We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
295
70
9
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
70
9
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mt etna wine cellar the owner etna rosso olive groves north side a wonderful stay cakes amazing views wine press food and wine take home first floor quiet location stayed one night hotel is beautiful wine making
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

This hotel is stunning - expect amazing 360 degree views of lush mountainous countryside, a quiet location, classical music, fine dining, superb wines, a candle lit terrace to watch Mt Etna smouldering, gorgeous sculptures, artwork and great service (thanks to the lovely Russell, or is it Rasul from Bangledesh?!? So friendly, helpful and informative, he really brought the place alive). We wish we could have taken a case of their wine and olive oil home with us. The room was lovely and spacious and traditional doors opening out onto a juliette balcony and wonderful views (again). If we're going to be really really picky, they could do with some kids meal options on the menu, but in many respects while we came with our kids (and it was fine, as other kids were there) this is an adult hotel. It would be amazing for weddings. We will be back, and almost certainly without the kids next time!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kipper74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Restored 1926 mansion with a secret at its heart, which is not immediately apparent as you slog up two flights of external stairs to reception (luggage carried for you, of course). The secret is that it is built around a very large preserved 19th century palmento (traditional winery) with an enormous wooden press and huge barrels. As a guest of the hotel you can ask for a tour; better still book a wine tasting (see below), with tour included. The hotel is surrounded by the family's own vineyards (mainly Nerello Mascalese and Nerello Cappuccio) and olive groves; their wines are made at neighbouring Tenuta delle Terre Nere. There are glorious views in all directions; the big terrace faces Etna, smoking away and still capped with snow when we visited in May, and in the other direction are the Nebrodi mountains.

Our room was fairly plain but the bed very comfortable and there were tea/coffee facilities (what joy!). Curious that (possibly for this room only) the slightly old-fashioned bathroom (shower, no tub) had grab handles etc. as though for the aid of a disabled person although access up the aforementioned steps would be a considerable obstacle and there is, presently, no lift, not even a service lift. I rather appreciated the fold-down seat in the shower, however.

Most of the public space of the hotel is given over to the restaurant and separate breakfast room, meaning there is no lounge area for guests, other than a few sofas and chairs in the rather cramped reception/ bar area. Though I imagine in warmer weather guests will want to be out on the terrace or down by the pool, rather than indoors. Too cold during our stay to try the pool, unfortunately.

Breakfast is fine - the usual sort of cold buffet - and the elegantly-appointed restaurant is quite good; leans more towards good home cooking than to fine dining, the prices are fair, the portions (for example, the selections of cheeses and cold meats to start) are huge. Meats all tender. Particularly enjoyed the pork meatballs (polpette) with citrus sauce, laced with a few raisins and pine nuts, served with potatoes. Just a little frustrated that the menu was slightly limited (three or four options per course) and did not vary during our three-night stay. Good wine list, mainly Etna wines, not only their own Etna rosso and rosato but selections from neighbouring wineries too; look out for Cottanera's Nume 2012, an Etna Cabernet Sauvignon/ Cabernet Franc, of all things, superb.

Don't miss the wine tasting. 18 euros per person for two wines or 25 euros for three, so we opted for three and were delighted to find that the 25 euro experience included a variety of freshly-prepared hot and cold snacks served to our table on the terrace, and the 'tastings' were actually huge glasses, and finally a bottle to take home. Altogether a very pleasant afternoon.

The welcome from (English-speaking) co-owner Corrado Vassallo Vagliasindi and family was warm and friendly throughout. Of the staff, special mention of the smiling and ever-helpful Rasul.

Not much impressed by the neighbouring small town of Randazzo but otherwise there are wonderful sightseeing opportunities in the area; you need a car of course.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Nice location very well restored with a beautiful patio and charming restaurant. The swimming pool gives the possibility to relax after a walk on the Etna or the close village of Randazzo. Russell the waiter of Feudo Vagliasindi is nice and very kind. The owners are managing the hotels in excellent manner. Don't loose to visit the canteen.

Stayed: August 2018
3  Thank cerretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Arriving at Feudo Vagliasindi we couldn’t believe our luck. The views from all directions are incredible and the house is beautiful.

I will get the not so good things out of the way first: there was an event on so at first we felt a bit forgotten about - there wasn’t a lot to do as the wine tasting we’d booked was cancelled. The rooms are in desperate need of some artwork (the odd photos really cheapen it) and they have those awful wall-mounted hairdryers only ever seen elsewhere in public swimming pools. Breakfast was also disappointing- the land around etna is famous for its pistacchios, honey, figs etc and none of this was on offer.

The better bit: while we were left to our own devices we enjoyed some excellent wine with the terrace to ourselves and watched the sun set over etna. The Bangladeshi man looked after us very well while set up for the event went on. The event on that evening happened to have a live jazz band who were brilliant and a buffet (the cost of our wine tasting was deducted from this for us) and the next day when everything had calmed down we were invited by the owner to go to the neighbouring vineyard owned by Giuseppe for a tour that was one of the highlights of our trip. The fifth star gets added back on!

Over all - this is a special place and we’d love to come back. Would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mrs_Gherkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Visited the Feudo for dinner, the location is nice in the countryside the hotel is beautiful with a big outdoor swimming pool.
We visited in the evening to have dinner in the terrace, the food was good and staff very corteous and welcoming.

Stayed: May 2018
2  Thank Silvia79k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews