We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A full review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A full review”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Overall - a lovely hotel. Spotlessly clean. Very friendly staff, even the cleaners say Hola with a smile. Gardeners trimming, pool cleaners hoovering. It's all very well organised and smart.

It's about 30% middle class / 70% mainstream families. Mainly on the younger side but a few teenagers and older parents with older off-spring were there. But, if you don't like kids then don't go there!

Kids seem well catered for.

Pool though, although it has it's couple of shallow bits, the majority of the pool is very deep. Oddly and disproportionally! Not a problem once you get used to it.

Facilities are OK. Not much there. 2 pool tables with knackerd cues and tables damaged by kids who jump all over them because parents dare say anything to their little darlings.

Pool is the focal aspect for the majority of course but while it is a good idea for the hotel to lock up the sunbeds until 9am. It is both ridiculous and hilarious the sight of the pool surrounded by grumpy tired people sitting on and hogging the bases of umbrellas, anxiously waiting for the unlocking ceremony, pretending to be cool and not rush to grab as many as they can!

Entertainment. Varied. Very. Only because it ranges from the very good and decent standard to so bad that one night I thought I was having a surreal dream and would wake up from the nightmare any time soon. Fortunately the kids managed to sleep OK one particular night.

Rooms. Refurbed this year. No probs with air con. Worked well and kept the room comfortably chilled. Everything modern and clean. Bathrooms fab with Roca fittings. I do bathrooms so know they are decent.

Beds comfy enough but a tad hard and the pillows the usual hotel spaniels ears, so flat you need 2 or 3.

The good thing was that the walls were very solid so I never heard anyone next door.

Food. Wow. Loved it. I'm not too fussy what I eat but I'm fussy about quality and hygiene and they did an amazing job of making everything so fresh and smart. Never a dodgy belly. Quality was unlike the expected motorway service station, instead on a level I've had at some pretty top English hotels. Good if you like salads and pasta but they also have lots of meats and a special counter for the high cholesterol loving people where at breakfast time you can get a decent fry up with an almost English cuppa.

One evening I was a bit of a pig. Starting with fish, chicken, ribs, pasta, salad with muscles on the side. Cheese and biscuits afterwards, followed by 2 helpings of ice cream. A great buffet!

One moan is that while at breakfast there's a selection of drinks, they like to take an order (your money) for bar drinks but my kids like still water and they wanted to charge us 4.45 euros for the kid 'tap' water. I brought my own in the end. I'm not tight but don't like paying for still water.

You can grab sky sports on the big telly in exception (once the cricket bores) stop hogging it and the wifi is decent enough. One tip is that it's a pain to hook on. Once on, it's good. A tip is to log onto it early in the morning then you'll be fine. Otherwise you can find you can't get it all day.

Overall though, we loved this hotel and the local area is just lovely.

Thoroughly reccomended if you want a place that's picturesque, peaceful (no nightclubbing sorts) type of place where you can eat, drink and walk in a safe place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    366
    111
    25
    11
See reviews for
508
285
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
long eaton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

first visited 8 years ago returned this year and the rooms were to a high standard, food was good never went hungry. WIFI was ok bit hit and miss some days but seemed to pick it up better in the hotel room but hey you don't go on holiday to surf the net....! animacion team worked endlessly Ingrid did seem to get thrown in the pool a lot and Thomas yeah thank you for you rubbish ! all in all excellent hotel well recommended. last note Alberto the waiter STAR

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel has been refurbished this year and is now even nicer than the past two years we have visited. This is not a hotel for couples or those without children but for families it is perfect. It is less than 5minutes to the beach and Pine walk . The staff work very hard and although they could do with more of them are always happy to help . The rooms are spacious, the food good but could do with more choice for kids but the kids club and kids animation team are superb. All the families look out for each other's kids and you can see the kids wherever they go . Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pool view ground floor so kids can run in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne h H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just back from a 10 night stay at the Puerto Azul. As the other reviews state the rooms are very clean and have recently been modernised. We had a ground floor one bedroom apartment which comprised of a two bed sofa bed in the lounge area and two single beds in the bedroom. Our apartment was to the rear facing the mountains with a nice garden area. The linen and towels are changed every three days from arrival, however if you ask the chamber maid she will change for you. We had a problem with ants in the room so the maid left us a spray of insect repellent. The room has a safe which costs 2e per day plus a 3e deposit.

Observations (Not criticism)
1. The room only has a fridge there are no cups/plates/cutlery/glasses
2. The breakfast was fine with a nice selection however there was always a queue of 15-20 people for the cooked english selection unless you went when it first opened
3. There is a sign by the pool with various rules one saying "it is forbidden to reserve sunbeds"!
4. There is a 9am rush for sunbeds which is politely observed by everyone, however people still get up early to reserve the parasols!
5. The wifi is very poor and only works in reception

We had booked half board only because when we booked the half board option was 5e cheaper per head than just B&B, obviously to get us to eat at Hotel and spend extra on drinks, however we eat out every night therefore I cannot comment on the evening meal.

Did not see the evening entertainment. The staff are very friendly and helpful

Porto Pollensa is a great place there are plenty of restaurants, there is a nice square with a good atmosphere. The beach is fine and stretches quite a way. The hire of 2 sunbeds and parasol at along the beach is 12.50e per day. There is plenty of water sports and boat trips along the front

I would definitely return to Porto Pollensa and I would stay again at the Puerto Azul however I would say this hotel is best suited for families only.

Room Tip: Request a rear room as pool side can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ofusEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have been home from our holiday at the Peurto Azul for just over 2 weeks. This was the perfect family holiday in a fantastic hotel. Having a choice of many family hotels I am glad that we chose this one! The hotel is spotless, the rooms are recently refurbished and we had a great location in B block, ground floor, room 102 facing the mountains. The staff are excellent, the grounds are maintained to a high standard and the rooms are cleaned daily. We thought the food was great and our children (5 & 6) ate very well. A special thank you to the entertainment team - you made our children's holiday. This is the first time that they've want to go and stay in a kids club - so thank you very much to the very talented Emma, Thomas, Ingrid and Gary, you all work very hard and are lots of fun! You can't beat the location of this hotel, it is just perfect! The bar, reception, restaurant and kitchen staff are also fantastic, they work very hard and are very professional and friendly. I really don't have any negative comments for you. So, book it and enjoy it as much as we did. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor in Block B facing the mountains (Room 102). It was great with 2 chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jomaremilywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a relaxing family holiday, with great entertainment, really good food, clean pools and no Chavs, the Azul is perfect, we are here now, food great, staff really polite, rooms all refurbished and cleaned every day.

Look at my other reviews, I don't accept poor standards, I have had recent nightmare holidays, thankfully here at the Azul we are having a fantastic holiday, if you are looking for a great value holiday in a stunning, and relaxing resort, the Azul is a perfect pick!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jammers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from two weeks in the sun at this fantastic hotel.
The rooms were excellent and cleaned every day - apparently the hotel has just been refurbished and are a good standard with excellent a good size balcony.
Staff are really friendly and are fantastic with children (mine are eight and four) and the pool area has to be one of the best in Pollenca.
The buffet breakfast/ evening meal was very good - there was always a wide varied selection and theme nights at the evening meal. We did eat out sometimes but that was simply due to wanting to sample the delights of Pollenca rather than the quality of the hotel fayre.
Drinks prices are reasonable (3eu for a beer/ 12 eu for house wine/ 5 eu for a large gin and tonic) and the entertainment is brilliant. The team of four work really really hard and whilst the kids loved their mini- disco, done of their other acts (queen tribute night/ grease etc) were hilarious and really well put together.
It's our first stay at the puerto azul but we met lots of people on their 3 rd/ 4 th or even 5th holidays there. If you have kids, this hotel is easy, it's fun and it's a great location for the pine walk etc.
Overall - a fantastic holiday - everything both us and the kids wanted - we'll definitely be back to this fantastic hotel and beautiful resort.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank baz171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,084 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#24 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
629 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Azul Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Azul Suite Hotel

Property: Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Address: Calle Pere Melia 4, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Puerto Azul Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Puerto Azul Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Puerto Azul Aparthotel Hotel Port De Pollenca
Valentin Puerto Azul Aparthotel Pollenca
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing