We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be on time to catch the train crossing”
Review of Glenfinnan Viaduct

Glenfinnan Viaduct
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Be on time to catch the train crossing”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The viaduct itself is quite an impressive sight but the train crossing is it's crowing glory. My better half has not read the Harry Potter books nor seen the movies, but he too was quite thrilled to see the vintage train, billowing steam, chugging over the viaduct and tooting as it went past us.
Some things to keep in mind:
- Glenfinnan is a 30 minute drive from Fort William.
- 100 meters from the visitor centre, on the same side of the road as the centre, is a small, free car park. Get there early if you want free parking.
- Don't drive into the private road at the back of the car park, walk in and stick to the trail which branches off to the left before the duct meets the road. I believe it is private land and we were stopped and questioned because we had a large backpack and had strayed away from the rest of the tourists (mistaken for campers perhaps).
- This trail leads you to the same level as the track. Takes about 10 minutes to get to the top from the car park.
- Per the current time table, it would be best to be in position by 10.45 in the morning or 3.15 in the afternoon to catch the train crossing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
25 Thank Dhiviya X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    242
    63
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful feat of engineering.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Crossed this viaduct on the Jacobite steam train. Great place to take photos set amongst glorious scenery.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mountcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed this, super view after a refreshing walk up the glen. The path could be a bit awkward for people who are unsteady on their feet.

Helpful?
Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Proper viaduct this”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Lovely view and photo ops from the visitor centre where you can park free as a NT member.

Walk out to and up the monument is worthwhile.

Sadly the coffee in the cafe is truly awful and well below normal NT standards and unworthy of a major Scottish tourist location. A mixed experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gehdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not just for Harry Potter fans”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I visited the viaduct when we were staying at Fort William, I read a another review when the person said it was a 15minute drive, it took me 30minutes and as far as I am aware there is only the one road? Anyway when we arrived we parked in the visitor centre, parking cost £2, 50 yards up the road towards the viaduct free parking? Makes no sense to me. You can walk right up to the viaduct and marvel at the construction and the size of it. I would recommend visiting this viaduct for anybody who is in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfieandElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenfinnan Viaduct also viewed

Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Glenfinnan Viaduct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing