We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but a few suggestions for improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Orizontes View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Katakolo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but a few suggestions for improvement.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

First of all, let me acknowledge that the rooms were very spacious, well appointed, clean, and comfortable and that they had nice balconies. The breakfast was perfect. One issue that annoyed me and that could easily be improved upon by the management concerns the mini-fridges (mini-bars) that were so tiny that they hardly fit anything. Plus they operated only if the room key-card was inserted in the "power slot" inside the room, which of course was not the case when we had arrived, and so it took the better part of the first afternoon / evening to get them cooled down.
Katakolo is a very peculiar place as essentially all the shops and places cater almost exclusively to cruise-ship tourists, meaning the town gets filled with life as soon as a ship arrives and it feels like a ghost-town half an hour after the ship leaves (at least in the shoulder season when we had been there). In this situation it would indeed be very nice if the hotel was offering at least some simpler dinner options, it would certainly be a much more perfect place to spend the evening after a trip to Ancient Olympia than any of the few deserted places at the sea front in town. Unfortunately, only drinks and a few snacks were offered on the spectacular and large hotel terrace that overlooks the entire bay from a hill-top....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diba31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
66
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel was ideal. Their great job was obvious in every corner. The room and the bathroom were clean, big and comfortable. The bed, the matress and the pillows were of excellent quality. The great view from the room's balcony was dreamy. The personnel was kind and helpful. The decoration in the room, as well in the lobby, the cafe, the reception etc, was fabulous. You felt like home 1000%. Congratulations to everybody there... STRONGLY recommended...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChryssaK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Finding a beautiful place in Greece is hardly a difficult task. But finding a beautiful human designed and made place in Elis of 2014 that combines beauty with creativity, ethos, "meraki" and "filotimo" is as rare as it can be.

The words "meraki" and "filotimo" are not directly translatable in English and reflect a complex array of virtues. Loosly speaking "Meraki" means something like "I care for excellence even if does not matter to everyone else" and "filotimo" means something like "I ve go to do this because I treasure honour". Better yet, I will try to use moments from our experience to explain them.

We had to spend the period between 18 through the 22nd of April 2014, in the Area of Pyrgos Greece, and my cousin Thanasis, said "do not worry there is a new small hotel near our summer place at Katakolo and I will make a reservation for you two". We agreed not because we knew what we would find but because we knew already from previous trips in the area that there are very few places that would satisfy even average standards of hospitality and quality. This was to be our first Easter brake in Greece after 33 years in the USA.

We arrived in front of a building that was indeed located on the beautiful small peninsula of Katakolo at the very top edge of it. The building looked very new and was in outstanding condition. Knowing that it was only in operation for its 2nd year justified the beautiful condition of the unassuming and unpretentious building exterior.

Surprise No 1. Ascending the few stairs to the main entrance through a tastefully arranged garden led us in front of the main entrance. Outside the main door on the marble stoop we see three groups of colorful galoshes filled with flowers.... It was then that we knew something different was going on in this place. This was the first sample of creativity and beauty.

Surprise No 2. Contrary to all our previous experiences from hospitality establishments in the area, the first view after opening the entrance door was a bright welcoming smile, attached on the beautiful face of Dora. She did not give us the key to our room. She took it and guided us to our room, approached the door with the RFID key (first time I show this type of key in Greece), opened the door and guided us inside, presented our room, introduced us to the breathtaking view of the olive tree grove outside our balcony, that ended in the equally breathtaking western view of the astonishing Ionian sea, asked if we had any questions and informed us about he breakfast schedule. She pledged her and the staff's conviction in making us feel welcomed and urged us to ask for anything we may need. The she wished for a restful and happy stay and went back in the front desk. This is ethos and filotimo.

Surprise No 3. The room was exquisitely simple and elegant. All materials selected of top quality in wood and earth colors. Katakolo in Elis was the very last place on Earth we were expecting to see such a tasteful setup! All choices were environmentally conscious from the LED lighting (both hidden and exposed) to the bed and linens and towel that were all signed by Cocomat the only award winning, profitable, environmentally conscious Greek company that is exporting their products world wide because of their high quality and environmentally aligned product line. This is meraki.

Surprise No. 4. The 12 inch diameter waterfall shower head is simply out of this word when you experience the water.... This is meraki.

Surprise No. 5. There is nothing in this room that reminds you the half-measures and the cut corners in buildings that you usually see in hotels everywhere. The attention to detail, the combination of contemporary and environmentally aware choices in the decor, the materials, the top quality maintenance, are all further indications that this little hotel is incongruity to all previous experiences. This is meraki and filotimo.

Surprise No. 6. We asked where we could have dinner since the hotel does not have any dining facilities and was suggested to us to go to a restaurant or fish tavern called "Mouragio" at the port of Katakolo 3 minutes away by car. This is where we learn that the hostess and chef of the place is Aggeliki and is the mother of the family behind both the hotel and the restaurant operations. All dishes prepared by her and all authentic creations of Greek cuisine. Never in my life on a Good Friday had I a better diner especially in a week where all menu had to be within the constrains of fasting as predicated by the Holly week. Again, the key ingredient was care and love for everything we tasted including the welcoming of the hostess and chef! This is beauty, meraki and filotimo.

Surprise No. 7. Waking up on the Saturday before Easter is leading us down to the entrance level floor where the breakfast room is located. It is not the superb quality and the variety of the available food, and the elegance of the room's decor that I want to comment, but again, the contagious smile of the staff. If you do not like the filtered coffee (which by the way is superb) you can ask the young girl that has just greeted you with the brightness of morning on her smile, for any coffee or tea concoction you may wish. I asked for two shots of Espresso on a few ice-cubes and in two minutes I had it in front of me. (BTW in any other place I have been in Greece, when you ask for a "specialty coffee" not included on the buffet, you are charged accordingly. Not in Orizontes View Hotel) . This is ethos, meraki and filotimo.

Surprise No. 8. Returning to our room in the evening we find two beautifully and elegantly decorated candles with hand made arrangements of ribbons on the desk!!! Every Saturday night before Easter Sunday, Greeks go to the Church for observing the liturgy of resurrection of Christ just before 12.00 midnight. Everyone must hold a candle for the holly light of resurrection to arrive. An old beautiful custom where the lighting of the candles is symbolizing the resurrection of Christ. Our hosts had provided us of the necessary candles. This is beauty (for the candles) and meraki and filotimo (for those who prepared them).

Surprise No. 9. Returning back to the hotel from the liturgy of resurrection and the followup dinner with the family, at about 1.00 AM after midnight, we find waiting (for all residents of the hotel) three little mountains to the right of the entrance in front of the front desk! One mountain was made out of beautifully crafted Easter eggs, another from Easter cookies and the third from Easter bred rolls, all traditional items of the Greek Orthodox traditions for Easter! This is beauty, meraki and filotimo.

Surprise No. 10. Easter morning the traditional lamb on the spit was prepared outside in the garden for all residents who wanted to stay at he hotels and spend Easter Sunday under the direction of Stefanos (the father in the family)! This is filotimo.

Surprise No. 11. A young fellow in the bar when he realized I was sitting to enjoy the extraordinary view in the exquisite veranda overlooking the port of Katakolo (see photo), he asked with a smile and a wink on his eye, "if I wanted a double espresso over ice-cubes". Apparently, the staff knows what you like in this hotel regardless of whether it is breakfast or evening or any time, and regardless of who was the first who took your order. Everyone there knows what you like!!! This is ethos and meraki and filotimo.

Surprise Np. 12. When we went to close our account, not ready to depart, we were greeted again with a gracious gift bag beautifully decorated and hand-made containing all kinds of Easter goodies. But mostly by the warmest sendoff! This is meraki and filotimo.

Surprise Np. 13. When I asked who to thank for all the surprises, nobody wanted to take credit. Instead we were informed that these are ideas by all of the staff and the members of the family. This is ethos.

I suspect the operation is mainly ran by Chrysa the wonderful daughter of the family who is probably the main brain and heart behind the galoshes the butterflies the flowers and many of the surprises. We know it really takes all of them to make them reality but she must have had something to do for finding this wonderful crew. I say "finding" and not "training", because the actions feel self-motivated and not schooled.

In conclusion, this Easter brake has been a most relaxing and splendid experience for us not only because of spending it with family after so many years, but also and mainly, because we were pleasantly surprised by the excellence in everything we experienced in this little hotel, the "filoxenia" and genuine care and love we felt from the staff, in such a beautifully crafted facility and environment located in an exquisite location.

Perhaps "Orizontes View" does not only refer to the physical beauty of horizon views from the verandas, terraces, balconies and windows of this hotel, but to the other inward ones, in the horizons behind the eyes of those who run this wonderful place.

Kudos and Bravo to All of them!! We feel lucky to have been there!

May they have the strength to endure the very high standards road they chose and maintain the quality of the physical and inner beauty they presented us with.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms on this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank innayis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by such service and the quality of the food. A very good friend selected it as the basis for his pre-wedding dinner and the original home cooked tastes of Greece paraded in our table.
Great location also to enjoy you coffee at every time of the day, but better to visit it after noon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iSoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2012

A truly beautiful hotel, situated in what I'd describe a photographer's dream location. Magnificent view, gorgeous sunsets, wonderful room, modern styling, carefully decorated with great attention to detail, and truly as-new. We were actually staying in a different hotel, but booked out to come here once we saw Orizontes!
Pros: We stayed here in December, for a week. The rooms were nice and warm, each room having an individual thermostat for setting the (centrally provided) heating and aircon. The rooms have double-glazed windows with gorgeous folding wooden shutters; not that you need them, what with the surroundings being so quiet anyway. There's a very effective fireplace in the common room on the ground floor, which is genuinely useful when coming in from the cold... The atmosphere is very relaxed (and relaxing). The staff are ever-so helpful and friendly but by no means overbearing. There is a well-stocked bar on the ground floor, and a large verandah with sea view outside the common room. We never ventured there, what with it being December, but we suppose it will be nice in summer. The room balconys (and rooms, B.T.W.) are also well-proportioned; it might get a little breezy though, I cannot tell. The road going past the hotel continues into a bushy heath interspersed with olive groves. We have had some excellent afternoon walks there (and ate far more berries than we should have done...).
Cons: Breakfast is served from 8am onwards (in winter). This was not much good for us, as we had to be out by 7 every day (this was a business trip). So we cannot testify on the quality or quantity of such. Also, smoking is forbidden everywhere! Oh well... Finally, Katakolo town only comes alive when a cruiser stops by; on other days and times, though the town is very pretty (and well lit), it is very empty. Still, it's only 10 minutes drive to Skourochori, a village near by with a gorgeous little taverna owned by Andreas and Machi, and about a quarter of an hour into Pyrgos. Olympia is not far either.
Conclusion: We couldn't be happier!

Room Tip: We had a peek into the other rooms (aren't we nosey!), and found they have so-called "suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katakolo
3.5 mi away
Mare Dei Ionian Hotel & Resort
4.4 mi away
Aldemar Olympian Village
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vriniotis
Hotel Vriniotis
#1 of 1 in Katakolo
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Olympia
381 reviews
19.6 mi away
Olympia Golden Beach Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Almira Hotel
Almira Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arkoudi
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orizontes View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orizontes View Hotel

Property: Orizontes View Hotel
Address: Katakolo 27067, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Katakolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Katakolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orizontes View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orizontes View Hotel is a recently built boutique hotel located in the beautiful and picturesque village of Ilia, Katakolon.Opening in June 2012 our hotel is open daily throughout the year. Built on the hill of the village,500 meters away from the center,has the privilege of unrestricted panoramic views over the Ionian Sea, from the bay as Kyparissiakos and enlightened coast of Zakynthos. Simple lines, minimal design, aesthetics, create an environment that balances the feeling of luxury with a warm family atmosphere offering generously both staff and owners. Three different types of rooms, 10 standard rainbow double bed,4 deluxe double bed,2 suites,all with panoramic views are available to you,as well as a cafe snack bar on the east terrace, where the view, environment and quality will pleasantly surprise you. It will be an honor and pleasure to welcome you to our place and offer you our hospitality and excellent services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Orizontes View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing