We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Melsheimer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Reil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A modern hotel set within the quiet mosel valley countryside

The food is excellent, and the service unparalleled

The rooms, bar and food were excellent

The owners and staff very friendly, welcoming and professional

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taur033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Of all the places we stayed in Germany on this trip, this one was the most memorable, and for all the right reasons. First, the staff. The husband and wife owners lived in England for a while, as I recall, and their English was excellent. As was their hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble, from offering to carry our bags to the room, sorting out the TV, and changing our room to one with less stairs.

Then there’s the breakfast, which really warrants a review in its own right. Seriously. This is the most comprehensive and complete array of breakfast foods I’ve seen in one place, like they’re going for the Guiness Book of Records, or something. I’m talking about four or five tables just to hold the food. Look at the photos.

Put all of this on the banks of the Mosel, and you have everything.

So yes, I would unhesitatingly be willing to spend three or four nights there, again.

Room Tip: Choose one with not so many stairs - although they're aren't that many to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was my fourth stay here, having come at various times of year including in the winter. Each time we have loved it. This time we chose a basic room as my mother cannot manage stairs, but these are well-appointed and amazing value. The hotel is renowned for its training of young staff, and we always enjoy meeting them on our visits. Everyone is welcoming and helpful. Breakfasts are delicious with so much choice, as is the food on the main menu. We never have time to try all our favourites!
Britta and Dirk have seen to it that their lovely hotel just gets better and better.
I am looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Basic room great value, no stairs and cool on very hot day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barriekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Again we were charmed and delighted by this Hotel. So friendly, so pleasant. The staff and service second to none, always with a smile and real consideration. The food is excellent, inventive and creative. The menu has some traditional German meals which are a revelation, certainly the best we have tasted in our many trips to Germany, but also the menu contains some original and sumptuous delights - try the scallops or the dessert variations, or for a main course the guinea fowl or the buffalo steak! Eating on the terrace in the evenings overlooking the Mosel felt like a little touch of heaven!

The room we had overlooked the hills and gardens at the back, was large, comfortable and very clean. While simple and unassuming, it struck us as really good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Ended up staying here after our hotel in Zell decide to cancel our reservation without notification. The young guy who worked at the hotel recommended this hotel and secured us a room at very short notice. We received a very warm welcome by all the staff which more than made up for the treatment we received in Zell. We had a top floor room which was very spacious and bright, the bathroom was very fresh and had a wonderful large & powerful shower. Our evening meal was delicious as is the local reisling wine we enjoyed with it. Their is also a nice large car park at the rear. We both enjoyed a very comfortable stay & would recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wkddouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

This Hotel is located in the first row to the river „Mosel“ opposite some vineyards and run by the owners family. Service was warm and welcoming.

Accommodation is at a separate building next to the main one. The room was not too bad; the bathroom was even newly renovated. Unfortunately, the beds were quite old and soft, the blinds were not working and the room was not total clean, some dust around. TV is small but offers a wide variety of broadcasting, also some English ones. There is also a in room safe and Wi-Fi available.

Breakfast is quite nice with hot items and eggs cooked to order but not fresh fruit etc. Dinner was nice as well but a little bit pricy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berlin_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

This hotel (really two large houses plus some additonal new buildings) is situated on the bank of the Mosel in the small town (village size!) of Reil. It's more like a restaurant with rooms than a hotel - and none the worse for that. The staff are remarkably helpful and friendly and speak excellent English. The food is very good, particularly breakfast where the chef cooks omlettes, fried or scrambled eggs to order. We stayed on an "Arrangement" ie. half-board basis - there was no choice offered for dinner - the three course meal just appeared. Everything was fine, but I'm not sure what would have been offered had we been vegetarian or had any dietary quirks. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reil
4.8 mi away
Moselschloesschen
Moselschloesschen
#1 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
WeinBergHotel Nalbach Reil/Mosel
2.6 mi away
Ringhotel Bomers Mosellandhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Romantik Jugendstilhotel Bellevue
Romantik Jugendstilhotel Bellevu...
#2 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reiler Hof
Hotel Reiler Hof
#3 of 4 in Reil
39 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zum Grunen Kranz
Zum Grunen Kranz
#2 of 5 in Zell (Mosel)
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Melsheimer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Melsheimer

Address: Moselstr. 5, 56861 Reil, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Reil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Reil
Price Range: £105 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Melsheimer 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, the Hotel faces directly on to the banks of the river Moselle, opposite steep vineyard cladded hills, at the very heart of one of the most picturesque and popular river valley landscapes of Europe. The Hotel itself consists of three buildings, linked by paths through our gardens; the main house, with its river terrace, reception, bar, lounge and dining room: the "Villa": and what was called the "Müllehaus". All are steeped in history, and in Napoleonic times, the "Müllehaus" itself served as a prison, and later became the village "pub" or hostelry. Now, of course, all the guestrooms, the reception areas and the restaurant are newly refurbished, decorated and modernised to the highest standard, and we hope that their warm colours and their lavish interiors will make you feel welcome and "at home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Melsheimer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing