We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Prince's House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We found this small Hotel quite by chance in April 2004, when we stayed for 3 nights while we awaited weather conditions to change, because our trip to the area was the challenge of climbing Ben Nevis. We were quite taken a back by this lovely Hotel, some twenty mile west of Fort William, and feel we wouldnt have known about it unless we had booked before our arrival. The Hotel is ran by Ina (front House) and Kieran ( Chef), who are a lovely friendly married couple, with two sons Alastair and Christopher. The family just make this Hotel come alive, with there welcoming personalites and good, good food. The Hotel is cosy and warm, and the surrounding scenery of the area is beautiful. Since our first stay, we have made purpose trips to return to this Hotel several times, and the later in March of this year. It is so lovely to return, in the knowledge of spending a lovely few relaxing days with these excellent hosting owners. Kieran is a master in his own right in the kitchen and we just love his attention to detail, all food is of tip top quality served at its best. The bedrooms, are spotless, cosy and warm, and once you return home on an evening from your days sightseeing you just know you are going to enjoy a lovely relaxing night, with good food, good company and the joys of a lovely retreat until next day. Thank you Ina and Kieran for making our stays with you so special.......we will be back to see you soon! :))

Room Tip: We stay in a luxury bedroom at the top of the main stair case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 243ElizabethH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed for 5 nights , very cosy room with a large bathroom lots of lovely products for you to use. Ina went out of her way to accommodate us. Very friendly and welcoming . Food very nice everything cooked to order in a relaxed atmosphere. The area is stunning with very dramatic scenery round every corner, exciting drive to Malliag. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debrena67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Ina was very welcoming and our room (number 8 or 9 I think) was great, lovely large bathroom with nice soap and shower products. The water is treated naturally on site and safe to drink - delicious sweet tap water! A nice change from London. Our breakfasts were really good, we also had a fantastic dinner, everything is locally sourced where possible, and there is a free pool table.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma-Louisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I've never actually stayed at the Prince's House, but I have eaten here several times. The food is really, really good.

This time I had Argyll dry cured ham with warm new potato and Dunsyre Blue cheese salad to start. The ham was delicious, and the blue cheese and cooked potatoes went with it really well. I continued with a perfectly-cooked sirloin steak, and finished with a vanilla baked banana with iced chocolate parfait and spiced rum Chantilly, which was unusual and spot on. There's a great wine list (including a good selection of half bottles), and they opened a bottle of LBV port for me to have a glass of.

It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for, and the service is always really good. The owner has this nack of remembering you even if you only visit very infrequently, which makes you feel welcomed. I would come some distance out of my way to dine here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MatthewVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had two beautifully presented dinners here. A good choice and fair prices. Would definitely recommend this hotel for dining. Warm and friendly ambience. We did not stay here but were based at a nearby hotel which was overpriced and with a very chilly dining room.It was such a treat to find this hotel on our doorstep and we were made to feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Purring21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We have stayed at the Prince's House Hotel several times and it never disappoints! It is the perfect base to relax or to explore the rugged and beautiful countryside. We always stay in the rooms at the front of the hotel - the decor is comforting and watch out for the coombed ceilings if you are tall. The food at the Prince's House is excellent, fresh cooked and every care taken. Local ingredients are used where ever possible. Bar meals are lovely but we always eat at least once in the restaurant because we know we are going to get a delicious meal with standards worthy of any culinary award. One thing to alert potential guests to is that meals at the Prince's House are never hurried, especially in the restaurant. Be prepared to wait for each course as it is cooked to order just for you! Take the time to enjoy and digest, drink a little more wine and if the window is open, listen to the birds' evensong and admire the glorious scenery. After all, there can be few better places to eat, drink, relax and recharge the batteries of your busy life.

Room Tip: Superior doubles are at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purplepatent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed for two nights April 2013 and can honestly say we had a wonderful time. Lovely hosts who made us feel so welcome nothing was too much trouble. Our room was beautiful with a four poster bed, seating area and lovely bathroom with plenty of hot water. The food in the evening was excellent and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was also delicious and set us up for the day. A great hotel for touring the Highlands with lovely walks and places to visit close by. Will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely with the 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizThomson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenfinnan
15.9 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
909 reviews
15.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
624 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
18.6 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
15.1 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince's House Hotel

Address: Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenfinnan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Price Range: £135 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Prince's House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Prince's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Hotel Fort William
The Princes Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel Glenfinnan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing