We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tuscan etno getaway for friends and families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Valle de' Medici
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Tuscan etno getaway for friends and families”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Opposite from a 11th century church (that is unfortunately closed), La Valle De Medici is a secluded place to relax for a large group of friends or families as it has self-catering apartments. Large garden with a swimming pool, barbecue area and a small children's corner. In one word, very good for a getaway in Tuscan hills. Florence is a 40 minute drive. A couple of excellent restaurants are a 10 minute drive away.
Downside: no wi-fi, no dishwasher which is important when on holiday in a self-catering apartment, remote (if travelling with a baby).
All in all, you won't make a mistake if you choose this place for your holiday with friends or family (the more, the better :))

Room Tip: Apartment Caterina de Medici has three balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarijanaTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Nice location for the annual appointment with friends of the association ;) - a very nice place to stay together, have fun, relax, shopping (Barberino Outlet is very close). Great pool, ping pong area, nice pond, volley etc… a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sacherdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I would go back anytime felt the real culture of Tuscany lovely people looking after us too! I would recommend to go and stay there . Our apartment was small to medium sized but equipped e enough for self catering if required . Local food amazing

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cazfran2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

If you want the peace and confort of your own apartment but counting on excellent support by the owners for anything you need with pool, barbecue,garden, mountan bikes etc (the guy even prepares the fire for your barbecue if you want!) local natural fruits and tomatoes, a few minutes from florence and bologna this is the place. I like more the apartments on the first floor but they are all very good.Only one negative point for tourist from abroad: no internet connection. I will defenetely go back.

Room Tip: a small preference for ropms 1st floor . But I is more personal bias than objective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is a lovely location and the family who own it are very friendly. The Pizza night which they held for all the guests can only be described as fantastic. The pool is also great.

Games are available such as table tennis, football table, football, badminton, etc. Unfortunately, there never seemed to be any table tennis balls, the football table, is falling apart, there were only 3 badminton rackets and the home made goal posts were falling apart. I take 1 star off for this.

Make sure you don't pay the full balance for your apartment until asked an make sure you get a receipt. We paid as soon as we arrived and were asked again for the money when we were leaving and also again since we arrived home. We didn't get a receipt and have no way to prove that we paid in full. For this, I take off 1 star.

In summary, La Valle de Medici has the potential for 5 stars, but is not quite there for me. That said, I know other people who have stayed here and they would rate it one of the best holidays they have had.

Room Tip: Apartment No. 3 has three balconies, one at the front, one at the side and one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilgiana, Proprietario at La Valle de' Medici, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Sir,
I take the opportunity given me by TripAdvisor to reply you.

First, we all want to apologize to you and your family for the inconvenience.
Actually we made a mistake and we are mortified.

In the period of your holiday there were many customers, and I was on sick leave so there was none of my family (the property is a family ) who spoke English and the confusion has been made ​​a mistake and mistaken identity;
Here is the reason for your registration fee, I state that has been done correctly and on arrival.

I repeat that we are truly sorry for the inconvenience, and we guarantee our highest good faith, as your perfect behavior.

As for games, ping pong balls that were available to be delivered because we were constantly lost and so we managed to have them always some available.

The other games are a little used and we will provide sight of your message and replace for next season!

It had never happened such a problem and demonstration of our steering wheel to ensure our guests maximum satisfaction, as our motto says "to be on holiday but feel at home" we try to apologize to you, offering the possibility of having even our guests, giving you a GRATIS HOLIDAY for a week if you want to come back!

Sincerely,
MARCO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, West Sussex.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I could have gone to several places to celebrate my 50th birthday but decided to take our 10 friends, plus my family of 4, to revisit Marco & his family in Tuscany.
We has stayed the year before & enjoyed ourselves so much, we couldn't wait to show our friends.
We were not disappointed. I will remember my 50th birthday as a night to remember thanks to my friends & a fantastic Italian Family.
Hope to return soon & share a glass of Rose.

Paul Stonebridge & Family.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Vale, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2010

My husband and I have just returned from 2 wonderful weeks at this superb little gem of a place in Tuscany.
We did a lot of research before booking La Valle De Medici and this exceeded our high expectations.
From the first smiling face of Silvio who met us to sad farewells we can't speak highly enough of our time spent here.
The villa is located in a great position for exploring the many sights around Tuscany - Florence (we drove in twice), Siena, Lucca, the Chianti Region,San Gimignano to name a few.
And after a busy day of sightseeing it was nice to come back to the peace and tranquility of the villa.
The surrounding grounds, the swimming pool, the weekly "Pizza Party" with the best home made Tiramisu you have ever tasted and the friendliest family you could ever hope to meet all add to this wonderful holiday experience.
Our apartment was spotless and the little touches of home grown fruit and vegetables, bottle of Chianti wine and water awaiting our arrival were much appreciated.
We have come away with wonderful memories and will definitely be back -hopefully for longer next time!
Best Wishes to all the family
Sally and John Barnett, Berkshire, England

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Di Mugello
4.3 mi away
Inn Hotel
Inn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
267 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Il Cavallo
Hotel Il Cavallo
#3 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
63 reviews
4.9 mi away
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Il Vignolino Bed & Breakfast
Il Vignolino Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Barberino Di Mugello
162 reviews
3.9 mi away
Agriturismo MassoSerpente
Agriturismo MassoSerpente
#1 of 16 in Barberino Di Mugello
101 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere
#1 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valle de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valle de' Medici

Property: La Valle de' Medici
Address: Via San Gavino 57/a, 50031, Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Di Mugello
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Barberino Di Mugello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where you’ll be left speechless, bathed in the Tuscany halls colors and perfumes.You will relax in the beautiful swimming-pool, read a book in the shadow of a tree or walk through the fields; you may choose to ride or to cycle on mountain bike or enjoy yourself in the near Bilancino’s lake and its water sports, or play golf in the neighbourhood.If you love speed closer you will find the Mugello International race-course, with its many events.If you are looking instead for a culture holiday you will visit the famous cities of art, Florence, Siena, Pisa, and Bologna too.If you love shopping closer you will find the new Designer Outlet Shopping Center of Barberino, famous for its haute couture shops.During the hot summer evenings you will have the opportunity to taste local food and grilled bistecca outdoor; bathed on silence charm and under a starry sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Valle de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valle De' Medici Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing