We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Simple”
Review of Hotel Lachea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lachea
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aci Castello
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice and Simple”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

If you like to mingle with the locals, this is a very good hotel to stay, it's not too far from Catania, far enough to escape the traffic, you can leave the car at the hotel and catch the bus to Catania. Close to local restaurants and bars. We used the hotel as a base and travelled to various points of interest to us. The rooms were very clean, but simple, breakfast is typical Italian style, a variety of sweet and savory, simple but plenty, we required gluten free breakfast, we requested in advance, they went out of their way to provide packed gluten free product on top of what else was available. Overall a very good hotel for the price we paid, the hotel was family run, and the people running it were very nice.

Room Tip: Remember, what you pay is what you usually get, expect less and you will be pleasantly surprised, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    107
    37
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
86
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We expected much more for what we paid: no air conditioning, smelly and old rooms and general atmosphere was more of an old hospital than a hotel. Avoid this hotel and better choose a small nice B&B somewhere in the area!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mingaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijas, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

First of all, the hotel is in Aci Trezza......It's a good little hotel, nice owners and staff. Decent sized room, lots with a terrace, but always plenty of traffic noise. Small shower rooms, plenty of hot water, but basic fittings. It's time to say however that it provides excellent value for money. I've eaten better food in Italy, but there is always a wonderful antipasti buffet, followed by oversized primi and secondi dishes, very tasty though. Decent breakfast too. Only drawback for me was the traffic noise, and rooms weren't kept quite as clean as other Italian hotels. All in all, a very good 3-star hotel.

Not far into town, but a steep hill leads down to the sea. Aci Trezza is a nice little fishing port with a surprising number of restaurants and pizzerias, I like it a lot. Useless for shopping, catch the local 534 bus into Catania for that (€1!)

Room Tip: I am told the bedrooms in the annexe are better(no balcony though).Make sure you don't get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MijasMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Good value, good location, nice friendly family-run hotel. We had a lovely room with view of the Faraglioni - clean & comfortable. There is a pool, which was nice after spending day in sun.
Would comment that it is not in Aci Castello, but AciTrezza so GPS had hard time - you can walk to the Castello in Aci @ 1/2 hr -45 min walk along lungo mare. The Town itself was full of life & activities & lots of restaurants to choose from. Staff was very helpful, booked our tour of Etna which included pick up/drop off at hotel and they made dinner reservations for us in town. Would recommend this hotel & would go back!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have balcony with view as it is a seaside town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastpointe, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

If you plan to travel to Sicily, do not miss this wonderful family owned hotel situated a couple of miles north of Catania, Sicily. Following the advise of reviewers on Trip Advisor my cousin booked us into Hotel Lachea for 4 nights in September 2012. The family who owns the hotel we especially accommodating, the food marvelous, the rooms clean and comfortable with easy access to the pool for relaxation. The town was in walking distance and extremely fun to mingle amongst the residents. I highly recommend Hotel Lachea and we certainly plan to go back when we find ourselves in Sicily 2014 on our way to Calabria!!!

Room Tip: P.S. There are no parking problems at the hotel and its location is found easy from the Catania Air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaVitaliBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A very good value, friendly hotel. Our room had a lovely sea view and a very large balcony. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and the hotel is very clean The pleasant dining room serves a very good value four course dinner for €13 although on one occasion we had eaten out at lunchtime and were not able to eat a full meal but the staff were happy to provide one course for €7. There is also a bar where it is possible to obtain coffee and snacks. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing sea with large balcony. The balconies do vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assen
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Great hotel. Very good service and helpful, friendly staff. You can ask a lot and they mostly can help you out. Good food in great quality and for a very exceptabel price. Very good breakfast, fresh and divers with lots of fruit. Nice and clean swimmingpool with nice sea-view. Own parking space.10 minutes walk to the center of Aci Trezza.
Some staffmembers speak English.
Disadvantage: close to the main road. No lunch/dinner on friday

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank australieassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aci Castello hotels
0.4 mi away
President Park Hotel
President Park Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aci Castello
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Malavoglia Inn
Hotel Malavoglia Inn
#1 of 5 in Acitrezza
39 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
#1 of 11 in Aci Castello
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
4 Spa Resort Hotel
4 Spa Resort Hotel
#4 of 11 in Aci Castello
634 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Catania Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Faraglioni
Grand Hotel Faraglioni
#8 of 11 in Aci Castello
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lachea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lachea

Property: Hotel Lachea
Address: Via Cardinale Dusmet 4, 95021, Aci Castello, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Aci Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aci Castello
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Aci Castello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lachea 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lachea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lachea Province Of Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing