We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very overated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
milton keynes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a very overated hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I read reviews about this hotel and it sounded perect. I was very disappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the hotel was dingy in the reception area and the hotel looked grey and dismal. The bar staff are rude and dont like the brits as i understand alot of spanish i over heard a conversation ref the english letting the kids run riot.The reps were the worst i have come accross and i go to alot of thomson hotels. The pool area was a joke we were packed in like sardines and they do not have enough sun beds. Dont believe thomson you will not like it there. Alot of people there agreed and we will NEVER go there again. Shame on you thomson your standards are , no they have dropped.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiltonKeynesCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    367
    112
    25
    11
See reviews for
508
287
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

After a fairly hectic year, we decided on a last minute break to Majorca - this was recommended by the travel agent. Peurto Pollensa is a beautiful location with a fabulous marina, lots of lovely bars and restaurants and some decent shopping.

The hotel was ideal for us (our children are 4 and 3) - the pool was subdivided into three to make a paddling pool, a slightly deeper children's pool and a "proper" pool. The rooms had obvoiusly once been apartment rooms but were no longer which was a shame as the fridge did not work even though it was there! The rooms are in need of some TLC but are adequate if like us, you do not want to spend the day in the room! Our room was at the back of the hotel so it was very quiet and there was a garden area for the children to play in.

The food was excellent. The only criticism was that they stopped serving food at 9 pm so if you went out for the day, you had to make other arrangements to eat, but it was a good excuse to try one of the many restaurants in the area.

The hotel was ideally located close to the town centre and the beach, being just five minutes walk from the start of the pine walk.

The entertainment was ok. I think the reps were trying to cater for all ages with the kiddies disco and my two were too young to appreciate some of it.

Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agent005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We just spent 2 weeks at the Puerto Azul and had a great holiday, although we didn't spend much time at the hotel.

Puerto Pollensa is a fantastic resort for families. It has long sandy beaches with shallow and clear waters, and was great for us with our 2 year old. We can't express how much we liked Pollensa, it is a very nice part of Majorca. You can get the bus to lots of places nearby for only €1.25 and we would recommend visiting Alcudia and Pollensa town which are both just a 10 minute bus ride away. There is so much to see and do around this part of the island.

So on to the Puerto Azul then. Its in a great location, just minutes from the beach and nice square in the resort centre - this is its best asset. We did consider staying at another apart hotel further along pine walk but its much too far out. The hotel room is basic but its very clean with maid service every day. The room has a small kitchen area with a fridge, although you must pay to use it. The kitchen area has no utensils or crockery unless you rent them, to be honest we weren't sure what was the point of having a kitchen area if its not readily useable. The room itself we can't fault.

The swimming pools are nice but to be honest we didn't spend too much time around the pools because we were put off by having to get up at 7am to bag a space around the pools. At the end of each day the staff in the hotel stack all the sunbeds up and lock chains around them so you can't get them. So what happens each morning is crazy - people get up early to put chairs with their towels over them to reserve their sunbed space. Then at 9am when the sunbeds are unlocked its a frenzy of activity swapping the chairs for sunbeds. Its a little pathetic to watch all these english people running about so early in the morning to get a sunbed, we didn't realise english people could be so german!

So on to the restaurant - the staff are great, always happy and freindly. The restaurant is a buffet and the food quality is good, but its too geared up for english people - chips with everything. We ate in the restaurant in the evening maybe 4 times as it was easy, but recommend trying some of the restaurants down by the beach or in the square as there is lots to choose from.

We didn't realise the hotel was a Thomson family club hotel, and because of this there is entertainment all day long. The entertainment team work very hard but sometimes its too in your face. Both Rachel and Harry like the sound of their own voices on the microphone so it does get a bit grating after a while.
What was dissapointing was the evening entertainment. The mini disco should just be that, a disco, but they don't play enough songs as Rachel or Harry constantly interrupt it with more chatter - just let the kids dance, its what they want!
After the kids entertainment in the evening is the adults entertainment, there is lots of variety but its not very good and a bit tacky. It also goes on til 11pm and its far too loud.

In summary the hotel is in a great location and is very clean, but a little tacky with all the entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hols4three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastSussex14
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Pollensa is lovely,nice and relaxed very laid back,lovely beach.
Hotel very clean,could not fault the food and rooms very clean. However,during the day the pool area is packed you can hardly move as the sun beds are crammed in. Rachel the "entertainer" has the microphone permanently stuck to her mouth and likes the sound of her own voice, which after a while does get a bit much,even got on the kids nerves! and as for the "Thomson the Dog" song and dance routine!!!!
The evening entertainment was good at times,but went on a bit too long for kids,sometimes up to 10.30 in the evening (we have kids)
Would not go back to this hotel, not published in the Portland brochure that it was so "holiday camp" style or we would not have booked to stay there.
Staff very pleasant. Weather great.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastSussex14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Arrived late at night to a very warm welcome from the hotel staff,room was very clean,and it was a bonus to have a fridge-15 euros for a week reasonable enough considering its a half board hotel.Pool area was also spotless,pool water turned some of our swimwear a yellow/greeny tinge think there was a lot of chlorine in the water!?Food was really nice,not sure about roast potaoes for breakfast however dinners were great.Local spar shops were very pricey but if you take a short walk towards the beach,near the square there is an Eroski supermarket really cheap for drinks,pastrys water everthing really.Nightly entertainment was poor,maybe as it was the start of the season? Thomson reps were good fun though,waterpolo and games around the pool in the day.
I would def go back to this hotel again,best suited for children under 10,really nice hotel and staff,excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boots1Bedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic 10 nights at the Puerto Azul. We already knew pollensa well and have stayed at the oro playa next door.Last time we had a look at this hotel and decided on the spot to book up! We were not disappointed!!

We have a 12 month old and a 3 year old - and holidays are quite hard work at this age!!! This hotel does everything possible to make it enjoyable. Most of the other reviews mention the details - but tfor us the following made a big difference:

Rooms - are like one bed apartments with fridge, big balcony, table and c\hairs and loads of wardrobe space and ,lovely modern big bathroom. We fitted two buggies in too. Make sure you take your own plates etc though!
Pool - Actually 3 pools and great for adults and little ones!
Playground - Lovely for our one year old and bigger kids. Plenty of ride ons to play on too.
Kids Club - Gave us some valuable peace and quiet for 2 hours in the morning and one night too!
Food - Exceeded expectation, loads of choice and great concept of kids buffet. Our fussy three year old ate loads and even tried two main courses on some nights!!
Restaurant - loads of high chairs and microwave in bar and restaurant to heat bottles and baby food!
Entertainment - kids ents were great.
Location - As others have said, a 2 mion walk to a fab beach - you couldn't want for anything else!

We are set to book for next year!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauradoughannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

we stayed here 1st-14th june there was 11 of us the oldest being 57 and the youngest being 3 5 adults and 5 kids.

quite a small hotel but perfectly laid out, the bar, restaurant, playground, games area, stage, reception, kids clubs etc all around the pool area so the kids can go back and forth from the pool to the park or games area and are always in sight.

the hotel is the cleanest i have ever stayed in and the maids take such pride in their work and work so hard, the reception staff, waiters, and restaurant staff can not do enough for you, the waiters at the pool bar work from 10am until 1 am some nights and still manage to smile and joke with you, while your watching the evening entertainment u just put up your hand and they wait on you all night bringing your drinks to your table.

the rooms are compact but have everything you need with ample wardrobe space and a hairdryer , the beds are by far the most comfy i have ever experienced on holiday.
the room has absolutely no cutlery or crockery or kettle so i advise to take a picnic set or some paper plates and cups etc also a travel kettle if you like a cuppa in the morning.
you do have to hire the fridge and this is 17.50 euros for a week i didnt mind paying for the fridge as i got the air con for free which is a god send.

breakfast is a buffet of fried and scrmbled eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, tomatoes etc aswell as fried bread ,toast, yoghurts, croissants, fruit, donuts, tea coffee and fruit juice is also free at breakfast time.
dinner is buffet style and is a good selection including soups and salads for starters, bread rolls, etc, there is usually a main meat dish but has lots of other options such as bolognaise, lasagne, curry, etc, lots of different potatoe varieties too aswell as veggie options, dessert is to die for aswell.
the kids buffet has a variety of stuff like chips, pizza nuggets etc but of course the kids can eat from the adult section if they want salads and veg etc.
the food was always perfectly cooked.
you do have to pay for your drinks with dinner and a little tip is that the drinks at the bar are cheaper than in the restaurant so buy your drinks from the bar on your way in to the restaurant.

lunch can be brought from the pool bar and is always delicious usual stuff like toasties, burgers chips etc and really well priced.

entertainment is provided all day by rocking rachel and haribo from 11am until 11pm this is aqua splash at 11.30, then games throughout the day such as killer pool, giant jenga etc , water polo is 3pm and a daily quiz at 4pm, then the mini disco starts at 8.30pm for the kids and a family show at 9.30pm which consists of gameshows, singers, acrobats etc.

the kids club is brilliant and is 6 days a week with various groups at 10-12, 1-3, 4-6 and 3 days a week there is evening super parties from 7.30- 9.30 and on a friday there is movie night from 9pm-11pm so you will definetly get a break from the kids at some time.
this is for 3-12 yr olds. all the kids reps are brilliant but have to mention brill gill, electric emily and mr bump who are amazing.
there is defo a bit of a gap for teens but that is the same with all thomson family club hotels.

puerto pollensa is absolutely stunning, the beach is a 2 min walk from the hotel and so is the shops, bars and restaurants, the harbour is beautiful, the wednesday market is also 2 mins from the hotel.
The whole of the bay, harbour and hotel are surronded by beautiful mountains.
there is a market in old town alcudia on a sunday but sells the same stuff as the one near the hotel.
you can catch a bus to alcudia for 1.50 euros which is also beautiful and has an amazing beach and more to do for the kids than pollensa, there is also a brilliant water park in alcudia which is quite a cheap day out, 16.50 adults and 7.50 for kids get your tickets from reception as they are cheaper than getting them from thomson and reception do a book of all other excursions cheaper than thoson which thomson dont tell u about.
the bus also goes to can picafort.

thomson rep amy is brilliant and goes out of her way to help, diva daryl on the other hand makes a good diva but thats about it reall, sorry daryl.

if you want a sunbed you have to go down at 8.55 as they get unlocked at 9am and there is a bit of a scrum to get them, the only bad bit is they are stacked up overnight so if you are not a strapping lad it is a bit hard to lift them off a big pile of sunbeds by yourself.

there is quite a few supermarkets near the hotel, the british shop is great for water 1.05 for 5 litres where as its 4.89 in the spar.
the spar supermarkets are a total rip off do try and find the EROSKI supermarket in town only 5 min walk and it really is 75% cheaper than the other shops.

we went on a trip to marineland which is ok but takes no longer than an hr to get round it so take some towels and swim stuff as there is a beach there and a pool for the kids so you can chill out on the beach while you wait for pick up.

a few tips...
there is a swap box next to the kids club which is full of stuff like suncream, toys buckets and spades etc check this for free stuff for the kids before spending out on new stuff and there is 2 charity shops within a 2 min walk which has tons of inflatables like lilos, rings, boats etc which you can get for 1 or 2 euros rather than payin 15-20 euros in spar for an infaltable boat.
there is internet in reception and a wide screen t.v for footy, news etc but no t.v in the room.

THIS IS DEFINETLY A PLACE FOR FAMILIES AND PEOPLE WHO WANT SOME FUN NOT FOR ANYONE WHO IS LOOKING FOR A PEACEFUL HOLIDAY!
HAPPY HOLIDAY'S YOU WILL LOVE IT.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msclaireuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,086 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#23 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Azul Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Azul Suite Hotel

Property: Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Address: Calle Pere Melia 4, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Puerto Azul Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Puerto Azul Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Puerto Azul Aparthotel Hotel Port De Pollenca
Valentin Puerto Azul Aparthotel Pollenca
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing