We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car

Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Diner, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

As my partner and I where staying in the sleeping car we thought it would be a great idea to also do lunch in the dining car during our stay. What can I say, it was fantastic, the place was very quiet when we arrived for lunch and the waitress was busy cleaning the sleeping car, it was spotless and so comfortable. We had the soup of the day and a venison toastie and a salmon sandwich. Just fantastic, thanks to all the staff for making a great experience

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bananaspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    50
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A perfect spot for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I stumbled upon this delight while driving across Scotland. I was just happy to find an open restaurant, but the friendly staff, the wonderful food and the view made it all that much better.

Unfortunately we arrived about 10 minutes ahead of a steam train, so our tranquil meal was short-lived. We watched as people milled around the area but the restaurant remained quiet inside and we were able to finish our meals in peace.

The guy behind the counter was friendly and did a great job of handling all aspects of the restaurant on his own.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DantesDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great location and fantastic views from the verandah. Unfortunately we had to sit inside as it was one of those rare Scottish days when the sun made it too hot! However it's lovely inside and we had fantastic soup and sandwiches. A great experience at a great price

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I had read the reviews but they really didn't due it justice in regards to the quality of the food available. I had mushroom soup and a sandwich which were both very good.
Many tourists visit the area and there is not many places to eat during the day apart from the visitor center at Glenfinnan monument which is the usual overpriced low quality and its very lucky that such a nice alternative is available at the station.
The view from the sitting area outside is breathtaking

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank banditti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Disappointed by the somewhat overrun café at the Visitor Centre, we drifted up to the station with no set plan. The Dining Car was a great surprise. The lunch menu was comprehensive - we had two different very tasty and hot home made soups. Obviously it's not fine dining but sitting in a 1950s train carriage added a bit of nostalgia to it all. Pleasant service, and reasonable prices. The station museum is worth a visit - the dining car give you free tickets. We were also lucky to see the steam hauled Jacobite Express pass through along with another steam hauled train, so it all added up to a fortuitous choice to have lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elton_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Ballachulish, Glencoe
 

Been to Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing