We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Le Maschere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Le Maschere
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We came in the late afternoon to the hotel located in a Tuscany near Firenze
The building is a old very nice renovated castle the lobby is amazing and the reception people was very nice and helpful
The room was big and amazing as well the bathroom
We eat at the hotel restaurant the food was very good as well the service the same was the breakfast in the morning .
The surrounding of the hotel is very nice with a spa with a view out to the out side pool and the surrounding forest looking down to the valley below .
I will defiantly be back again .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your kind impressions you left regarding your recent stay in our Resort. During your stay you had a full experience of all the Hotel and its service, we are glad to hear that you fully appreciated them as the quality and the kindness of the staff as well. Hoping to welcoming you again in sunny Villa le Maschere we thank you for you visit once again.
Kind regards
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    139
    33
    24
    7
See reviews for
66
329
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

A friend and I recently stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. The staff were exceptionally helpful and polite and the room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast, once we found it, was excellent - plenty of choice, well presented and tasty. We ate dinner only once in the hotel - it was reasonably priced though the wine was expensive. The food was well cooked and we enjoyed the meal. The restaurant however was 3/4 empty and lacking in any atmosphere. The menu choice was very limited. The room had a well stocked mini bar - as usual quite pricey, BUT no tea or coffee making facilities. The free shuttle to Florence was appreciated and we enjoyed a long walk in the beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: we had a room out the back which was quiet UNLESS smokers were on the terrace below!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Customer,
on reading your commentary regarding your recent stay in Villa le Maschere, for which we thank you, I’m glad to hear that you have fully appreciated the hospitality and service of our resort. Regarding the feeling you had in our restaurant we hold in high consideration your suggestions in order to give a better feeling in term of atmosphere to our Guests. Hopefully we will have the chance to welcoming you again in sunny “Villa le Maschere”.
Kind regards
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

The place is very badly resorted & designed. It looks like a dungeon! Breakfast area is located in cellar. The rooms are badly furnished. Beds are very uncomfortable. Health club & swimming pool have a great view. To us the place looked haunted.....

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PradipSKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your posting
with reference of your commentary regarding your recent stay in “Villa le Maschere” I learn your disappoint regarding the restoration of our Reinassance Villa.
Our resort has been build 500 years ago as a private house in the wake of the Reinassance architecture that burn in this period in Flornece.
During the 5 years of restoration, under the patronage of the fine arts, the Villa has been recovered according to a scentific study to give a new life to the property as Hotel. So the actual style of the resort is a blend by the hystoric and the current design.
We are sorry that yo did not appreciated the restoration work carried out. However we are comforted by the majority of our Guests that are dazzled by the Resort.
The restaurant, Cancello di Ghireto, where you have breakfast is elegantly decorated with the colors of the park surrounding the villa.
We wish to welcoming you again very soon!
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had booked 5 nights in a superior double room from 2 October 2013. On arrival we found the building and setting was stunning. We were told we had been given a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite. The room was large, but had several defects e.g. large area of missing paint from main beam in bedroom; other defective paintwork on the beam and on bathroom window; virtually impossible to reach the bath and shower controls without first climbing in the bath; inadequate storage (drawers/shelves); high level windows (like a prison cell). Also, the a la carte menu in the one restaurant was very limited, the same every day and, as such, unsuited to more than a one or two night stay. Awful and intrusive piped music played until late and audible from bedroom suite. NOT 5* luxury.

Room Tip: If offered an upgrade ask to see the "upgrade" and the room from which you are being upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review our property
I'm sorry to read that you haven't appreciate the uniqueness and beauty of our junior suite.
The shape and structure of our rooms is the original of the seventeenth century as well as the position of the window. The guests who live the experience of staying in a room full of charm should get the architectural and cultural sense of the history although this is not always matched by practicality. Everything you mentioned in relation to the lack of painting in the room was already settled.
I'm sorry for the background music that created discomfort but I am not aware that this creates boredom to our guests in the hotel rooms being perfectly soundproof. I will make a further verification in this regard.
The proposal of our "Gran carta" at restaurant in this period is complemented by a menù entirely dedicated to mushrooms, seasonal product , and next week we will also present the menù of pumpkin for Halloween party in addition to the proposals of the day always present.
I am sure that the negative impression you have had will remain an isolated incident and I hope to host you one more time very soon to make your stay an exclusive experience in a different room that you will surely find more comfortable.
Best regards

Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We recently stayed in Tuscany area and for a few days had a pleasure of staying in Villa Le Machere. The place is absolutely amazing! We loved every minute of it. Great and very helpful staff. Impeccable service. The setting is very serene and hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept. I highly recommend this place for anyone who plan to visit that area. My only wish is that they would have a heated outside pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your kind commentary regarding our Resort. I’m glad to hear that during your stay and you fully enjoy all the Villa’s area that are always maintain at the top. The stunning renaissance Villa would be without soul if the service provider could not follow excellence.
We looking forward to welcoming you again!
Kind regads
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for a week from 21st Sept and upgraded to the Mascherae Lilliana suite which was fantastic with amazing high ceilings, enormous bathroom etc. Staff at the hotel are excellent, polite and helpful. Building is stunning. The restaurant across the road is highly recommended - quality is excellent and the prices very reasonable. As others have commented the prices in the hotel itself for drinks and food are we thought too high - 5 euros for a small bottle of water when one can get several litres for less than a euro at the supermarket is extreme to say the least. However this did not distract from our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieH491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,
in reading your impressions toward our Resort, I’m glad to learn that your stay in Villa le Maschere has been pleasant. The unique Suite you had during your stay represent the excellence in terms of tradition, history, actual design and facilities. These qualities are closely linked to the excellent service and our catering too. We hope to have you again as our pleasant guest.
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here recently and loved it. The staff were fantastic, the service impeccable. A special thank you to Andrea who was amazing. Our little girl got sick and he suggested and showed us in detail how to get to the hospital. When we changed rooms we left a very sentimental watch which went missing but thanks to telling Andreas it turned up 2 days later in our room. We cant thank him enough for all his help and wonderful service. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the breakfast is first class. Delicious! We didnt eat at the hotel and tried lots of local places around the villa which were outstanding. If you go right outside the hotel in a car and follow the road up and up you come across two mazing places, cant remember the names, sorry! I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: we didnt use the fitness centre and apart from swimming no activities for children as such
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yummy1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guests,
That’s with pleasure that I’m reading your kind commentary regarding your recent stay in Villa le Maschere. We hope that soon your wish come true so that we will have the chance to hosting you in our resort!
Thank you one more for your words of appreciation that are highly appreciated by all our staff
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Di Mugello
15.8 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inn Hotel
Inn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.1 mi away
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Il Cavallo
Hotel Il Cavallo
#3 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
16.4 mi away
Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Maschere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Maschere

Property: Villa Le Maschere
Address: Via Nazionale 75, 50031, Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Di Mugello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Barberino Di Mugello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Le Maschere 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revival of tradition with a contemporary twist and refined settings where perfect harmony exists between history,art and design.architectural features, interiors and exteriors restored to their former splendor, are witness to the evolution of tradition and development of style and techniques that all go to make up the history of villa le maschere. Splendid frescoes and ornamental stuccos that are true works of art, render every room unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Le Maschere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Maschere Hotel Barberino Di Mugello
Hotel Le Maschere
Resort Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing