We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Melsheimer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Reil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Again we were charmed and delighted by this Hotel. So friendly, so pleasant. The staff and service second to none, always with a smile and real consideration. The food is excellent, inventive and creative. The menu has some traditional German meals which are a revelation, certainly the best we have tasted in our many trips to Germany, but also the menu contains some original and sumptuous delights - try the scallops or the dessert variations, or for a main course the guinea fowl or the buffalo steak! Eating on the terrace in the evenings overlooking the Mosel felt like a little touch of heaven!

The room we had overlooked the hills and gardens at the back, was large, comfortable and very clean. While simple and unassuming, it struck us as really good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Melsheimer
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

Ended up staying here after our hotel in Zell decide to cancel our reservation without notification. The young guy who worked at the hotel recommended this hotel and secured us a room at very short notice. We received a very warm welcome by all the staff which more than made up for the treatment we received in Zell. We had a top floor room which was very spacious and bright, the bathroom was very fresh and had a wonderful large & powerful shower. Our evening meal was delicious as is the local reisling wine we enjoyed with it. Their is also a nice large car park at the rear. We both enjoyed a very comfortable stay & would recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wkddouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

This Hotel is located in the first row to the river „Mosel“ opposite some vineyards and run by the owners family. Service was warm and welcoming.

Accommodation is at a separate building next to the main one. The room was not too bad; the bathroom was even newly renovated. Unfortunately, the beds were quite old and soft, the blinds were not working and the room was not total clean, some dust around. TV is small but offers a wide variety of broadcasting, also some English ones. There is also a in room safe and Wi-Fi available.

Breakfast is quite nice with hot items and eggs cooked to order but not fresh fruit etc. Dinner was nice as well but a little bit pricy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berlin_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

This hotel (really two large houses plus some additonal new buildings) is situated on the bank of the Mosel in the small town (village size!) of Reil. It's more like a restaurant with rooms than a hotel - and none the worse for that. The staff are remarkably helpful and friendly and speak excellent English. The food is very good, particularly breakfast where the chef cooks omlettes, fried or scrambled eggs to order. We stayed on an "Arrangement" ie. half-board basis - there was no choice offered for dinner - the three course meal just appeared. Everything was fine, but I'm not sure what would have been offered had we been vegetarian or had any dietary quirks. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I will keep this short - this hotel is well worth the visit. Reil is a very small town with a ton of character, and this hotel is a direct reflection of that atmosphere. The couple who own the hotel truly love what they do and it is reflected in all aspects of the Hotel. Dinner is great, the rooms are fine, the staff incredibly friendly, the over all feel is excellent. We are already planning our return trip in the fall!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ex_pat053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

The town of Reil is so out of the way and rather difficult to get to by car that I was not expecting it to be the highlight of our trip. That said - our experience at Villa Melsheimer was a tale of two hotels. The place is really a great restaurant with okay rooms. The couple who manage the property speak excellent English and are completely charming. The hotel is primarily marketed to Germans (especially for weekend weddings and other events) so if you are looking for a peaceful spot - try going during the week. The location is magnificent - the steak and white asparagus dinner was superb. The rooms require walking up at least one flight if not two flights of stairs so be warned if you have more than one or two pieces of luggage (we had 10 - but that's another story). One night is about all I could take in the clean but spartan room. Telephone service to the main hotel (we were in the annexe) was not working. We travel with our own sheets and pillows for exactly this type of situation - where the sheets are a bit old and scratchy and there is only one pillow per person. The carpet in the hotel is similar to many properties in Germany - red, dated and quite thin. I would prefer a clean wooden floor with an oriental carpet - and I'm sure budget permitting the owners wood upgrade.

Breakfast was adequate but not nearly what I expected after such a pleasant and delicious dinner. The coffee was very weak (I'm afraid it's like that in Germany unless you pay for a cappucino or expresso) - and there was no fresh fruit. Made to order eggs and omelettes slightly made up for that - but the canned juice was not a nice touch. The hotel is worth a night or two as Reil is idyllicly situated on the Mosel river and wine tasting is abundant nearby. Definitely order any of the rumpsteak (more like a ribeye) or pork choices if you like meat. This is not a place for vegetarians.

3  Thank TravellingRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reil
0.6 mi away
WeinBergHotel Nalbach Reil/Mosel
2.6 mi away
Ringhotel Bomers Mosellandhotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reiler Hof
Hotel Reiler Hof
#3 of 4 in Reil
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Schloss Zell
Hotel Schloss Zell
#2 of 5 in Zell (Mosel)
69 reviews
4.7 mi away
Moselschloesschen
Moselschloesschen
#1 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
217 reviews
4.7 mi away
Romantik Jugendstilhotel Bellevue
Romantik Jugendstilhotel Bellevu...
#2 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Melsheimer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Melsheimer

Address: Moselstr. 5, 56861 Reil, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Reil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Reil
Price Range: £104 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Melsheimer 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, the Hotel faces directly on to the banks of the river Moselle, opposite steep vineyard cladded hills, at the very heart of one of the most picturesque and popular river valley landscapes of Europe. The Hotel itself consists of three buildings, linked by paths through our gardens; the main house, with its river terrace, reception, bar, lounge and dining room: the "Villa": and what was called the "Müllehaus". All are steeped in history, and in Napoleonic times, the "Müllehaus" itself served as a prison, and later became the village "pub" or hostelry. Now, of course, all the guestrooms, the reception areas and the restaurant are newly refurbished, decorated and modernised to the highest standard, and we hope that their warm colours and their lavish interiors will make you feel welcome and "at home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Hotel.de and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Melsheimer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing