We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Melsheimer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Reil
Certificate of Excellence
Bishop's Stortford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We keep coming back!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was my fourth stay here, having come at various times of year including in the winter. Each time we have loved it. This time we chose a basic room as my mother cannot manage stairs, but these are well-appointed and amazing value. The hotel is renowned for its training of young staff, and we always enjoy meeting them on our visits. Everyone is welcoming and helpful. Breakfasts are delicious with so much choice, as is the food on the main menu. We never have time to try all our favourites!
Britta and Dirk have seen to it that their lovely hotel just gets better and better.
I am looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Basic room great value, no stairs and cool on very hot day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barriekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    23
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
44
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Again we were charmed and delighted by this Hotel. So friendly, so pleasant. The staff and service second to none, always with a smile and real consideration. The food is excellent, inventive and creative. The menu has some traditional German meals which are a revelation, certainly the best we have tasted in our many trips to Germany, but also the menu contains some original and sumptuous delights - try the scallops or the dessert variations, or for a main course the guinea fowl or the buffalo steak! Eating on the terrace in the evenings overlooking the Mosel felt like a little touch of heaven!

The room we had overlooked the hills and gardens at the back, was large, comfortable and very clean. While simple and unassuming, it struck us as really good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Ended up staying here after our hotel in Zell decide to cancel our reservation without notification. The young guy who worked at the hotel recommended this hotel and secured us a room at very short notice. We received a very warm welcome by all the staff which more than made up for the treatment we received in Zell. We had a top floor room which was very spacious and bright, the bathroom was very fresh and had a wonderful large & powerful shower. Our evening meal was delicious as is the local reisling wine we enjoyed with it. Their is also a nice large car park at the rear. We both enjoyed a very comfortable stay & would recommend the hotel

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wkddouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

This Hotel is located in the first row to the river „Mosel“ opposite some vineyards and run by the owners family. Service was warm and welcoming.

Accommodation is at a separate building next to the main one. The room was not too bad; the bathroom was even newly renovated. Unfortunately, the beds were quite old and soft, the blinds were not working and the room was not total clean, some dust around. TV is small but offers a wide variety of broadcasting, also some English ones. There is also a in room safe and Wi-Fi available.

Breakfast is quite nice with hot items and eggs cooked to order but not fresh fruit etc. Dinner was nice as well but a little bit pricy.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berlin_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

This hotel (really two large houses plus some additonal new buildings) is situated on the bank of the Mosel in the small town (village size!) of Reil. It's more like a restaurant with rooms than a hotel - and none the worse for that. The staff are remarkably helpful and friendly and speak excellent English. The food is very good, particularly breakfast where the chef cooks omlettes, fried or scrambled eggs to order. We stayed on an "Arrangement" ie. half-board basis - there was no choice offered for dinner - the three course meal just appeared. Everything was fine, but I'm not sure what would have been offered had we been vegetarian or had any dietary quirks. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergish Gladbach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I will keep this short - this hotel is well worth the visit. Reil is a very small town with a ton of character, and this hotel is a direct reflection of that atmosphere. The couple who own the hotel truly love what they do and it is reflected in all aspects of the Hotel. Dinner is great, the rooms are fine, the staff incredibly friendly, the over all feel is excellent. We are already planning our return trip in the fall!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ex_pat053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

The town of Reil is so out of the way and rather difficult to get to by car that I was not expecting it to be the highlight of our trip. That said - our experience at Villa Melsheimer was a tale of two hotels. The place is really a great restaurant with okay rooms. The couple who manage the property speak excellent English and are completely charming. The hotel is primarily marketed to Germans (especially for weekend weddings and other events) so if you are looking for a peaceful spot - try going during the week. The location is magnificent - the steak and white asparagus dinner was superb. The rooms require walking up at least one flight if not two flights of stairs so be warned if you have more than one or two pieces of luggage (we had 10 - but that's another story). One night is about all I could take in the clean but spartan room. Telephone service to the main hotel (we were in the annexe) was not working. We travel with our own sheets and pillows for exactly this type of situation - where the sheets are a bit old and scratchy and there is only one pillow per person. The carpet in the hotel is similar to many properties in Germany - red, dated and quite thin. I would prefer a clean wooden floor with an oriental carpet - and I'm sure budget permitting the owners wood upgrade.

Breakfast was adequate but not nearly what I expected after such a pleasant and delicious dinner. The coffee was very weak (I'm afraid it's like that in Germany unless you pay for a cappucino or expresso) - and there was no fresh fruit. Made to order eggs and omelettes slightly made up for that - but the canned juice was not a nice touch. The hotel is worth a night or two as Reil is idyllicly situated on the Mosel river and wine tasting is abundant nearby. Definitely order any of the rumpsteak (more like a ribeye) or pork choices if you like meat. This is not a place for vegetarians.

Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reil
0.6 mi away
WeinBergHotel Nalbach Reil/Mosel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reiler Hof
Hotel Reiler Hof
#3 of 4 in Reil
35 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ringhotel Bomers Mosellandhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Jugendstil Hotel Bellevue
Jugendstil Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
282 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Schloss Zell
Hotel Schloss Zell
#3 of 5 in Zell (Mosel)
65 reviews
4.7 mi away
Moselschloesschen
Moselschloesschen
#1 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Melsheimer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Melsheimer

Property: Hotel Villa Melsheimer
Address: Moselstr. 5, 56861 Reil, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Reil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Reil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Melsheimer 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, the Hotel faces directly on to the banks of the river Moselle, opposite steep vineyard cladded hills, at the very heart of one of the most picturesque and popular river valley landscapes of Europe. The Hotel itself consists of three buildings, linked by paths through our gardens; the main house, with its river terrace, reception, bar, lounge and dining room: the "Villa": and what was called the "Müllehaus". All are steeped in history, and in Napoleonic times, the "Müllehaus" itself served as a prison, and later became the village "pub" or hostelry. Now, of course, all the guestrooms, the reception areas and the restaurant are newly refurbished, decorated and modernised to the highest standard, and we hope that their warm colours and their lavish interiors will make you feel welcome and "at home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Melsheimer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing