We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loch Sheil Cruises” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Shiel Cruises

Loch Shiel Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loch Sheil Cruises”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lovely restored small naval tender which plies up and down the loch. Coffee/ tea / snacks available and a loo. Jim is knowledgeable about the wildlife, geology and history around the loch and you may see golden eagles and / or sea eagles. Reasonable prices- you need warm clothes and binos. You can also see the Jacobite Steam Train going over the Glebnfinnan viaduct. Very enjoyable, go for it. Various length of cruise- dog friendly!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    5
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“What a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

To start with, where can you get a full days entertainment for £25 a head. Yes, we were lucky and the weather was glorious but this would have been a great trip in any weather. We were also extremely lucky with the birds. We saw a lone Sea Eagle on the way up the Loch and saw a pair in the same tree on the way back and to add icing to the cake they flew off as we were leaving. Brilliant. I didn't see any Golden Eagles but you can have everything.

The skipper of the boat is very knowledgable and great at spotting and identifying birds and will generally have you back at the head of the Loch to see the Hogswart Express go over the Glenfinnan viaduct on its way back to platform 9-3/4

Helpful?
Thank Superships1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We did the morning cruise as a family group of 7 adults, one toddler and one baby. We all enjoyed every moment and it was worth every penny. A great trip for all ages. Watching the train go over the viaduct and eagle spotting was fun for all. The trip was very interesting and informative and the skipper was very friendly and knowledgeable. A coffee or lunch in the hotel afterwards is a must. A highly recommended trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SK74Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were the only ones to board and, therefore, the captain asked us if it was OK for us to do a 1-hour tour instead of the usual 2 hours because the fuel wouldn't pay otherwise. In the end the tour lasted almost two hours after all :-) the captain told us a lot about the loch, tried very hard to find golden eagles for us (with great success) and also showed us a couple of Harry Potter filming locations (apart from the viaduct). Finally, we left with several excellent recommendations for things to do in the area. Simply a must-do in Glenfinnan!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kashpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“A wonderful cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My family enjoyed a lot this cruise. It was a great moment ! We saw a lot of things, Captain Jim made a lot of explanations.

We highly recommend !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Shiel Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Loch Shiel Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing