We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SEASIDE PEARL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aci Castello
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We´ve spent just one night in that hotel. We made our choice based on its perfect location out of town, on the way from Catania to Mount Etna. Coming late in the evening we didn´t pay too much attention to hotel equipment, its facilities, garden, etc. How big was however our surprise next day morning when waking up to see nice garden and crystal sea water behind. American breakfast on sea view hotel terrace was really great. And ...., morning sun soaking and swimming alongside the rocks was a goal.

Room Tip: Ask definitely sea view rooms. Absolutely great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petr_slezak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were really disappointed with the Grand Hotel Baia Verde. We were expecting a beautiful 4-Star room with an ocean view. Instead we got a very small cramped room with a view of the courtyard and way over on the left side was the ocean. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean but not spotless. The bathroom expecially had a shabby look to it with calcium deposits on the shower glass, brown water stains along the shower walls and all of the fixtures having lost their shine and looking old and drab. The biggest problem was trying to shave every morning because the bathroom was so poorly lit.
We found the service at the front desk to be rather unfriendly - as if we should be glad when they finally turn our way, and never with a smile. The friendliest person was the woman who cleaned the room. Also she spoke the most fluid english of the entire staff. How we wished she could be working at the front desk!
If you need internet and WiFi, then I would definitely suggest not coming to Baia Verde. The WiFi Connection was very very very slow (0.50 Megabits per second) and the long waiting times reminded me of the internet days in the early 90's when internet had just been invented.
When we wanted to print out boarding passes, we were told to use the computer and printer provided for that purpose in the lobby. The computer was a very old laptop model and it kept crashing. It took us 4 hours to finally accomplish this simple task only because we used our iPhones and the staff used their printer.
The breakfast was at best mediocre, the scrambled eggs runny and orange, and overall the quality and variety did not match that of a true 4-star continental breakfast. Also the restaurant had a very limited menu - and whether at breakfast or dinner, we noticed certain guests being treated like royalty and others being ignored by the staff. We did not feel at all comfortable with this. The only truly positive attribute was the location by the sea.
We would under no circumstances recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simran2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baiaverde, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Baia Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Staff is the Most Important Resource in any Organization, especially in Tourism Sector.
Our Reception Staff maybe sometimes could seems unfriendly because of their discretion.
Regarding the room, we just finished a recent renovation in almost all the rooms, only a few rooms are not new, the standard type, and we sell this rooms with a lower rates. Both in our website and on the online travel agency, it’s possible to choose which room is better for your needs and desires. If you like to have a big new room with sea view, it should be better to book a superior room sea view, a deluxe room or a junior suite.
Wi-fi is a free service, sometimes it could be that the connection is slow but from our side, we try to give the best coverage putting hotspot all around the hotel and we are still improving the service.
Usually our guests are satisfied by the quality of our Breakfast. We offer a big buffet plus some Sicilian traditional food beefing the breakfast up till the end of the time.
Anyway your comment will help us to improve our services so we would like to thank you for your time and for your feedback .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Grand Hotel Baia Verde is just north of Catania perched on rocks overlooking the sea - a spectacular location. Service was generally pleasant but a bit impersonal. We stayed 7 days and, with the exception of a barman at the pool bar, no-one every seemed to recognise us. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of types of food although cereals were somewhat limited (as is pretty usual on the continent). The coffee in urns was okay but one could order espresso or cappuccino which was much better. Coming up to 10am (when breakfast service finished) the dining room could get crowded and staff would whisk away your plate even before you were finished. We ate dinner a couple of times as well on the terrace overlooking the sea. The evening dining room was never crowded and yet the staff were still too quick whisking away your plate. Dinner was fine but nothing special and a bit pricey. However, the hotel is not located close to any other restaurants so one has to go out in a car to get alternative dining. The pool area is lovely and there is a nice pool bar although some served items there could also be a bit pricey.

All in all we enjoyed our stay in GH Baia Verde and we don't have too much to fault it on. However it does seem to lack a little something (je ne sais quoi). A grand hotel but I feel it has the potential to be a great hotel with an injection of some imagination.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin_of_Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

First of all, we celebrated our wedding at this place and we are fully satisfied about the choice.
The location is just perfect, especially in the summertime: by the crystal sea near Catania, on the black lava rocks which remind you of the presence - not too far - of Mount Etna, the highest active vulcano in Europe.
We found the staff friendly and professional. Our room, the blue suite, was simply amazing, just refurbished with impeccable good style.
By the way, the restaurant and the Spa are also top quality.
All in all, we warmly recommend this hotel for any type of stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuspoletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here for 10 days. Overall experience as ok - hotel is beautiful and right on a cliff overlooking the sea. Pool lovely and breakfast is lovely. Downfalls were that the hotel is pretty far out from the city - €20 for a taxi each way. Absolutely no atmosphere in the hotel, no entertainment/music at all. Restaurant/snack bar has a very limited selection therefore we never ate dinner in the hotel - few small restaurants just down the road from the hotel thank god.
Staff are nice - english could be better. Lots of older gentlemen working in the hotel, which is lovely to see as I think most hotels are ageist!
Overall nice stay but hotel needs to improve its atmosphere and dining options.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is a seaside hotel, with beautiful ocean views from rooms. Rooms are nice and clean. Enough away from the city noise. Magnificent seaview. Free WIFI, nice location and beautiful territory. The main restaurante menu is good but not offering too many options. Nice big pool & pool area with bar and really friendly staff. The booking.com address was Catania but it is located in Acicastello so we had a hard time finding the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrUnderwatervideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I just completed ten days at this hotel and, wow, it has changed since I was here 8 years ago. I would not reccomed anyone stay here until management gets the staff under control. In particular, the staff is very aged and stuck in time from about 20 years ago. There are notes all over the hotel about pool towels, and, how you will be charged if you dare take or misplace one of them, and, the pool bathroom has a note to keep it clean---distastefull! The carpets have stains on thim and badly need replacing. The grounds are pathetic and used as storage for lumber, old charis, etc. The pool manager is the most inhospitalble person I have run into and should not be in front of customers in both appearance and inability to communicate. English? What English? Very poorly trained inveterate staff. If you want to order food or drink, they refer to you as a "room number"---so, remember yours....and, hope others around are not lisening in. The room was cleaned, but, the hotel overall is severly rundown and obviously needs an overhaul of management. Oooh, and the internet is terrible...you have to beg for a wifi code, then, you have to call in every few hours for a new one---the policies of the hotel make it hard to stay here and I would suggest the Sheraton down the street.

Room Tip: Make sure you speak Italian as they don't speak English!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baiaverde, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Baia Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Bryan,
Actually we think that the Staff are the Most Important Resource in any Organization, especially in the Tourism Sector.
It is true that most of our staff are not so young but in our opinion, this is a point of strength thanks to their experience and know how.
In addition, most of our steady guests are happy to always find the same staff because they feel like they are at home here.
We put notes all over the hotel just to give a good information to our guests about our policy and to avoid misunderstandings.
Most of our guests prefer to pay their extras ( like food and drinks) at the end of their stay instead of paying cash immediately, so the reason we are used to ask the room number is just to charge it correctly
We provide wi-fi codes for free, we are used to giving a code for a couple of hours but it’s possible to ask other free codes or a 24 hour code.
We are surprised that you wrote here that your “overall stay” was so terrible because in your previous email forwarded to our General Manager, you did not mention it but on the contrary, you wrote that your 10 days at our Hotel was great except only one bad thing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aci Castello
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Catania Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
4 Spa Resort Hotel
4 Spa Resort Hotel
#4 of 11 in Aci Castello
712 reviews
5.1 mi away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
UNA Hotel Palace
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,820 reviews
23 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
687 reviews
147.1 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 18 in Trapani
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baia Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baia Verde

Address: Via Angelo Musco 8/10, 95021, Aci Castello, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Aci Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aci Castello
Price Range: £76 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baia Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Baia Verde is a 4 star hotel in Catania facing the seawith 147 Rooms, Swimming Pool, Private Rocky Beach, Spa, Meeting Rooms, Restaurant,Roof Garden,Free Parking Area,American Bar and Scuba Diving School.The Hotel has 147 rooms different in typology (Classic & Superior Rooms, with sea view, Deluxe, Family room, Business Suite, Junior Suites and Suites) smart furnished all equipped with: air-conditioning TV LED HD 32'', Pay TV, SKY TV, frigobar, safe,telephone and Free Wi-FI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Baia Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Aci Castello
Grand Hotel Baia Verde Province Of Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing