We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Wedding Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glenfinnan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenfinnan House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I had never been to Glenfinnan House Hotel before although was I quite familiar with the area, so when someone who had attended a wedding there described how wonderful it was, we had a hunch we were on to a winner! The location speaks for itself, Loch Sheil has to be one of, if not the most beautiful loch in Scotland, but I only needed to step foot into the hotel itself and I knew instantly that this was the place I wanted to have my wedding (it was the first and last venue we looked at). Manja and Duncan make a great team; the food was fabulous, the first night we ate in the bar and everyone enjoyed their meal, the wedding menu was also big hit, especially the decadent chocolate dessert! Manja was more than gracious in dealing with the slightly neurotic bride and her wedding planning expertise are first class. My wedding at Glenfinnan far exceeded any expectations I had and my husband and I, still, one year later, can't get over how amazing it was, even the weather was perfect. We stayed in the Jacobite Suite which was great, lovely fourposter bed, huge jacuzzi bath and plenty of room for the bride to get ready, wonderful view of the loch and the snow peaked Ben Nevis! We were hoping to spend our first anniversary there but some inconsiderate couple have decided to get married that same weekend! :o) If you are considering getting married at Glenfinnan I can't recommend it highly enough, the whole package makes for a truly, magical setting.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank KeniaFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

A beautiful country house hotel, the food was amazing and the room was great. The log fire is a lovely welcome especially when it is a bit damp outside. You always receive a warm welcome and the location and atmosphere will alway entice us back. We got married on the hotel lawn on the bank of the loch a few years ago so it will always have fond memories for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This formed part of our honeymoon tour up the west coast of Scotland and was definately my favourite place to stay.
This hotel welcomes you with fantastic views of a loch and a huge hall where you can dump your wellies and muddy boots. The big doors open into reception with a roaring fire and a true Scottish welcome, so friendly and helpful.
The hotel has a unique style in a home from home way, so no keys for your room are given routinely, this is to encourage a relaxed atmosphere, it works too!
There are not any televisions in the bedrooms and the showers are pretty dire but it really didn't matter, the views are knock out and the ambience so relaxing.
We had views over the loch and a four poster bed that you could just dissolve into, it was so comfortable.
The owners had family visiting and they all ate in the main restaurant, saying hello to all the guests and livening up the atmosphere; the father was in traditional dress.
The food was the highest of qualities with an enormous choice of 5 star food and wine, the breakfast was equally varied and plentiful.
Service was faultless.
We had coffee and whiskey served in the drawing room in front a large live log fire and watched other peoples children play board games, it really was that idyllic.
The surrounding area is rich with history, particularly Bonnie Prince Charlie and if you go in the Autumn you can hear the Stags calling to attract the females; it is quite something to hear.
We will certainly return, very happy memories all round.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the loch at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Just what you'd expect from a country house hotel on the banks of a beautiful loch in Scotland. No fancy airs or graces just a really warm welcome and a truly homely feel to the place - there's no need for a key to your room as it's like being in your own home. (unless you really want one).
My wife and I stayed in the Jacobite Suite, which is outstanding with a four poster bed in a large comfortable bedroom. The view towards Ben Nevis and the Monument to Bonnie Prince Charlie (which is lit at night) is beautiful and in the morning the sun rose over the mountains and filled the room with with a glorious light.
There's a large bathroom which was a wee bit cold when we arrived. The jacuzzi bath is fun! The food was great ant the atmosphere in the dining room friendly and relaxed. Alltogether, a delightful stay!

Room Tip: The Jacobite Suite is excellent for comfort and views. It's like staying in your own country hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. We took advantage of their last minute 2-for-1 offer which, although we had booked several months in advance and paid a deposit already, they allowed us to benefit from on condition that we all bought a full dinner each night.

Upon arrival, we were dazzled by the remoteness and tranquility of this truly idyllic place, which has a view of Ben Nevis, UK's tallest mountain with a snowy peak. The rooms were rather nice, if a little bit on the small side, and we were greeted by various 'freebies', such as apples, dark chocolates, dark chocolate and lime biscuits, white chocolate and lemon biscuits and Highland Spring sparkling and still water, and these were replenished for our second night. There was also a postcard with second class stamp on it in each room. The shower was quite difficult to master, but we all got there in the end.

The dinners were amazing - gourmet three-course meals, with around five fixed options for each course, as well as a couple of variable specials. Examples of the food include smoked salmon mousse, sweat potato, ginger and chilli soup, venison burger, trilogy of pheasant, dark chocolate and salted caramel tart and banana and dark chocolate parcels, served with ice cream in a dark chocolate bowl. The 8-year-old amongst us took advantage of their childrens' menu, which quite unbelievably included a full-size steak for only £7.50! After dinner, coffee, tea and petit-fours were served in the amazing lounge.

The bar was well stocked, and drinks ranged from soft drinks such as Coca-cola and J2O to alcoholic drinks such as a pint of Tennent's lager, a classic "guzzler's" (G&T) and an extensive wine list.

Throughout the day and after dinner, there was a very nice lounge, where you could relax and take in the view over a nice drink with a roaring fire. We found that this lounge was normally empty, so this little gem really was like Downton Abbey, where you live in a lovely big house and are waited on.

The breakfasts were amazing; gourmet items such as venison were allowed on an unlimited basis, alongside pastries, yoghurts and cereals, and there were specials which were available to order - I recommend the smoked salmon with a chive cream. There were also lovely fruits, such as physalis, strawberries, raspberries and redcurrants. The orange juice was a tremendous disappointment given the standards available otherwise in this hotel, and the coffee was slightly dreggy, but all-in-all it has to be one of the best hotels around for breakfast.

Although we did not try this ourselves, the hotel offers to make packed lunches, and the menu looked really nice (e.g. rare beef and horseradish sandwiches, smoked salmon sandwiches, crisps, chocolate bars and a good selection of soft drinks).

The staff were mostly very friendly, with the exception of one member of staff [who shall remain anonymous], who was slightly frosty, and we were made to feel welcome, cared for and perhaps even spoilt at all times!

It was a tremendous shame to have to leave this place, but I have every confidence that we will be returning to it in the near future.

Room Tip: Try and find a room which others do not have to walk past in order to reach their rooms, as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourmet_and_gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We loved this place for it seemed like a quaint hunting lodge, Well maintained but not new. The staff was pleasant and friendly and very quickly learn your names and treat you like honoured quests. The hotel is well suited to cater to children with adjoining rooms and a decent selection of dishes on the children's menu. The children are always made to feel welcome.

The breakfasts are robust and healthy with many local items.

The Glen Finnan viaduct is a 10 minute walk just across the main road. Well worth time and minimal effort. It is very impressive from a distance but you really need to stand underneath it to gain an appreciation for size of the arches.

The views down Loch Sheil are breathtaking and on clear days you can easily see the summit of Ben Nevis

Room Tip: It you have kids, then ask for the room 9 -10 which has an adjoining door between the suites. The h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Beautiful country setting, great views. Great location, friendly staff, super food with an amazing breakfast. Log fires and a 4 poster bed! This place has everything you need for a relaxing break. Shabby chic at it's best!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are a must - rooms 3, 4 and 5 all overlook Loch Shiel with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FalkirkBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenfinnan
14.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
16 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
312 reviews
16 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfinnan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfinnan House Hotel

Address: By Fort William, Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenfinnan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Price Range: £65 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenfinnan House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Scottish Highlands, Glenfinnan House Hotel is a beautiful 18th century pine-panelled mansion house situated in its own grounds overloooking Loch Shiel, Ben Nevis and the Glenfinnan Monument.This award-winning establishment, renowned for its fine cuisine and hospitality, has something to offer everyone; from a quiet retreat or romatic break, a walking/cycling/sightseeing holiday,the celebration of an idyllic wedding or the simple enjoyment of a delicious meal.Four poster suite, four poster bedroom, family suites are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenfinnan Hotel Fort William
Glenfinnan House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing