from Cappucino, like the covered area just outside the door or for Cappucino to give a discount to the hotel guests.

Room Tip: book early
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snoopy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We have just returned from our holiday to the Sis Pins, our second visit after 13 years! The reason for our 13 year gap was purely down to the fact that Globespan operating out of Scotland prevented us (East Midlanders) from doing so and we could not book direct. For the past 10 years we have stayed at the Miramar and whilst we were in the Port last September we noticed that the hotel was open again independently... so we booked as soon as we got home;we emailed and got a response within half an hour and with much excitement we were allocated a sea view & balcony room and had the flights booked - all with a discount too!
Having gone to the same hotel for 10 years, you do get used to having things done in a certain way and keep going because you like it and, therefore, it is easy to make comparisons when you change hotels. For us, it was the little extras provided by this lovely hotel that make the difference; the fridge in the room (included); safe (10 euros which you got back on departure); complimentary wine & water; a tv with decent channels; tea & coffee making facilities (a proper sized kettle too).
We were a little concerned when we learned that the kitchen had been leased to Cappucino Gran Cafe, and if we are really honest, a bit miffed that we had not been advised of this and how it would affect us. We really should not have bothered; it was so lovely to sit out on the terrace and have breakfast. The wonderful and hard working waitresses served us lovely sweet fresh orange juice and coffee and our choice of breakfast (continental, meat & cheese or British); there was yogurt available and cereals and dried fruit too. We did hear others grumbling a bit about breakfast (only natural yogurt available now) but we left our table replete and very well fed (perhaps some fresh fruit could be available?)
We did not want to like Cappucino (after all, its not what we are used to and it is change to our comfort Puerto Pollensa comfort zone!!) Well, we did like it.. thats not to say it was 100% good. We knew from our visits to the Cappucino in Andratx that it is not cheap and, as a previous poster said, there are plenty of other places in the resort to eat and drink anyway. For our part, we only ever stay B & B, the eating out is one of the most pleasurable parts of our holiday. Anyway, we decided that we would have a coffee and brandy one night, the place was hardly heaving and we still managed to be ignored for 10 minutes before anyone came to take our order. Yes, the (2) waiters were whizzing about clearing tables with great efficiency, looking very dapper, but still 10 minutes? Come on. Anyway, we may have waited 10 minutes, but we had lovely coffees and brandy and it only cost a few euros more than anywhere else along the front; I have to say we didn't wait very long on consequent visits, but we saw tables that did. The food and cocktails were another matter; but we had these elsewhere. Anyway, this review is about the hotel, not Cappucino, however, due to it being attached to the hotel we did notice that the waiters there were having to fend off queries etc., about the hotel and redirecting people to reception. This is an area that should be addressed so that the hotel's identity is clearly defined and kept separate.
The sunbathing terrace is a boon (if you like that sort of thing); we didn't use the Miramar one and although we did give the Sis Pins a go; it was a little too sardine tinny for us and we like a bit more shade but, again, like the rest of the hotel it was spotless with good beds and umbrellas and swept every day. We felt that the demarkation area between the sunbathing area and Cappucino would have looked better being screened with plants as the sun beds were only a couple of feet away from the cafe tables.
Our room was wonderful; on the second floor with a balcony. The view was to die for and we could just watch the world go by with a coffee, beer or glass of wine (very civilised). Our bedding was changed regularly (what is it about sliding into crisp, clean sheets?) and the room cleaned every day; the water was always hot and plentiful. I don't recall the room being carpeted on our last visit and whilst it does stop the screeching of beds & chairs being moved around and heels clacking; perhaps tiles are more practical.
For us, we loved our long awaited return to the Sis Pins; we've checked the flights for next year and we will be emailing to book our return.
As in life, things change and this includes Puerto Pollensa too - when we first discovered the resort, we liked its homely, typical Mallorcan feel, the locals lived in the streets one back from the front (we regularly walked past a house where the elderly couple played cards in their porch every evening; its no longer there). Who would have thought it would ever have a Burger King? or a Dakota? But, its about choice and PP has that in abundance. The locals are still there, it is us that are 30 years older and the elderly couple are probably long gone. We still love it and will keep returning.
As an aside; on the morning we left an elderly lady got into trouble swimming out in the bay (it was about 7.30am); there was lots of panic, but Cristina who was setting up the breakfast tables ran out into the sea and, with the assistance, of the sandcastle chap, swam out and helped the lady back to shore; all the staff helped calm the lady down and wrapped her in towels and gave her a drink and stayed with her until the police and ambulance came. It all happened very quickly and the lady was attended to by paramedics and seemingly was fine. Cristina was very modest about the part she played but we thought she was wonderful.
Finally, many thanks to all the staff for making our holiday one to remember. Roll on 2012!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chezntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Just returned from our first stay at Sis pins enjoyed it so much we've booked for next year. With reduced mobility it's central location meant I was able to get out and about more than on previous visits to puerta pollensa The new grand cappuccino is a great addition providing great service and food even when power cuts hit the whole port. The staff are all very obliging

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Hotel badly in need of renovation and redecoration particularly the bedrooms and bathrooms.
Lack of variety in breakfast choices.
Cappuccino Cafe now rent restaurant space and their prices for drinks are astronomical. E9.50 for a vodka tonic. This is the only place residents can buy drinks in Sis Pins and in sunbathing area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maygray-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We really liked our short stay in hotel Sis Pins. We had a wonderful room with seaview and a nice balcony where we could have our appetizers before dinner. Moreover this hotel is situated at a nice boulevard with nice shops and restaurants. We should like to come back very soon. They have a nice place at the seaside with free chairs for guests.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margreet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Having read a few reviews about this hotel before departure we had some concerns none of which were founded. The weather wasn't brilliant but the hotel was, staff very freindly and helpful,room with sea view and balcony was delightful. OK the attached cafe bar is over priced and limited menu but there are hundreds of others to choose from.Anyway after the cooked breakfast and toast plus cereals food not required till evening.Will certainly go again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 190748Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#11 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sis Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sis Pins

Address: Paseo Anglada Camarassa 77, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £70 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sis Pins 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite the beach and near the centre of the resort, the Hotel Sis Pins is without doubt one of the most charming hotels in Puerto Pollensa. British owned, our team of friendly, professional staff will ensure that you receive a warm welcome and are well cared for during your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sis Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sis Pins Hotel Port De Pollenca
Sis Pins Port De Pollenca
Sis Pins Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing